رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة رحلة

عندما ننظر الفائزين مثل الخاسرون

ماذا الفائزين تبدو? هم طويل القامة أو قصيرة? ابيض أم اسود? قوية أو ضعيفة? اعتقد ان ذلك يعتمد على ما نعنيه “الفائز.”

لقد امتص في القصة من فائز واحد في الشهر الماضي بمثابة قراءة طويلة, ولكن سيرة إشراك مايكل جوردان. ذكرني وصفا تفصيليا لماذا هاجس كثير من الناس معه تتمحور حول عبادة البطل. أشياء كثيرة يمكن أن يقال حول “airness له” ولكن لا أحد يمكن أن يدعي أي وقت مضى أنه ليس الفائز. وقال انه يبدو وكأنه الفائز قبل ان يصل كل تلك حلقات البطولة, رغم أن?

وأنت تقرأ الكتاب, بدا واضحا منذ طفولته بأنه سيكون بطل. ما إذا كان ذلك مسرحيته القائم كما جرة الدوري القليل أو كلاعب كرة السلة اسكواش الناشئين; له طفرة في النمو في المدرسة الثانوية أو لعبة فوزه إطلاق النار أثناء طالبة السنة التي قضاها مع UNC.

وبحلول الوقت الذي وصلت إلى الفصول حول بطولة بصفته شيكاغو بولز, لم تكن هناك مفاجآت. وقال المؤلف قصته بطريقة جعلت من الواضح: ولد الأردن ليكون الفائز. وهذا ما نعرفه عن: الحائز على ست حلقات البطولة, خمسة المتميزين, و 14 كل المظاهر ستار…

انتظر, رحلة - لم تتقاعد?

وقبل بضعة أشهر وأنا فاجأ الجميع بإعلانه ألبوم جديد, “ترتفع.” أنت لا تفهم كم كان الأمر صعبا للحفاظ على الهدوء حيال ذلك قبل تسمية بلدي وذهبت العام. وكان الألبوم كان في الاشغال منذ أكثر من عام, وأنا لا يمكن أن تنتظر أن أقول للجميع - وخاصة أولئك الذين يسألون دوما عندما كنت اسقاط شيئا جديدا.

الاستجابة كانت حتى الآن مشجعة للغاية. أنا مندهش من أن الناس قد استمر لدعم لي رغم أنني كانت هادئة جدا لالعامين الماضيين. الحب والإثارة زاد من الألغام.

التقاعد المبكر

كان واحدا من الردود لم أكن مفاجأة هذا واحد: "انتظر, أعتقد أنك متقاعد?"هذا هو السؤال الذي يرافقني حول كالظل. لقد تناولت في مقابلات, تويت, و بلوق وظائف, ولكن أنا أعلم أنه لا يزال من غير الواضح إلى بعض. اسمحوا لي أن تستمر في محاولة لوضع الأمور في نصابها: لم أكن المتقاعدين.

في 2012, أنا أعلن أنني سأكون "يخطو بعيدا عن الموسيقى." نعم, وأعرف أن أصوات التقاعد العش, لكنني لم عمدا عدم استخدام تلك الكلمة. ظللت غامضة عمدا لأنني لم أكن 100% بالتأكيد ما من شأنه أن…

Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip Trip

When Winners Look Like Losers

What do winners look like? Are they tall or short? Black or white? Strong or weak? I guess it depends on what we mean by “winner.”

I was sucked into the story of one winner this past month as a read a lengthy, but engaging biography of Michael Jordan. The detailed account reminded me why many people’s obsession with him borders on hero worship. Many things can be said about “his airness” but nobody could ever claim he’s not a winner. Did he look like a winner before he got all those championship rings, though?

As you read the book, it seemed clear from his childhood that he would be a champion. Whether that was his outstanding play as a little league pitcher or as a junior varsity basketball player; his high school growth spurt or his game winning shot during his freshman year with UNC.

By the time I got to the chapters about his championships as a Chicago Bull, there were no surprises. The author told his story in a way that made it clear: Jordan was born to be a winner. And that’s what we know him for: winning six championship rings, five MVPs, and 14 All Star appearances…

Wait, Trip — Didn’t You Retire?

A couple months ago I surprised everyone by announcing a brand new album, “Rise.” You don’t understand how hard it was to keep quiet about it before my label and I went public. The album had been in the works for over a year, and I couldn’t wait to tell everyone — especially those who kept asking when I was dropping something new.

The response so far has been deeply encouraging. I’m amazed that people have continued to support me even though I’ve been pretty quiet for the last two years. Your love and excitement has only increased mine.

Early Retirement

One of the responses I wasn’t surprise by was this one: “Wait, I thought you retired?” This is the question that follows me around like a shadow. I’ve addressed it in interviews, tweets, and blog posts, but I know it’s still unclear to some. Let me continue to try to set the record straight: I never retired.

In 2012, I announced that I’d be “stepping away from music.” Yes, I know that sounds retirement-ish, but I purposely didn’t use that word. I kept it intentionally vague because I wasn’t 100% sure what it would…