千禧和种族和解

这是旅行的距离ERLC峰会福音和种族和解谈话. 下面是该消息的手稿.

今天晚上, 我一直在问谈论千禧一代和种族和解. 我很荣幸站在这里,作为上帝的教会走向统一这个惊人的努力的一部分.

作为一个说唱歌手, 我去过很多演唱会的一部分,多年来有很多所有年龄段的千禧年一代和人民. 我已经看到了音乐真的是统一人的一种方式. 有一些演唱会,其中有一人只有一个人口: 也许这是所有足球妈妈和白色郊区青少年, 或者所有的城市的大学生, 或所有美南浸信会的牧师穿着卡其布 (好的, 也许不是最后一个). 但也有很多地方有各种以人为老少, 黑与白, 和许多其他团体. 又是谁观察它的人往往惊叹于多样性, 我认为这是一个非常好的事情,以及.

虽然我不认为这是冷静和精彩, 我不认为这是令人印象深刻的一些做出来是. 每天有…

我们如何使用我们的上帝礼物?

这是高级学院大会在罗利一个简短的消息, NC. 您可以阅读以下手稿:

我想简要地给你讲如何使用我们的礼物为耶稣的荣耀.

你听说过孩子问问题? 他们有一个惊人的好奇心,似乎有没有尽头. 那个神奇的问题 “为什么” 可以持续几个小时. 我有朋友谁的孩子在这个阶段,现在. 那么它似乎有一个在我的灵魂小孩子,喜欢问为什么, 但它不是抽象的问题, 这是关于日常琐事.

我不是很容易激发. 有一些人谁是自然驱动, 而一些需要完成的事实是足够的动力让他们. 我的妻子是那些人之一; 我不是.

为了让我得到任何事情, 我需要我做的事情隆重感. “但如果我借此垃圾出, 将垃圾桶的人得到保存?“我是一个大帅哥图片, 而且我很少吸引到细节或乏味的任务. 不幸, 细节和繁琐的任务是大多数现实生活中. 这大概就是为什么我挣扎…

不要紧,如果耶稣玫瑰?

嗯,我们都是围绕这一年的时间. 其中两次的我们很多人去我们的妈妈的教堂, 或放在一个漂亮的复活节西装,头到附近的教堂建筑. 我知道有些你们都已经有你的复活节西装,礼服挑选出.

似乎每个人都得到了庆祝活动的一部分需要. 圣诞节和复活节是一年中那些有趣的时候,甚至谁通常不关心耶稣的人参与以某种方式. 有复活节彩蛋和可供出售复活节到处糖果. 有复活节方案, 和游行. 复活节接管一点点, 尽管许多人不相信在复活节的故事.

这并不奇怪,但因为复活节和圣诞节已经成为文化活动. 他们已经变成了略多于国家法定节假日, 家庭聚会, 和零售商的机会,使更多的钱. 当然, 谁信的诞生和基督的死庆祝, 但它不是必需的.

记得小时候我的家人会全力以赴为复活节. 我们会去商场前一周,并拍摄照片与复活节兔子. 我个人认为是令人毛骨悚然所有​​的节日吉祥物. 一个巨大的…

我是谁? 铂. 2: 采纳

此视频是从一个贝茨维尔现在弟子会议, 女士. 请原谅的视频和音频质量

简介

上次我们下了一些基础,在我们关于身份的讨论. 我们谈到是什么让身份重要; 主要是,如果我们不知道我们是谁, 我们不知道我们应该如何生活. 然后我们谈到了我们如何制作精美, 但破. 由于我们的破碎的我们从上帝,需要一个救世主的分离.

今天上午,我们要讨论的美丽真理,一个约被保存神, 这是采用. 在这一点上,虽然, 身份的转变讨论一点点. 所有我们谈到最后晚上 - 的事情,我们是神造的, 神所知道, 破碎, 和有需要的,是每个人都在地球上的真实. 我们要谈的事已至此事情是那些真正谁在基督里. 现在我们谈论的是我们的身份如何变化,当我们成为基督徒

最近我读到史蒂夫·乔布斯的传记, 创始人和富有远见的苹果背后, 最大的公司在全球. 这是非常有趣的阅读,因为他是个天才…

我是谁? 部分 1: 美丽却残破

此视频是从一个贝茨维尔现在弟子会议, 女士. 请原谅的视频和音频质量

这个周末我们将要谈论的身份. 这就是你的领导让我谈谈, 但他们不知道的是,这已经是东西是一直在我的心脏和我一直在思考. 我谈到它与青年组在我的教会特区. 颇有几分.

那么,为什么身份一直在我的心脏? 为什么我认为它是如此的重要,知道你是谁? 因为如果你不知道你是谁, 你不知道你应该如何生活.

想想谍影重重. 这名男子在船上醒来,不知道他是谁. 他发现一个线索,去到瑞士. 他得到在一次战斗中,实现他在战斗中受过训练. 那不是疯了,如果你随机发现你有秘密忍者技能? 对于电影他是在旅途中的休息,发现自己是谁. 他是能干的事情,他甚至不知道. 但是,如果他不知道它, 他就不能活的…

可以Xians有无乐趣?

基督徒是否成为意味着我的乐趣结束? 这是一个有趣的问题,我认为公平的问. 有基督教的某一图片的的常画. 当人们认为基督教的,他们认为不同的东西. 有些人认为尖叫电视布道者, 有些人认为在一个大的教堂顶帽子西装或黑老祖母的白人. 有些人认为政治保守派或那些谁不喜欢科学的人. 但很少有人认为基督教和思考: 嘿, 这将是一个有趣的事情! 成为基督徒似乎不好玩的人.

基督教已经得到了声誉,作为一个煞风景. 这件事情对于无聊的人及老人. 在一首说唱歌手之一说:, “如果你害怕, 然后去教堂。“显然基督教教堂是胆小, 害怕的小混混. 人们认为成为基督徒意味着你必须穿西装,长裙, 并听取坏基督教音乐, 并停止耍酷. 首先, 一些你们都没有摆在首位冷却, 但这是另一个故事.

我昨天刚看了这个Ja规则访谈. 他在谈论他的教堂经历. 根据他的经验教会总是说来,你…

骄傲的言语与神的荣耀

介绍

我喜欢孩子. 其中一个我喜欢孩子的原因,是因为他们向我们展示自己. 他们就像小镜子. 让我告诉你我是什么意思. 孩子们几乎所有的我们有同样的问题, 但这些问题只是很多更明显,因为他们不知道如何隐藏他们还. 这确实是明显的,当孩子们做的事情他们不应该做的.

你见过一个孩子触摸的东西他们不应该碰? 他们会环顾四周,看看如果你正在寻找. 如果另一个孩子正在寻找他们不在乎; 他们只是不想让大人和家长看. 他们为什么这样做, 虽然? 因为他们知道你负责, 他们不想让你找到,因为他们知道你自己要回答一个.

成年人同样的方式. 通常我们用做的事情我们不应该做的OK, 只要人我们必须回答不找出. 你高兴速度,直到你看到未来警察. 也许我们很高兴早,只要我们的老板没有找到离开工作岗位. 也许我们有些人,只要教授不赶在考试中作弊…

传基督, 他们展示荣耀

此视频稿件,并从旅行的常规会议在 遗产大会 2013.

介绍

本次会议的主题是索利索拉布迪奥格洛丽亚, 或荣耀归给神独自. 这是一个伟大的主题. 我们希望这个角度来看 - 在宇宙中所有的荣耀独属于神, 告诉我们做每一件事情. 在我的时间今晚, 我要思考如何,通知我们的福音.

讲述耶稣的人似乎是那些东西,我们都知道我们必须做的一, 但我们所有的人感到内疚做得不够. 我对吗? 我是独自一人在那? 即使刚刚过去的这个星期, 我感觉定罪,因为我开始构建我的邻居之一的关系有种开始脱落. 我还没有为故意,我应该探讨如何在这种关系, 并继续试图告诉他关于耶稣. 而且好像我经常有这样的感觉. 我想问的问题是,为什么? 需要修正什么角度心脏? 我需要我的心灵得到延续. 我记得我为什么…

什么是好生活?

如果有任何音乐流派总是在谈论和良好的生活追逐, 这是嘻哈. 我爱嘻哈. 我爱嘻哈我的整个生命. 这里还有一些关于鼓, 和韵, 和能量总是吸引我. 当我还是个十几岁, 还是睡着类 - - 当我在课堂上还是睡着了是不是我是听我最喜欢的说唱歌手. 我用来挂他们的每一个字, 他们有很多的说. 我知道大多数说唱歌手是不是想成为教师, 但是,这并不意味着我没有学. 我认真听取了他们对美好生活的想法 - 我喜欢我所听到的.

我最喜欢的歌曲,如“钱不是东西,“我是听的专辑,题目”发财或死亡的尝试。“因此,它确实是并不奇怪,我对美好生活的想法是有一个钱包撑得表示不会差得远. 那是不是所有的钱, 虽然. 我了解的享乐主义, 滥交, 唯物主义, 不负责任, 怠惰, 毒品, 并得到尊重 - 所有的件是这样的拼图…

我们需要的是神

正如一些人都知道, 我是一个新爸爸. 我的儿子, Q, 是五个月大. 他几乎总是快乐, 除了当我们把他放在婴儿床上睡觉. 他立即失去了主意. ,他真的认为我们已经抛弃了他自己照顾自己对他周围的一切困难, 如疲倦和需要他的尿布改变.

但是有一天,他发现吸吮他的手的喜悦. 这是一个自我安慰的事情,他已经想通了. 而当他把他的手在他的嘴 - 他真的塞到它在那里 - 他忘记了所有他的麻烦. 它实际上并没有改变的事实,我们离开了他独自一人在自己的房间, 但手让他忘掉它.

好, 我知道大家今天在这里比在一个房间里独自睡更大的问题. 我们拥有钱的问题, 婚姻问题, 健康问题, 等等. 而类似我的儿子, 我们有时会想办法来应对我们的麻烦. 我们不希望感到疼痛和苦恼. 因此,我们转而事情让我们忘掉它. 但是,这是最好的办法来对付它? 娱乐?

绝对…

词的重要性

话是很重要的. 我们用文字与我们的朋友和家人沟通. 我们用我们的话来开展业务. 我用文字把歌曲一起谋生. 我们用文字来管教我们的孩子. 政客用言语来说服你,他们是这个职位的最佳人选. 词汇是我们生活的每一个方面的很大一部分. 我有一个新的儿子. 这是很难忍受一个人7周龄,, 主要是因为他们不能谈论. 所以有时候我想帮助他,但不知道如何,因为他无法用语言沟通还. 这是很难想象没有文字的世界.

一般人说,大约 16,000 一天的话. 那是 112,000 每个星期的话. 这是每年超过500万字。. 我们使用的话. 很多.

和任何有很多的开始被低估. 东西价值变化的基础上的量有多大还有. 当有 100 桌子上的cookies服务后,你可能会一直说了一会儿. 但是,当现在只有几块饼干, 他们似乎珍贵. 您可能会赶在那里,如果你得到一个及时, 那…

新约

我做音乐为生. 而正如你们许多人也知道, 我做的音乐类型是比你可能会听到在CHBC服务的歌曲有一点点不同. 大约有嘻哈很多东西,使它比音乐的其他类型不同. 有一件事,这不是唯一的嘻哈, 但更常见的是混音.

通常什么用混音的情况是,你把你已经做了一首歌曲,你是混音. 你让某些元素从原来的, 但你也改变了一些东西放在一个新的旋转就可以了. 所以,你可以添加新的歌词, 还是一个全新的节拍, 或者只是一种不同的方法做同一件事. 但是,目标之一是给听众新的东西,在这首歌甚至改善.

那么新约, 其中我们今晚文本会谈, 几乎是像一个混音. 我说,因为上帝应许以与他的子民一个新约, 但它的一切是不是新. 他的性格没有改变, 他的承诺并没有改变, 他的整体意图并没有改变. 但也有关于这约一些事情,…

神完美的愤怒

我想通过阅读一些报价开始. 所以只要仔细听,想想你是否与什么说同意.

“愤怒只能住在愚昧人的怀里。” - 阿尔伯特·爱因斯坦

“愤怒是短暂的疯狂。” - 贺拉斯

“无论是在愤怒开始在耻辱结束。” - 本杰明·富兰克林

“从来没有做任何事情 [出离愤怒], 你会尽一切错误的“。 - 意译

愤怒是不是其中的一个性格特征,我们通常希望. 没有人喜欢愤怒. 愤怒导致怨恨和控股恩怨. 愤怒导致了糟糕的决定. 愤怒有时甚至导致暴力. 人们通常不希望身边的人谁可以在任何时候按耐不住. 这似乎有点不稳定.

但这里是我的问题: 没有上帝生气? 有没有什么事情可以让宇宙沸腾疯狂的上帝? 嗯,我想我们的文字今晚将解决这个问题.

背景

你不必把我. 在出埃及记 17, 以色列人民充当如果他们不能相信他考神. 一切后,他做了他们, 使他们他的子民, 从奴役他们交付, 为他们提供等, 他们仍然不信任他. 因此,他们月光宝盒…

恶魔之王

我想思考的故事开始. 由于刚开始的时候出现了,通过我们的故事运行某些共同的主题. 我们有爱情故事, 喜剧, 和悲剧 - 或者那些在一个被称为浪漫喜剧的混合. 但在所有这些类型的电影, 有两个主题,几乎总是显示: 善与恶.

想想你最喜爱的电影. 在勇敢的心, 苏格兰和威廉华莱士都不错, 而英格兰和国王爱德华是坏. 在纳尼亚传奇孩子和阿斯兰都不错, 和女巫是坏. 即使是在迪斯尼的电影, 这是真的. 在阿拉丁, 阿拉丁和精灵都不错, 但贾法尔是坏. 不要像你不知道阿拉丁.

你总是想好的一面取胜,大部分时间他们会.

所以,当我们开始谈论耶稣,当我们开始谈论上帝的人有时会认为在同一类别. 他们认为宇宙是上帝和魔鬼之间的战斗宇宙. 像所有我们最喜欢的故事, 我们期待看看到底谁赢了. 耶稣是只是一个…

耶稣的诱惑

有迹象表明,挑起我的心脏对耶稣的感情就像听到新信徒几件事情 - 或任何基督徒 - 使通过洗礼他们信仰的公共职业. 我认为,我的一些朋友, 虽然, 谁是全新的基督徒,大约是什么意思有点困惑. 他们听到好消息,they've取得新生物, 他们有新的心, 他们都被冲走并说明理由. 他们认为,这意味着他们将不再纠缠,否则将面临诱惑. 但是,任何人世卫组织的是一个基督教的一个星期可以告诉你that's不是真的. 问题不在于我们是否会面临诱惑. 问题是, 我们将如何来应对诱惑?

我这个星期说,读报价, “所有的人都禁不住. 有没有人,他居住不能被分解, 只要它是正确的诱惑, 摆在正确的位置。“这是一个真实的陈述? 以前有去过谁能够抵抗即使是最有条件诱惑一个男人? 好, let's转向卢克 4:1-2:

耶稣, 圣灵充满的, 从约旦返回,并在被圣灵引导…

驱动

有一些人谁在某些事情都不错. 还有谁在联赛踢球好多年的篮球运动员,他们完成自己的职业生涯富有和快乐. 他们想打他们喜欢游戏,他们想做出一番事业做. 他们做到了,他们是很好的. 然后还有其他的, 像乔丹.

迈克尔·乔丹是好人多. 他是伟大的 - 许多人认为, 最伟大的. 迈克尔·乔丹并不满足于只是在玩游戏,并作出了职业生涯. 麦克想成为比其他人更好. 他并不满足于使它, 他想成为最好的. 于是,他留在了健身房不迟于每个人,他比任何人更努力. 而这一切都是因为他深受这种欲望打败你驱动. 您看到这个在他成名的演讲大厅. 他还在挑战人与他的竞争性就出来了前所未有. 他被赶出.

您也可以谈论像律韦恩艺术家. 还有一些说唱歌手谁只是想出名和赚钱. 不律韦恩. 他希望成为其中最大的…

Millennials and Racial Reconciliation

This is Trip’s talk from the ERLC Summit on the Gospel and Racial Reconciliation. Below is the manuscript from that message.

This evening, I’ve been asked to speak about millennials and racial reconciliation. And I feel privileged to stand here and serve as part of this amazing effort towards unity in God’s church.

As a rapper, I’ve been a part of a lot of concerts over the years with lots of millennials and people of all age ranges. And I’ve seen that music really has a way of unifying people. There are some concerts where there is only one demographic of people: maybe it’s all soccer moms and white suburban teens, or all urban college students, or all southern baptist pastors wearing khakis (Alright, maybe not that last one). But there are also many where there are all kinds of people— young and old, black and white, and many other groups. And people who observe it often marvel at the diversity, and I think it’s a really good thing as well.

While I do think that’s cool and wonderful, I do not think it’s as impressive as some make it out to be. Every day there are…

How Do We Use Our Gifts for God?

This is a brief message from Advance College Conference in Raleigh, NC. You can read the manuscript below:

I want to speak to you very briefly about using our gifts for the glory of Jesus.

Have you ever heard kids ask questions? They have an amazing curiosity that seems to have no end. That magical question “why” can go on for hours and hours. I have friends who’s kids are in this stage right now. Well it seems that there’s a little child in my soul that likes to ask why, but it’s not about abstract questions, it’s about everyday things.

I’m not very easily motivated. There are some people who are naturally driven, and the fact that something needs to get done is enough motivation for them. My wife is one of those people; I am not.

In order for me to get anything done, I need the sense that I’m doing something grand. “But if I take this trash out, will the trash man get saved?” I’m a big picture guy, and I’m rarely drawn to details or tedious tasks. Unfortunately, details and tedious tasks are the majority of real life. This is probably why I struggled…

Does it Matter if Jesus Rose?

Well we are around that time of year. One of the two times many of us go to our mom’s church, or put on a nice easter suit and head to a nearby church building. I know some of y’all already have your easter suit and dress picked out.

It seems everybody gets takes part in the festivities. Christmas and Easter are those interesting times of year when even people who usually don’t care about Jesus get involved in some way. There are easter eggs and easter candy for sale everywhere. There are easter programs, and parades. Easter takes over a little bit, though many don’t believe in the easter story.

It’s not surprising though because Easter and Christmas have become cultural events. They’ve turned into little more than national holidays, family reunions, and opportunities for retailers to make some more money. Of course, those who believe in the birth and death of Christ celebrate that, but it’s not required.

I remember growing up my family would go all out for easter. We’d go to the mall the week before and take picture with the Easter Bunny. I personally think that is the creepiest of all the holiday mascots. A gigantic…

Who Am I? Pt. 2: Adopted

This video is from a Disciple Now conference in Batesville, MS. Please forgive the video and audio quality

Intro

Last time we laid some foundations in our discussion about identity. We talked about what makes identity important; mainly that if we don’t know who we are, we won’t know how we’re supposed to live. And then we talked about how we’re beautifully made, but broken. And because of our brokenness we’re separated from God and in need of a Savior.

This morning we’re going to discuss one of the beautiful truths about being saved by God, which is adoption. At this point though, the discussion of identity shifts a little bit. All the things we talked about last night— that we’re made by God, known by God, broken, and needy—are true of everybody on the Earth. The things we’re going to talk about now are things that are true of those who are in Christ. We’re now talking about how our identity changes when we become Christians

Recently I read a biography of Steve Jobs, the founder and visionary behind Apple, the biggest company in the world. It was really interesting to read because he was a genius…

Who Am I? Part 1: Beautiful But Broken

This video is from a Disciple Now conference in Batesville, MS. Please forgive the video and audio quality

This weekend we’re going to talk about identity. That’s what your leaders asked me to talk about, but what they didn’t know is that this was already something that’s been on my heart and that I’ve been thinking about. I’ve talked about it with the youth group at my church in D.C. quite a bit.

So why has identity been on my heart? Why do I think it’s so important to know who you are? Because if you don’t know who you are, you don’t know how you’re supposed to live.

Think about The Bourne Identity. This man wakes up on a boat and doesn’t know who he is. He finds a clue and goes to Switzerland. He gets in a fight and realizes he’s trained in combat. Wouldn’t that be crazy if you randomly found out you had secret ninja skills? For the rest of the movie he’s on a journey to discover who he is. He’s capable of things he didn’t even know about. But if he doesn’t know it, he won’t be able to live as…

Can Xians Have Fun?

Does becoming a Christian mean the end of my fun? That’s an interesting question and I think a fair one to ask. There’s a certain picture of Christianity that’s often painted. When people think of Christianity they think of different things. Some think screaming TV preacher, others think white guy in a suit or old black grandmother in a big church hat. Some think political conservatives or those people who don’t like science. But very few people think Christianity and think: hey, that would be a fun thing to do! Becoming a Christian doesn’t seem fun to people.

Christianity has gotten a reputation as a killjoy. It’s something for boring people and old people. One rapper in a song says, “If you scared, then go to church.” Apparently Christian churches are for timid, scared punks. People think becoming a Christian means you have to wear suits and long dresses, and listen to bad Christian music, and stop being cool. First of all, some of y’all aren’t cool in the first place, but that’s another story.

I just watched this Ja Rule interview yesterday. He was talking about his experiences with churches. In his experience churches always said come as you…

Proud Speech and the Glory of God

Introduction

I love kids. One of the reasons I love kids is because they show us ourselves. They’re like little mirrors. Let me tell you what I mean. Kids have pretty much all of the same problems we have, but those problems are just a lot more obvious because they don’t know how to hide them yet. This is really clear when kids do things they’re not supposed to do.

Have you ever seen a kid touch something they’re not supposed to touch? They’ll look around to see if you’re looking. They don’t care if another kid is looking; they just don’t want adults or parents to see. Why do they do that, though? Because they know you’re in charge, and they don’t want you to find out because they know you’re the one they have to answer to.

Adults are the same way. Often we’re OK with doing things we’re not supposed to do, as long as the person we have to answer to doesn’t find out. You’re glad to speed until you see cops ahead. Maybe we’re glad to leave work early as long as our boss doesn’t find out. Maybe some of us cheat on tests as long as the professor doesn’t catch…

Preach Christ, Show Them Glory

This video and manuscript is from Trip’s General Session at the Legacy Conference 2013.

Introduction

The theme of this conference is Soli Deo Gloria, or glory to God alone. That’s a great theme. And we want that perspective – that all the glory in the Universe belongs to God alone, to inform every single thing we do. During my time tonight, I want to think about how that informs our evangelism.

Telling people about Jesus seems to be one of those things that all of us know we need to do, yet all of us feel guilty about not doing enough. Am I right? Am I alone in that? Even just this past week, I was feeling convicted because a relationship I began to build with one of my neighbors has kind of started to fall off. I haven’t been as intentional as I should about building on that relationship, and continuing to try to tell him about Jesus. And it seems like I feel this way often. The question I want to ask is why? What heart perspective needs to be fixed? I need my mind to be renewed. I have to remember why I’m…

What is the Good Life?

If there’s any genre of music that’s always talking about and chasing after the good life, it’s hip-hop. I love hip-hop. I have loved hip-hop for my entire life. There’s just something about the drums, and the rhymes, and the energy that’s always drawn me in. When I was a teenager, when I wasn’t in class or asleep – or asleep in class – I was listening to my favorite rappers. I used to hang on their every word, and they had a lot to say. I know most rappers are not trying to be teachers, but that doesn’t mean I wasn’t learning. I listened closely to their ideas about the good life – and I liked what I heard.

I had favorite songs like “Money Ain’t a Thing,” and I was listening to albums with titles like “Get Rich or Die Trying.” So it really isn’t surprising that my idea of the good life was having a wallet so stuffed that it wouldn’t even close. It wasn’t all about money, though. I learned about hedonism, casual sex, materialism, irresponsibility, laziness, drugs, and getting respect – all as pieces to the puzzle that is the…

All We Need is in God

As some of you know, I’m a new father. My son, Q, is five months old. And he’s almost always happy, except for when we put him in his crib to sleep. He immediately loses his mind. He seriously thinks we’ve abandoned him to fend for himself against all the difficulties around him, such as tiredness and needing his diaper changed.

But one day he discovered the joy of sucking on his hand. It’s a self-soothing thing he has figured out. And when he puts his hand in his mouth – and he really shoves it in there – he forgets about all his troubles. It doesn’t actually change the fact that we left him alone in his room, but the hand makes him forget about it.

Well, I know that everybody here today has bigger problems than sleeping alone in a room. We have money issues, marriage issues, health issues, and so on. And similar to my son, we sometimes look for ways to cope with our troubles. We don’t want to feel that pain and distress. So we turn to things that make us forget about it. But is that the best way to deal with it? Distraction?

Absolutely…

Importance of Words

Words are important. We use words communicate with our friends and family. We use our words to conduct business. I use words to put songs together and make a living. We use words to discipline our children. Politicians use words to convince you that they’re the best candidate for the job. Words are a huge part of every aspect of our lives. I have a new son. It’s hard to live with a person seven weeks old, mainly because they can’t talk. So sometimes I want to help him but don’t know how because he can’t communicate with words yet. It’s hard to imagine a world without words.

The average person says about 16,000 words a day. That’s 112,000 words every week. That’s over five million words every year. We use words. A lot.

And anything that there’s a lot of begins to be undervalued. The value of something changes based on how much of it there is. When there are 100 cookies on a table after service you might keep talking for a while. But when there are only a few cookies, they seem precious. You’ll probably rush over there and if you get one in time, that…

The New Covenant

I do music for a living. And as many of you also know, the kind of music I do is a little bit different than the songs you might hear at a CHBC service. There are many things about hip hop that make it different than other genres of music. One thing that’s not unique to hip hop, but is more common is the remix.

What usually happens with a remix is you take a song you’ve already made and you remix it. You keep some elements from the original, but you also change some things to put a new spin on it. So you might add new lyrics, or a whole new beat, or a just a different approach to the same thing. But one of the goals is to give the listener something new and even improve on the song.

Well the New Covenant, which our text talks about tonight, is almost like a remix. I say that because God promises to make a new covenant with His people, but everything about it isn’t new. His character hasn’t changed, His promises didn’t change, His overall intent didn’t change. But there are some things about this covenant that…

The Perfect Anger of God

I want to start by reading some quotes. So just listen closely and think about whether or not you agree with what’s said.

“Anger dwells only in the bosom of fools.”Albert Einstein

“Anger is a short madness.”Horace

“Whatever is begun in anger ends in shame.”Benjamin Franklin

“Never do anything [out of anger], for you will do everything wrong.”paraphrase

Anger isn’t one those character traits we usually desire. No one likes anger. Anger leads to bitterness and holding grudges. Anger leads to bad decisions. Anger sometimes even leads to violence. People usually don’t want to be around someone who may fly off the handle at any moment. It seems a bit unstable.

But here’s my question: does God get angry? Is there anything that can make the God of the universe boiling mad? Well I think our text this evening will address that question.

Background

You don’t have to turn with me. In Exodus 17, the people of Israel test God by acting as if they can’t trust Him. After everything He’s done for them, making them His people, delivering them from slavery, providing for them and so on, they still don’t trust Him. So they fight with…

Lord of the Demons

I want to begin by thinking about stories. Since the beginning of time there have been certain common themes that run through our stories. We have love stories, comedies, and tragedies – or the mixture of all those in one known as romantic comedy. But across all those kinds of movies, there are two themes that almost always show up: good and evil.

Think about your favorite movies. In Braveheart, Scotland and William Wallace are good, while England and King Edward are bad. In the Chronicles of Narnia the kids and Aslan are good, and the witch is bad. Even in Disney movies, this is true. In Aladdin, Aladdin and the genie are good, but Jafar is bad. Don’t act like you don’t know about Aladdin.

You always want the good side to win and most of the time they would.

So when we begin to talk about Jesus and when we begin to talk about God people sometimes think in the same categories. They think of the universe as a cosmic battle between God and the Devil. And like all of our favorite stories, we’re anticipating the end to see who wins. Is Jesus just an…

The Temptation of Jesus

There are few things that stir up affections in my heart for Jesus like hearing new Christians – or any Christians – make public professions of their faith through baptism. I think of some of my friends, though, who were brand new Christians and were a little confused about what that meant. They hear the Good News that theyʼve been made new creatures, that they have new hearts, that they have been washed and justified. And they think this means they will no longer struggle or face temptation. But anybody whoʼs been a Christian for a week can tell you thatʼs not true. The question is not whether we will face temptation. The question is, how will we respond to temptation?

I read a quote this week that said, “All men are tempted. There is no man that lives that can’t be broken down, provided it is the right temptation, put in the right spot.” Is this a true statement? Has there ever been a man who could resist even the most well placed temptations? Well, letʼs turn to Luke 4:1-2:

Jesus, full of the Holy Spirit, returned from the Jordan and was led by the Spirit in the…

Driven

There are some people who are good at certain things. There are basketball players who play in the league for years and years and they finish their careers rich and happy. They wanted to play the game they loved and they wanted to make a career doing it. They did it and they’re good. Then there are others, like Michael Jordan.

Michael Jordan was more than good. He was great – many argue, the greatest. Michael Jordan was not content with just playing the game and making a career. Mike wanted to be better than everybody. He wasn’t content with making it, he wanted to be the best. So he stayed in the gym later than everyone and he worked harder than everyone. And all of this because he was deeply driven by that desire to beat you. You saw this at his hall of fame speech. He was still challenging folks and his competitive nature came out like never before. He was driven.

You could also talk about artists like Lil Wayne. There are some rappers who just want to be famous and make money. Not Lil Wayne. He wants to be the greatest of…