新约

我做音乐为生. 而正如你们许多人也知道, 我做的音乐类型是比你可能会听到在CHBC服务的歌曲有一点点不同. 大约有嘻哈很多东西,使它比音乐的其他类型不同. 有一件事,这不是唯一的嘻哈, 但更常见的是混音.

通常什么用混音的情况是,你把你已经做了一首歌曲,你是混音. 你让某些元素从原来的, 但你也改变了一些东西放在一个新的旋转就可以了. 所以,你可以添加新的歌词, 还是一个全新的节拍, 或者只是一种不同的方法做同一件事. 但是,目标之一是给听众新的东西,在这首歌甚至改善.

那么新约, 其中我们今晚文本会谈, 几乎是像一个混音. 我说,因为上帝应许以与他的子民一个新约, 但它的一切是不是新. 他的性格没有改变, 他的承诺并没有改变, 他的整体意图并没有改变. 但也有关于这约一些事情,是完全不同的. 而且因为我们的罪, 旧约没有工作. 因此, 神上它改善了与一个新的. 这不是他的B计划, 但他打算一直做新约,他的儿子会带来. 我们读到新约耶利米 31.

让我给你一些背景,我们读课文之前.

背景

在出埃及记, 之后,上帝的子民被压迫和被埃及人奴役, 他们大声呼喊他为拯救. 而他提供他们戏剧性地与十灾并把法老的心脏, 和分裂红海. 神后已交付以色列人, 他用他们立约. 他说, “因此,现在, 如果你确实会听我的声音,守我的约, 你们要各民族间我的子民…“ (出埃及记 19:5). 他提醒他们什么他代表他们完成. 他给他们 10 戒律它们遵循. 上帝应许要祝福他们,如果他们服从他, 诅咒他们,如果他们违抗他. 而人们同意这个公约,并宣誓服从上帝.

听起来不错权? 刚做什么,他说,一切都会好起来的. 他们将上帝的子民, 他会祝福他们, 他们会生活幸福快乐的日子. 问题是他们不服从他. 他们没有跟上他们的交易的边. 因此,我们发现自己在耶利米的时间.

耶利米书主要是一本关于判决. 大部分的书是神通过他的先知耶利米为他们的悖逆斥责百姓, 并预言他们的毁灭. 但有一小部分 (30-33), 在这里我们的文字被发现今天, 在上帝让人们安心他承诺给他们, 尽管他们的叛乱, 和预言的祝福,他会倒出来对他们. 有一天,毕竟这破坏, 他要恢复它们. 他告诉他们这个新约的他会与他们. 而这正是我们要想想今天. 有许多, 很多事情,我们可以说对新约, 但我们打算今天上午集中一首诗.

听他说了什么.

“这是立约的时间后,我要与以色列家,“耶和华说的. “我要将我的律法在他们mindsand它写在他们心上.

我将是他们的神,他们将是我的人。“ (耶利米 31:33)

我只是想指出四件事情,我们应该感谢并赞美上帝为我们反思这段文字.

一世. 上帝是国际合作

经文说, “这是约我与以色列家做…“ 听起来像一个国家的事情吧? 那么是什么让新约是神国际合作?

井出埃及记神确实同他的子民以色列的盟约. 而在耶利米书的上下文, 新约也正在做以色列国. 有一些明显的线索,神计划做以色列以外的工作, 但在当时上帝直接作出承诺,以色列国有关恢复他们.

耶稣来到地球, 他的重点显然是犹太人. 在马太福音 15:24, 耶稣说, “我只发送给以色列家迷失的羊。” 但当然,以色列人民拒绝他和马太福音的结束, 他的计划很明确. 他说,“做徒弟,“不只是以色列, 但所有国家.

而且我们看到,这么清楚的行为,所有的新约, 上帝的拯救罪人的工作已经展开. 他甚至将最不可能的使徒, 保罗, 具体外邦人. 他的工作重点不再是一个全国人民, 但在国际上的人.

我们应该赞美神本! 没有人值得保存和恢复上帝, 所以他很亲切,从以色列人赎回. 和他继续通过提供拯救我们所有的人是通情达理. 这几乎就像人们快要渴死, 与只有一个人有水. 起初它看起来像只提供给孩子水. 但后来我们发现水是提供给我们所有的人. 这是伟大的,孩子们可以节省, 但现在我们发现我们都可以. 此图中未能达到主要方式是我们应得渴死. 但上帝慷慨地为我们提供的一切,我们所需要的救赎.

我认为这是很清楚,我的犹太血统不. 我们有些人今晚在这里. 我认为这是肯定地说,这里我们大多数人不是犹太人. 因此,对于一些我们本应该是尤其难得. 上帝会设置他的目光对我们来说也是一样,而且他送基督为我们. 由于弗 2 说, “因此,请记住,在同一时间,你的肉体是外邦人… 请记住,你是在那个时候与基督分离, 来自以色列和陌生人联合体异化为承诺的契约, 拥有世界没有希望,没有上帝. 但是,现在在基督耶稣里你谁曾经是遥远已附近基督的血带来的。“ (以弗所书 2:11-13 ESV)

赞美上帝,他并没有离开我们不远了, 漆黑一团, 没有他. 他没有做到这一点, 但我们知道这是他的计划一直. 而我们知道故事的结局. 故事以人所有国家和舌头在新天新地一起拜羔羊结束. 因为 “通过 [他的] 血液 [他] 赎人神从每一个部落语言和人 国家” (启 5:9).

所以这应该影响我们即使是现在共同生活为基督的身体的方式. 作为上帝的子民, 我们应该尝试在这展示了神的计划,以挽救一个不同的人没有办法做到白头偕老. 有时候,我的教会确实在星期天早晨的洗礼. 我喜欢看那里,看到不同的人给予的证词. 他们都有不同的背景, 但上帝的救恩是目前在所有的人. 这可能我们今天在这里说. 我祈祷,当人们来到我们的教会中, 他们将在神的工作惊叹在这么多不同类型的人的生活. 你不救你的年龄或种族. 没有比成为贫困其他资格. 而且我们都是穷人.

很多的人我遇到不知道这. 他们认为上帝不仅节省了两种人: 无论是老白帅哥或黑老祖母. 但是,这不是真的, 对? 圣经显然, “大家谁在上帝的应保存的名字叫”。 不只是富人们, 或穷人, 或老人或年轻人, 或犹太人或白人或黑人. 没有, 神已经扩大了他的提议所有.

我们, 作为一个教会, 应该害怕做任何事情,使得它看起来像上帝只保存一个特定类型的人. 这是新约的美丽奥秘. 这就是,上帝会拯救任何罪人的福音的荣耀之一谁把他们的信仰基督. 它不是专注于或不限于任何一种组.

作为一个教会, 我们可能不都来自同一个地方,我们可能不会有相同的种族背景, 但我们有共同的东西更大. 我们与基督是永生上帝立约. 这是巨大的.

这也是原因,我们应该派遣传教士,并为他们祈祷! 这就是为什么我们中的一些需要收拾我们的行李去! 因为上帝已经取得了新约, 和他列入国家. 有人告诉我们,需要有人去告诉他们.

因此,虽然关于上帝的约文会谈与以色列的家, 我们知道,他的计划被扩大. 让我们赞美上帝对国际合作. 究竟是什么工作的样子? 在哪些其他方面会这约是新的?

二. 上帝是内部工作

“我要将我的律法在他们心中,写在他们的心。”

我不认为该文本是试图从这里得出的心脏和头脑之间存在巨大的差异. 我认为它只是使用两个不同的词进行通信,上帝会做我们的内在的东西. 其他的翻译说 “我会把我的法律范围内它们,我将它写在他们心上。”

现在当然第一次上帝给了他们法律, 把它写在石版. 但是上帝说, “没有, 这一次,我打算写在他们的心中。“第一次上帝给了他们法律, 他把它放在他们面前. 但是上帝说, “没有, 这阵子, 我打算把我的律法他们里面。“

我们习惯了心脏的思想作为一个温暖, 模糊的地方内. 我们有关系的心脏和情人节和浪漫的爱情联系在一起. 但, 圣经的心脏不仅仅是糊状动情处多了不少. 在圣经, 的心脏是我们整个里面的人. 它包括我们的情绪, 但它也包括我们的头脑, 我们的意志, 和我们的欲望 - 这一切发生的内. 希伯来文实际上是指肠子, 因为这是他们使用的图像. 我们用这个词心脏.

心脏是在我们所做的一切的核心. 这就像指导我们行动的GPS系统. 问题是它坏. 我们心中的罪恶想错了, 而抱屈, 和错误的欲望. 而我们违背上帝, 因为我们是谁的核心, 我们错了.

无论我做什么我抬不起头来了吧. 不管任何罪人做什么, 他们不能够只是鼓起力量,保持神的律法完美.

这就是为什么上帝的律法, 完美的,因为它是, 永远无法拯救我们. 这就是为什么只是告诉我们正确的事情可能永远是不够的.

好像今天, 赞成生活不道德的生活了很多论据有什么很自然的做. 我们与某些欲望出生所以他们必须是正确的. 怎么可能

上帝永远有东西的问题,感觉真不错, 不管是婚前性行为, 或同性恋, 或任何道德问题.

事实是,我们的心是如此的破碎和困惑, 该错误的感觉和从右觉得这是错. 当我们的配偶刺激我们的感觉就在那一刻不尊重他们. 当我长大的时候看犯规音乐视频, 它认为正确的欲望在屏幕上那些女人之后. 当我们的收入是不完全正确的感觉右骗我们的税只是一点点. 我们的心欺骗我们. 事实上在耶利米书的另一处, 它说, “心脏是上述万物都诡诈, 拼命生病; 谁可以把它理解?“ (耶利米 17:9 ESV)

这是不够的,有法律, 因为我们心中的罪恶不仅在应对叛乱. 神必须打开我们上, 给我们一个精神上的心脏移植手术.

这种内部的工作就是在这个新约的核心,我们应该赞美神吧. 如果上帝不承诺我们的内心,我们的工作仍然是无望. 腓立比书 2 告诉我们, “制定出自己的救赎与恐惧战兢…“ 为什么? “因为这是上帝谁在你的作品, 既意愿和他的美意。“ (腓立比书 2:12-13 ESV)

它的 因为 他的作品里面我们,我们将制定出我们的救赎. 因为上帝在我们心中内部合作的愿望,并做什么,他叫我们去,我们只能从外部工作. 神是发起者和这里的推动者. 我们应该赞美神为惊人的工作.

所以在这个真理的光, 这正是我们应该做的事情. 我们应该制定出我们的救赎. 我们应该在我们的打击罪恶的斗争信心, 知道上帝是在工作中我们. 上帝不只是坐在老天爷在他的子民狂吠了命令,并谴责他们,当他们失败. 他在我们心中竟的工作,帮助我们信靠顺服. 我们没有任何借口为一个懒惰的追求神.

也许今天你一些罪挣扎,你觉得你不能打败.

鼓励. 上帝是在你的工作. 和他比任何罪过强.

在我自己的生活, 我可以这么清楚地看到这. 这并不是说我不挣扎了, 但它是如此不同. 我还记得在喜欢和我的罪。. 然后,我记得有一个改变它困扰着我. 即使在我开始改变自己的行为, 我注意到的方式,我觉得, 还有自己的想法, 而我希望的是改变. 这只能是上帝的内部工作. 还有什么比看着上帝做在别人更甜. 因为我可以庆幸,说, “嘿, 他确实在我太多!“

这是一种独特的统一性,只有基督徒关怀份额. 上帝是在工作中我们的内心.

我们应该赞美上帝为他的内部工作.

III. 神是人际工作

听这一节的最后一部分. 神说,

“我将是他们的神,他们将是我的人。“

上帝正在公约并非一个单纯的合同. 这不只是一些协议,他为他们做好事. 这约是植根于与他的子民有个人关系. 神不只是答应的事情要祝福我们, 他答应自己祝福我们. 他是我们的上帝. 它不象签订租约新公寓. 当你这样做, 你只是答应支付你的房东每月租金. 不像那样. 有一个个人, 致力于怜爱有在所有他对他的人民行动.

还有的某种所有权的存在. 他购买了我们他儿子的血,我们属于他. 这让我想起的 在基督里孤独 线, “因为我是他和他是我. 与基督的宝血买.“上帝一直在寻求与他的子民有个人关系, 这是继续与这个新约.

基督教, 你觉得上帝是你的上帝, 或者仅仅是上帝? 当你认为上帝是他只是造物主那里? 抑或是他的父? 他是你的灵魂的恋人?

因为你认为他的方式改变了你对他的反应方式. 以色列的人不是生活,仿佛他是他们的上帝. 他们崇拜偶像. 他们不相信他的话. 关于他们的生活方式没有什么表示,这是他们的上帝. 并没有什么关于他​​们的生活说他们是他的子民.

我们这些谁在基督里值得信赖的是他的人. 神印在我们他的名字. 一切都属于他, 但在一个特殊的方式他看着我们说:, “他们是我的。”和我们的生活应该见证了这个真理.

当耶稣在十字架上为我们的大祭司, 他给了我们进入宇宙的神. 我不知道它将如何改变我们的生活祈祷,如果我们抓住了他是我们的神的真理,我们是他的人. 我想想出埃及记他的人被奴役,被文中说, “他听到他们的呼声和记念他的约与他们的父亲。”基督徒, 神已答应给我们的方式,他没有承诺自己所有的人. 上帝听到你的祷告,他将永远在一个充满爱的方式进行响应. 他是你的上帝. 你是他的人之一.

我不知道我们如何更舒适会觉得在审判之中,如果我们掌握了真理,他是我们的上帝,我们是他的人. 罗马书 8 提醒我们,没有什么可以从神在基督的爱隔绝. 我想想约瑟卖为奴隶, 并说他有什么兄弟意味着邪恶, 神的意思为好. 无论我们是在中间是什么样的审判, 上帝只会使用它们为我们好和他的荣耀. 他是你的上帝. 你是他的人之一.

我想在我自己的生活, 当我不掌握这个时代, 我到底该怎么做布拉德称我们是今天早上不办. 相反,抱住我是真理的他, 而他是我, 我开始把我的基督徒生活变成一展才华; 我在那里执行上帝和我做成他的好感,如果我执行不够好. 但是,当我抓住他是我的神的真理,我是他的孩子, 我要服从他是出于爱和出于感激的恩典. 我没有执行和现在的自己给他. 上帝在我身边. 我是谁在开玩笑? 他关心我的圣洁比我多. 他是我的神. 我是他的人之一.

我可以继续下去. 但它是至关重要, 我们抓住这一个举行. 他是我们的上帝,我们是他的人. 我们应该称赞他拯救这个人际工作.

IV. 上帝在工作

我想在这个通道中最重要的一句话就是你们两个可能跳过了小语, “我会的。”上帝说:, “我会做出新约。”上帝说:, “我会把我的法律范围内它们。”上帝说:, “我将它写在他们心上。”他说,, “我要作他们的神,他们要作我的人。”

兄弟姐妹, 这个新约并不最终取决于你. 它开始和结束的神. 神是谁的计划. 神是谁是仁慈的,并没有带我们出去,我们第一次犯了罪. 上帝是谁送他的儿子之一. 上帝是谁泼他的愤怒了基督一. 神是谁从死里复活他的人. 神是谁做你一个新的生物之一. 上帝是谁给了你他的灵一. 上帝是谁给了你一个新的心脏之一. 神是谁的圣化你的人. 神是谁会让你. 神是一个谁荣耀你. 这约开始和结束的神.

上帝是决心要为自己的人. 而他已答应给人民.

作为信徒这应该给我们带来莫大的安慰. 因为我们知道,我们甚至不服从不能突破这约. 即使我们的愚蠢不能让这约失败. 因为上帝是在工作中, 他承诺他自己给我们, 而他不会失败.

结论

这些美丽的祝福是新约的一部分. 但事实是,这些只是那些谁是与上帝立约祝福可用. 我们进入与上帝立约的时候,我们在生活中信任, 死亡, 他的儿子和复活, 耶稣基督. 如果您不知道基督, 从你的罪,今天在他信. 相反,流泻出他的愤怒的, 神会浇灌你的头测不透的丰富一个永恒.

您可能会注意到, 该画了这幅画的声音非常完美. 而事实是没有的新约的这些方面我们谈到就能实现完美的,直到我们与他. 当我们与他,我们将看到一个完美的, 基督的纯国际新娘. 当我们与他,我们将是一个人的完美, 纯心中那爱基督和他所有的方法. 当我们与他, 我们将与我们的上帝一个完美的关系,我们会赞美他为他的子民. 在那之前,我们按下力争信任他越来越多的每一天. 让我们祈祷.

The New Covenant

I do music for a living. And as many of you also know, the kind of music I do is a little bit different than the songs you might hear at a CHBC service. There are many things about hip hop that make it different than other genres of music. One thing that’s not unique to hip hop, but is more common is the remix.

What usually happens with a remix is you take a song you’ve already made and you remix it. You keep some elements from the original, but you also change some things to put a new spin on it. So you might add new lyrics, or a whole new beat, or a just a different approach to the same thing. But one of the goals is to give the listener something new and even improve on the song.

Well the New Covenant, which our text talks about tonight, is almost like a remix. I say that because God promises to make a new covenant with His people, but everything about it isn’t new. His character hasn’t changed, His promises didn’t change, His overall intent didn’t change. But there are some things about this covenant that are totally different. And because of our sin, the old covenant didn’t work. Therefore, God improved on it with a new one. It wasn’t His plan B, but He planned all along to make a new covenant that His Son would bring about. And we read about this New Covenant in Jeremiah 31.

Let me give you some background before we read the text.

Background

In Exodus, after God’s people have been oppressed and enslaved by the Egyptians, they cry out to Him for deliverance. And He delivers them in dramatic fashion with ten plagues and turning Pharaoh’s heart, and splitting the Red Sea. After God has delivered the people of Israel, He makes a covenant with them. He says, “Now therefore, if you will indeed obey my voice and keep my covenant, you shall be my treasured possession among all peoples…” (Exodus 19:5). He reminds them of what He’s done on their behalf. He gives them 10 commandments that they are to follow. God promises to bless them if they obey Him, and curse them if they disobey Him. And the people agree to this covenant and make an oath to obey God.

Sounds great right? Just do what He says and everything will be fine. They’ll be God’s treasured possession, He’ll bless them, and they’ll live happily ever after. The problem is they didn’t obey Him. They didn’t keep up their side of the deal. And so we find ourselves in the time of Jeremiah.

The book of Jeremiah is primarily a book about judgment. Most of the book is God rebuking the people through His prophet Jeremiah for their disobedience, and prophesying about their destruction. But there’s a small section (30-33), where our text is found today, in which God reassures them of His commitment to them, despite their rebellion, and prophesies the blessings He will pour out on them. One day after all of this destruction, He is going to restore them. He tells them of this New Covenant He’s going make with them. And that’s what we’re going to think about today. There are many, many things that we could say about the New Covenant, but we’re going to focus one verse this morning.

Listen to what He says.

“This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel after that time,” declares the Lord. “I will put my law in their minds
and write it on their hearts.

I will be their God,
and they will be my people.” (Jeremiah 31:33)

I just want to point to four things we should be grateful for and praise God for as we reflect on this text.

I. God Is Working Internationally

The text says, “This is the covenant I will make with the house of Israel…” Sounds like a national thing right? So how is it that the New Covenant is God working internationally?

Well in Exodus God did make a covenant with His people Israel. And In the context of the book of Jeremiah, this new covenant is also being made the nation of Israel. There are some obvious clues that God planned to do a work outside of Israel, but at the time God is making a promise directly to the nation of Israel about restoring them.

And when Jesus comes to Earth, His focus is clearly on the Jews. In Matthew 15:24, Jesus says, “I was sent only to the lost sheep of the house of Israel.” But of course the people of Israel reject Him and by the end of the Gospel of Matthew, His plan is clear. He says to “make disciples,” not just of Israel, but of all nations.

And we see that so clearly in Acts and all of the New Testament, that God’s work of saving sinners has expanded. He even sends the most unlikely Apostle, Paul, to specifically to the Gentiles. His focus is no longer on a national people, but on an international people.

And we should praise God for this! Nobody deserves to be saved and restored to God, so He was gracious to redeem people from Israel. And He continues to be gracious by offering salvation to all of us. It’s almost like people are dying of thirst, and only one person has water. And at first it looked like water was only available to the children. But then we find out water is available to all of us. It was great that the children could be saved, but now we find out all of us can. The main way this illustration falls short is that we deserve to die of thirst. But God graciously offers all of us the salvation that we need.

I think it’s pretty clear I’m not of Jewish descent. Some of us are here tonight. I think it’s safe to say that most of us in here are not Jewish. So for some of us this should be especially praiseworthy. That God would set His eye on us as well and that He sent Christ for us. As Ephesians 2 says, “Therefore remember that at one time you Gentiles in the flesh… remember that you were at that time separated from Christ, alienated from the commonwealth of Israel and strangers to the covenants of promise, having no hope and without God in the world. But now in Christ Jesus you who once were far off have been brought near by the blood of Christ.” (Ephesians 2:11-13 ESV)

Praise God that He didn’t leave us far off, utterly hopeless, and without Him. He didn’t have to do this, but as we know it was His plan all along. And we know where the story ends. The story ends with people from all nations and tongues worshipping the lamb together in the New Heaven and New Earth. Because “by [His] blood [He] ransomed people for God from every tribe and language and people and nation” (Rev 5:9).

So this should impact the way we live together as the body of Christ even now. As God’s people, we should be trying to do life together in a way that shows off God’s plan to save a diverse people. Sometimes my church does baptism on Sunday mornings. And I love to look up there and see diverse people giving testimonies. They all have different backgrounds, but God’s saving grace was present in all of them. That could be said of us here today. I pray that when people come among our church, they would marvel at God’s work in the lives of so many different kinds of people. You’re not saved by your age or race. There is no qualification other than being needy. And all of us are needy.

A lot of folks I meet don’t know this. They think God only saves two kinds of people: either old white dudes or old black grandmothers. But it’s not true, right? Scripture is clear that “everyone who calls upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”
 Not just rich people, or poor people, or old people or young people, or Jewish people or white people or black people. No, God has extended His offer to all.

We, as a church, should be afraid of doing anything that makes it seem like God only saves a certain kind of person. That’s the beautiful mystery of the New Covenant. That’s one of the glories of the Gospel that God would save any sinner who puts their faith in Christ. It’s not focused on or limited to any one group.

As a church, we may not all come from the same place and we may not have the same ethnic background, but we have something greater in common. We are in covenant with the living God through Christ. And that’s huge.

This is also the reason we should send missionaries and pray for them! This is why some of us need to pack up our bags and go! Because God has made a new covenant, and He’s included the nations. Someone told us and someone needs to go tell them.

So though the text talks about God’s covenant with the house of Israel, we know that his plan was expanded. Let’s praise God for working internationally. What exactly does that work look like? In what other ways will this covenant be new?

II. God Is Working Internally

“I will put my law in their minds and write it on their hearts.”

I don’t think the text is trying to draw some huge difference here between heart and mind. I think it’s just using two different words that communicate that God is going do something inside of us. Other translations say “I will put my law within them and I will write it on their hearts.”

Now of course the first time God gave them the Law, He wrote it on tablets of stone. But God is saying, “No, this time around I’m going to write in on their hearts.” The first time God gave them the law, He put it in front of them. But God is saying, “No, this time around, I’m going to put my law inside of them.”

We’re accustomed to thinking of the heart as a warm, fuzzy place inside. We associate the heart with relationships and Valentine’s Day and romantic love. But, biblically the heart is a lot more than just a mushy emotional place. In the Scriptures, the heart is our entire inner man. It includes our emotions, but it also includes our minds, our will, and our desires – everything that happens inside. The Hebrew word actually means bowels, because that’s the image they used. We use the word heart.

The heart is at the core of everything we do. It’s like the GPS system that directs our actions. The problem is it’s broken. Our sinful hearts think wrong, and feel wrong, and desire wrong. And we disobey God, because at the core of who we are, we’re wrong.

No matter what I did I could not lift that bar. And no matter what any sinner does, they’re not able to just muster up the strength to keep God’s law perfectly.

And this is why God’s law, as perfect as it was, could never save us. This is why just telling us the right thing to do could never be enough.

It seems like today, a lot of the arguments in favor of living immoral lives has to do with what’s natural. We were born with certain desires so they must be right. How could

God ever have a problem with something that feels so right, whether that be premarital sex, or homosexuality, or any moral issues.

The truth is our hearts are so broken and confused, that wrong feels right and right feels wrong. When our spouses irritate us it feels right in the moment to disrespect them. When I was growing up watching foul music videos, it felt right to lust after those women on the screen. When our income isn’t quite right it feels right to cheat just a little bit on our taxes. Our hearts trick us. In fact in another place in the book of Jeremiah, it says, “The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately sick; who can understand it?” (Jeremiah 17:9 ESV)

It wasn’t enough to have the law, because our sinful hearts only respond in rebellion. God had to open us up, and give us a spiritual heart transplant.

This internal work is at the core of this new covenant and we should praise God for it. If God did not commit to working inside of us we would still be hopeless. Philippians 2 tells us, “Work out your own salvation with fear and trembling…” Why? “For it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.” (Philippians 2:12-13 ESV)

It’s because of his work inside of us that we will work out our salvation. We can only work externally because God is working internally in our hearts to desire and to do what He’s called us to. God is the initiator and the enabler here. We should praise God for that amazing work.

So in light of this truth, that’s exactly what we should be doing. We should be working out our salvation. We should be confident in our fight against sin, knowing that God is at work within us. God isn’t just sitting in the Heavens barking out commands at His people and condemning them when they fail. He’s actually working in our hearts to help us trust and obey. We have no excuse for a lazy pursuit of God.

Maybe today you’re struggling with some sin that you feel like you can’t defeat.

Be encouraged. God is at work within you. And He’s stronger than any sin.

In my own life, I can see this so clearly. Not that I don’t struggle anymore, but it’s so different. I can remember being in love with my sin. And then I remember a change where it bothered me. Even before I started changing my behavior, I noticed that the way I felt, and how I thought, and what I desired was changing. That can only be the internal work of God. And there’s nothing sweeter than watching God do that in others. Because I can rejoice and say, “Hey, He did that in me too!”

This is a unique kind of unity that only Christians care share. God is at work inside of us.

We should praise God for His internal work.

III. God Is Working Interpersonally

Listen to the last part of this verse. God says,

“I will be their God,
 and they will be my people.”

The covenant that God is making is not a mere contract. It’s not just some agreement for Him to do good things for them. This covenant is rooted in a personal relationship with His people. God has not just promised to bless us with things, He’s promised to bless us with Himself. He is our God. It’s not like signing a lease for a new apartment. When you do that, you’re just promising to pay your landlord rent each month. It’s not like that. There’s a personal, committed love and affection there in all of His actions toward His people.

And there’s a certain kind of ownership there. He’s purchased us with the blood of His Son and we belong to Him. It reminds me of the In Christ Alone line, “For I am His and He is mine. Bought with the precious blood of Christ.” God has always sought to have a personal relationship with His people, and this was to continue with this new covenant.

Christian, do you think of God as your God, or as merely the God? When you think of God is He merely the Creator up there? Or is He your Father? Is He the Lover of your soul?

Because the way you view Him changes the way you respond to Him. The people of Israel were not living as if He was their God. They were worshipping idols. They weren’t trusting His Word. Nothing about their lifestyles said that this was their God. And nothing about their life said they were His people.

Those of us who have trusted in Christ are His people. God has stamped His name on us. Everything belongs to Him, but in a special way He has looked at us and said, “They are mine.” And our lives should bear witness to this truth.

When Jesus went to the cross as our high priest, He gave us access to the God of the Universe. I wonder how it would change our prayer lives if we grasped the truth that He is our God and we are His people. I think about Exodus where His people were enslaved and the text says, “He heard their cries and remembered His covenant with their fathers.” Christian, God has committed Himself to us in a way that He hasn’t committed Himself to all people. God hears your prayers and He will always respond in a loving way. He is your God. You are one of His people.

I wonder how much more comfort we would feel in the midst of trial if we grasped the truth that He is our God and we are His people. Romans 8 reminds us that nothing can separate us from the love of God in Christ. I think about Joseph being sold into slavery, and saying that what his brothers meant for evil, God meant for good. No matter what kind of trials we’re in the midst of, God will only use them for our good and His glory. He is your God. You are one of His people.

I think in my own life, the times when I don’t grasp this, I do exactly what Brad called us not to do this morning. Instead of clinging to the truth that I am His, and He is mine, I start to turn my Christian life into a talent show; where I perform for God and I make into His good graces if I perform well enough. But when I grasp the truth that He is my God and I am His child, I want to obey Him out of love and out of gratitude for His grace. I don’t have to perform and present myself to Him. God is on my side. Who am I kidding? He cares about my holiness more than I do. He is my God. I am one of His people.

I could go on and on. But it is crucial, that we grab a hold of this. He is our God and we are His people. And we should praise Him for this interpersonal work of salvation.

IV. God Is At Work

I think the most important phrase in this passage is two little words you may have skipped over, “I will.” God says, “I will make a new covenant.” God says, “I will put my law within them.” God says, “I will write it on their hearts.” He says, “I will be their God and they shall be my people.”

Brothers and sisters, this New Covenant does not ultimately depend on you. It begins and ends with God. God is the one who had the plan. God is the one who was merciful and didn’t take us out the first time we sinned. God was the one who sent His Son. God was the one who poured His wrath out on Christ. God is the one who raised Him from the dead. God is the one who made you a new Creature. God is the one who gave you His Spirit. God is the one who gave you a new heart. God is the one who’s sanctifying you. God is the one who will keep you. And God is the one who will glorify you. This covenant begins and ends with God.

God is determined to make for Himself a people. And He has committed Himself to that people.

As believers this should bring us great comfort. Because we know that even our disobedience can’t break this covenant. Even our foolishness can’t make this covenant fail. Because God is at work, He’s committed Himself to us, and He doesn’t fail.

Conclusion

These are beautiful blessings that are part of this New Covenant. But the truth is these are blessing available only to those who are in covenant with God. And we enter into covenant with God when we trust in the life, death, and resurrection of His Son, Jesus Christ. If you donʼt know Christ, turn from your sin and believe on Him today. Instead of pouring out His wrath, God will pour out unsearchable riches on your head for an eternity.

You may notice, that the picture painted sounds awfully perfect. And the truth is none of these aspects of the New Covenant we talked about will be realized perfectly until we are with Him. When we are with Him we will see a perfect, pure international bride of Christ. When we are with Him we will be a people with perfect, pure hearts that love Christ and all of His ways. When we are with Him, we will have a perfect relationship with our God and we will glorify Him as His people. Until then we press on and strive to trust Him more and more each day. Let’s pray.