Importance des mots

Les mots sont importants. Nous utilisons des mots communiquer avec nos amis et la famille. Nous utilisons nos mots pour faire des affaires. J'utilise des mots pour mettre des chansons ensemble et gagner leur vie. Nous utilisons des mots pour discipliner nos enfants. Les politiciens utilisent les mots pour vous convaincre qu'ils sont le meilleur candidat pour le poste. Les mots sont une grande partie de tous les aspects de nos vies. J'ai un nouveau fils. Il est difficile de vivre avec une personne âgée de sept semaines, principalement parce qu'ils ne peuvent pas parler. Donc parfois, je veux l'aider, mais je ne sais pas comment, parce qu'il ne peut pas communiquer avec des mots encore. Il est difficile d'imaginer un monde sans mots.

La personne moyenne dit à propos de 16,000 mots par jour. C'est 112,000 mots chaque semaine. Voilà plus de cinq millions de mots chaque année. Nous utilisons des mots. Beaucoup.

Et tout ce qu'il y a beaucoup de commence à être sous-évalué. La valeur de quelque chose change basé sur combien il y a. Quand il y a 100 les cookies sur une table après le service que vous pourriez ne cesse de parler pendant un certain temps. Mais quand il n'y a que quelques biscuits, ils semblent précieux. Vous aurez probablement précipiter là-bas et si vous obtenez un dans le temps, cette morsure est beaucoup plus doux. Parce que nous entendons et utilisons tant de mots chaque jour, ils ne signifient pas grand-chose à nous. Mais nous devrions les voir aussi précieux.

Peut-être que nous pensons que les choses vraiment importantes que nous disons sont importants. Peut-être que nous pensons que ce que nous écrivons, ou seulement lorsque nous avons des conversations révolutionnaires ou seulement quand nous disons ce que nous pensons vraiment que nos mots d'importance. Je pense que notre verset soir communique quelque chose de très différent. Tournez avec moi à Matthew 12:36.

Mais je vous dis que les hommes auront à rendre compte sur le jour du jugement de toute parole vaine qu'ils ont parlé. (Mathieu 12:36)

Contexte

Jésus dit ces mots au milieu d'une conversation avec les Pharisiens, après qu'ils l'accusent de chasser les démons par Satan. Et Jésus leur dit essentiellement qu'ils sont mal, et ne peut pas dire quelque chose de bon (il a une façon de genre avec des mots). Il leur dit que tous nos mots sont le fruit de ce qui est pris racine dans nos cœurs.

Et puis il laisse tomber cette bombe sur nous. Cela nous devons répondre à Dieu de toute parole sans nous parlons. Cela ne vaut pas seulement pour les Pharisiens. Il est vrai pour chacun d'entre nous. Et le verset suivant est encore plus effrayant. Il dit, «Car par tes paroles tu seras justifié, et par tes paroles tu seras condamné. " Mais pourquoi? Pourquoi nos mots si importants? Pourquoi allons-nous être acquittés ou condamnés basés sur quelque chose d'aussi trivial que les mots que nous disons?

Cœur

Il fait ce clair plus tôt quand il dit, "Hors du trop-plein du cœur que la bouche parle." Avez-vous déjà senti injustement jugé? Comme quelqu'un vous a attrapé un mauvais jour quand vous étiez fou et jugé l'ensemble de votre personnage sur un jour? Eh bien être jugé par nos paroles ne sont pas comme ça. Il est pas comme les mots ne sont qu'un aspect de notre caractère qui ne nous définit pas. Nous pouvons être jugés avec précision par nos paroles, car ils sont un reflet exact de ce qui se passe dans nos coeurs.

Il est presque comme je suis tenant une tasse, vous ne savez pas ce qui est là-bas. Je pourrais vous dire l'eau est là, ou le jus est là-dedans. Mais si je voyage et les éclaboussures ou de déversement certains de cette boisson, vous saurez exactement ce qu'il ya dedans. Il en va de même avec nos paroles et nos coeurs. Quand nous parlons, le contenu de notre cœur déborde sur. Nos paroles montrent toujours ce qui est dans nos coeurs, que ce soit bon ou mauvais. Et comme Paul Tripp, un auteur que je lu cette semaine, dit, "Vous avez jamais parlé un mot neutre dans votre vie."

Tenu compte de nos mots

Chaque maintenant et puis quelqu'un sera pris sur la bande en disant quelque chose qu'ils auraient jamais dit en public. Ce qui est arrivé au président Obama quand il a parlé au Président de la Russie. Ce qui est arrivé à Mitt Romney la semaine dernière. Ils ne pensaient pas être tenus responsables de ces mots, mais ils étaient. De même, nous pensons que nous ne serons pas tenus responsables de certains mots que nous prononçons. Nous pensons que nous disons des choses, et d'une manière fait, mais ils reviendront à nous mordre. Il est comme si Dieu a des caméras cachées partout dans la création.

Il y a un jour - le texte appelle le Jour du Jugement - lorsque nous nous tiendrons devant le saint Juge de l'univers entier. Et quand nous nos paroles resterons en tant que témoins - soit de témoigner pour nous ou contre nous. La preuve sera présentée.

Dieu se penchera sur la façon dont nous avons parlé à nos parents comme un enfant et la façon dont nous parlons à nos conjoints ou des patrons comme des adultes. Dieu examinera la façon dont nous avons parlé à des étrangers dans la rue. Dieu va enquêter sur les blagues nous avons dit à nos collègues. Dieu peigne à travers nos rants en colère dans le trafic sur la voiture pour aller travailler. Il va même faire défiler ce que nous avons tapé sur Facebook et Twitter. Même les mots que nous envoient des messages texte ou des e-mails. Chaque mot.

Vous remarquez Jésus ne dit pas que nous aurons à rendre compte pour les mots importants que nous parlons. Il dit, «Toute parole vaine.» Le mot utilisé pour négligent est aussi traduit ralenti ou inutile. Tous les mots, peu importe la façon insignifiante vous pensez qu'il est. Le Dieu qui sait tout, nous avons parlé ce matin,, connaît chaque mot que nous ayons jamais parlé.

Et voici la chose. Juste un mot méchant est assez pour nous condamner. Lequel des moyens de cours, nous devrions tous être condamnés pour nos mots.

Eh bien il y a trois mots, prononcé par le Seigneur Jésus-Christ, qui remplacent toute parole sans que j'ai jamais parlé. Ces trois mots sont "Il. Est. Fini. "Après avoir vécu la vie parfaite, après avoir utilisé seulement ses paroles d'une manière qui glorifia Dieu, Jésus est allé à la croix. Et quand il a accroché sur cette croix, il est mort, même pour les péchés de notre discours. Et il se leva trois jours plus tard.

Et pour ceux d'entre nous qui mettons notre foi en Christ, Oui, il y a des mots édifiants nous avons parlé qui sont les fruits de notre relation avec le Christ. Et ces mots viendront témoigner en notre faveur. Mais nous serions encore condamnés par tous les autres mots. Et la louange de Dieu que le sang du Seigneur Jésus couvre ces mots. Si vous ne connaissez pas Jésus, se détourner de vos péchés et la confiance dans le seul qui peut vous pardonner tous vos péchés, y compris les péchés de votre discours.

Donc, en tant que croyants, bien que nous ne soyons pas condamnés pour nos mots, nous allons encore être tenus responsables pour eux. Nous aurons encore à répondre à Dieu pour eux et nous pouvons perdre des récompenses dans le ciel.

Intendance

Certains d'entre nous sont très prudents avec notre argent. Nous faisons des budgets, nous équilibrons nos chéquiers, nous gardons nos recettes, et nous regardons nos relevés de facturation en ligne. Parce que nous savons que beaucoup est en jeu. Nous savons que nous devons assurer l'intendance de notre argent bien.

Eh bien, ce même genre de prudence, et le calcul doit être appliqué à la façon dont nous utilisons nos mots. Parce que beaucoup est en jeu. Et nous répondrons à Dieu pour chacun de nos mots. Nous devrions être de bons intendants des mots que nous utilisons.

Nos mots sont comme des marteaux. Nous pouvons témérairement les balancer autour et briser des choses. Ou nous pouvons utiliser à construire soigneusement des choses. Comment allez-vous utiliser vos mots cette semaine? Comment nous avons utilisé nos mots cette semaine va probablement nous montrer comment nous pourrions les utiliser la semaine prochaine, à moins que quelque chose change.

Donc, je veux donner trois façons que nous pouvons utiliser bien nos mots.

je. Parlez à Dieu

Du 16,000 mots que nous utilisons tous les jours, il serait sage d'utiliser beaucoup de ceux dans la conversation avec Dieu. Jésus nous a donné accès au Père, et nous devrions venir hardiment devant son trône souvent. Nos conjoints peuvent avoir des problèmes avec être de bons auditeurs, mais Dieu ne. Il entend toujours nos prières. En fait, Il écoute très près.

Souvent, lorsque nous allons à travers quelque chose de difficile, la première chose que nous faisons est juste évent à des amis de la famille. Ou peut-être que nous Rant presque à haute voix pour nous. Quel gaspillage de mots. Juste la semaine dernière, Je me plaignais à ma femme quelque chose qui vient vraiment me tracasse et j'étais inquiet. Et avant d'accepter ou d'offrir tout conseil, elle m'a juste demandé simplement, "Avez-vous été en train de prier à ce sujet?"Et la réponse était non. J'aurais parlé à Dieu à ce sujet. Cela aurait été un bien meilleur usage de mes mots.

Souvent, la ventilation ne fait rien de plus que de nous faire garance. Il est un gaspillage de mots parfois. Mais parler à Dieu est jamais une perte de mots. Il n'y a pas une meilleure utilisation de vos mots. Nous ne sommes pas dans le contrôle, mais il est. Ainsi, lorsque nous avons besoin d'aide, au lieu d'être simplement folle, nous devrions parler à Celui qui est en charge. Et s'il est bon pour nous et pour sa gloire, Il nous accordera notre demande.

Certains d'entre nous peut être conflictuel. Et quand nous avons des problèmes avec quelqu'un, nous allons droit à la personne de prendre soin d'elle. Il faut rappeler que parler à Dieu à propos de la situation est plus important et efficace que de parler à l'autre personne. Parlez à Dieu de vos problèmes relationnels avant de vous parler à l'autre personne. Demandez-lui de l'aide et de la grâce et de sagesse. Laisser le poids de parler à votre Créateur vous dégriser et vous aider à penser plus clairement.

Et nous ne devrions pas seulement utiliser nos mots pour demander à Dieu des choses. Ceci est la raison pour laquelle nous avons une prière de louange chaque dimanche matin. Nous devrions simplement le louer quelques fois. Nous devrions venir avec des moyens uniques pour chanter ses louanges. Plus que, "Il est bon. Je vous remercie Dieu. "Le cœur qui est saturé d'amour pour Dieu trouve de nouveaux moyens et de nouvelles raisons de louer Dieu tous les jours. Il est digne de notre louange.

II. Dites la Bonne Nouvelles

Je ne peux pas penser à quelque chose de mieux pour raconter une autre personne, que la Bonne Nouvelles. Dieu a parlé en ces derniers jours par son Fils Jésus-Christ. Et nous devrions dire aux autres de lui et ce qu'il a fait.

Romains 10 nous dit que, «La foi vient par l'audition et l'audition par la Parole du Christ." Voici comment Dieu sauve les hommes et les femmes. Quand ils entendent l'Evangile et reçoivent par la foi.

Je veux que vous pensiez un instant à ce que personne dans votre vie a besoin d'entendre l'Evangile. Est-ce un membre de la famille, un collègue, un voisin, un coiffeur, un docteur? Qu'est-ce que personne dans votre vie a besoin d'entendre l'Evangile?

Il est bon pour nous d'utiliser nos mots pour établir des relations et un terrain d'entente avec nos amis non-chrétiens. Il est bon pour eux de savoir que vous souciez d'eux. Mais il est dévastateur si nous jamais réellement se déplacer à partager l'Evangile avec eux. Il serait dévastateur si nous avions 10 conversations sur la politique, mais pas un seul sujet de l'Evangile. Il serait dévastateur si nous avions des conversations hebdomadaires sur le sport, mais n'a jamais eu de conversations sur Jésus. Et je parle de moi-même.

Récemment, J'ai eu les membres de la famille meurent. Et chaque fois que cela se produit, ça me rappelle, que quelques fois il est bon d'attendre, mais parfois je dois dire aux gens au sujet de Jésus en ce moment. Je sais que ma désobéissance ne peut pas contrecarrer les plans de Dieu, mais cela ne signifie pas que je devrais être désobéissants. Et par tous les moyens, suivre la direction de l'Esprit, mais sachez qu'il ne nous conduit à mettre hors des choses qui doit être dit maintenant. Dites la Bonne Nouvelles.

Cela ne signifie pas que cela devrait être notre seule interaction avec les non-chrétiens. Mais cela ne signifie pas qu'il doit se produire. Peut-être que nous devrions les mettre à l'église et utiliser le sermon comme un lancement au pad pour en parler. Peut-être les nous pointons à un bon livre ou un CD qui parle de l'Evangile (ahem, mien). Trouver un moyen de dire l'Evangile.

III. Build Up Autres (g- la grâce)

Ne laissez pas parler malsain sortir de votre bouche, mais seulement ce qui est utile pour édifier les autres en fonction de leurs besoins, qu'il peut profiter à ceux qui écoutent. (Ephésiens 4:29)

Cela devrait être le principe directeur général pour nos mots à d'autres personnes. Seul ce qui est utile pour édifier les autres. Comme je l'ai dit plus tôt, nos mots sont comme des marteaux. Nous pouvons briser des choses ou de construire des choses. Et il y a des tonnes de façons de construire d'autres jusqu'à.

Jésus nous dit que l'homme ne vit pas seulement de pain hors, mais chaque mot qui sort de la bouche de Dieu. Dieu a parlé des mots précieux. Et nous devrions être en écho ces mots précieux les uns aux autres chaque chance que nous obtenons.

Une façon est d'encouragement. Je pense que ceci est quelque chose CHBC fait exceptionnellement bien. Ce moi et ma femme en fait pris au dépourvu quand nous sommes arrivés. «Ont-ils encouragent juste moi au sujet de la question que je posais?"Up sous cet encouragement est l'affirmation. Affirmons autres. Dites-leur quand vous voyez des preuves de la grâce de Dieu dans leur vie. Affirmez votre amour pour eux. Affirmons l'amour de Dieu pour eux.

Une autre façon est difficile un de l'autre. Nous ne devrions pas penser «construire» signifie la même chose que mignon, mots de sondage d'inspiration. Parfois, construire ressemble réprimande, ou la correction. Parfois, il ressemble à contester un frère ou une sœur et de les appeler à se repentir d'un péché. Ceci est l'une des choses que nous avons pris un engagement à l'autre - à faire marcher les uns aux autres par le biais de bons moments et des moments difficiles.

Et il nous arrive de passer par une période tumultueuse comme une église en ce moment. Et nous avons besoin à la fois des encouragements et des mots difficiles. Encouragez vos frères et sœurs dans l'Évangile. Rappelez-leur de la souveraineté de Dieu et de sa bonté et ses promesses. Et aussi défier vos frères et sœurs de combattre le bon combat de la foi, à persévérer dans la confiance de Jésus. Nous avons besoin que.

Une autre façon, vous pouvez construire les autres est de donner de bons conseils. Les décideurs les plus matures sont ceux qui ne prend pas de décisions dans l'isolement. Être disponible pour entendre parler de ce qui se passe dans votre frère ou la vie de soeur. Et les aider à réfléchir à la façon dont Dieu aurait à répondre. Et donner des conseils bibliques.

D'un côté, comme une église, nous faisons un excellent travail d'avoir de bonnes conversations spirituelles. D'autre part, nous ne devrions pas avoir peur de parler d'autres choses que Jésus. Nous pouvons parler de la vie, et nous pouvons parler de sport, il suffit de faire d'une manière qui glorifie Dieu.

Certains d'entre vous ont besoin d'arrêter de parler tant et d'autres ont besoin de commencer à parler plus. Certains d'entre nous ont besoin d'être plus rapide à entendre. Certains d'entre nous ne jamais utiliser les mots. Et nous devons faire plus. parler plus fort. Dieu travaille dans votre vie et nous voulons entendre parler. Que toutes vos paroles soient caractérisées par l'amour. Ma prière est que CHBC serait une église caractérisée par des mots d'amour.

Conclusion

Comme vous cherchez à appliquer ce que vous avez entendu ce soir, ne faites pas l'erreur de simplement essayer de garder une trace de ce que vous dites et juste essayer de faire mieux. Ne pas aborder ce seulement à l'extérieur.

Comme on le voit plus haut dans le texte, ce qui est stocké dans nos cœurs sort. Nous ne devrions pas penser il y a un décalage entre le cœur et la langue. Donc stocker jusqu'à bonnes choses dans votre cœur et les regarder trop-plein. Et quand nous faisons cela, voici comment nous devrions nous efforcer d'utiliser nos mots.

La vraie façon de regarder vos mots est de regarder vos cœurs, car ils sont si étroitement liés. Il y a une ligne directe du cœur à la langue. Surveillez votre coeur, et en faisant cela, surveille ton langage. Et faire tout cela en regardant la Parole.

ACTIONS

8 commentaires

  1. manicleRépondre

    this is extremely awesome. if only everyone would read, understand and follow the rules, the world would be a better place to live in.

  2. RitaRépondre

    This was an on time lesson for me. Were talking about this very subject tonight at bible study. Thank God for drawing me to your website and Thank God for using you to explain His word in a way that was clear and easily understood.

    God Bless your Service!

  3. BarbaraRépondre

    Words are indeed important. Good info. Please take time to visit my website for God has also given me a ministry to teach others about the importance of words.

  4. Mention: Words are at least half the human reality if not the most

  5. Mention: 2016 In ReviewMy Job Hunting Experience | The SharePoint Effect

  6. Mention: Mots – Banana Wifey

Importance of Words

Words are important. We use words communicate with our friends and family. We use our words to conduct business. I use words to put songs together and make a living. We use words to discipline our children. Politicians use words to convince you that they’re the best candidate for the job. Words are a huge part of every aspect of our lives. I have a new son. It’s hard to live with a person seven weeks old, mainly because they can’t talk. So sometimes I want to help him but don’t know how because he can’t communicate with words yet. It’s hard to imagine a world without words.

The average person says about 16,000 words a day. That’s 112,000 words every week. That’s over five million words every year. We use words. A lot.

And anything that there’s a lot of begins to be undervalued. The value of something changes based on how much of it there is. When there are 100 cookies on a table after service you might keep talking for a while. But when there are only a few cookies, they seem precious. You’ll probably rush over there and if you get one in time, that bite is a lot sweeter. Because we hear and use so many words every day they don’t mean much to us. But we should see them as precious.

Maybe we think only the really important things we say are significant. Maybe we think only what we write down, or only when we have groundbreaking conversations or only when we say what we really think our words matter. I think our verse tonight communicates something very different. Turn with me to Matthew 12:36.

But I tell you that men will have to give account on the Day of Judgment for every careless word they have spoken. (Matthew 12:36)

Background

Jesus says these words in the midst of a conversation with the Pharisees, after they accuse Him of casting out demons by Satan. And so Jesus basically tells them that they’re evil, and can’t say anything good (he has a kind way with words). He tells them that all of our words are the fruit of what’s taken root in our hearts.

And then he drops that bomb on us. That will we have to answer to God for every careless word we speak. This doesn’t only apply to the Pharisees. It’s true for every single one of us. And the following verse is even more frightening. He says, “For by your words you will be acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned.” But why? Why are our words so important? Why will we be acquitted or condemned based on something as trivial as the words we say?

Heart

He makes that clear earlier when He says, “Out of the overflow of the heart the mouth speaks.” Have you ever felt unfairly judged? Like someone caught you on a bad day when you were mad and judged your entire character on that one day? Well being judged by our words isn’t like that. It’s not like words are just one aspect of our character that don’t define us. We can be accurately judged by our words because they are an accurate reflection of what’s happening in our hearts.

It’s almost like I’m holding a cup, you don’t know what’s in there. I could tell you water is in there, or juice is in there. But if I trip and splash or spill some of that drink, you’ll know exactly what’s in there. It’s the same with our words and our hearts. When we speak, the content of our hearts is spilling out. Our words always show what’s in our hearts, whether good or evil. And as Paul Tripp, an author I read this week, said, “You have never spoken a neutral word in your life.”

Held Accountable for Our Words

Every now and then someone will get caught on tape saying something they never would have said in public. This happened to President Obama when he was talking to the President of Russia. This happened to Mitt Romney last week. They didn’t expect to be held accountable for those words, but they were. Similarly, we think we won’t be held accountable for certain words we speak. We think we say things, and itʼs done, but they will come back to bite us. It’s as if God has hidden cameras all over creation.

There is a day – the text calls it the Day of Judgment – when we will stand before the holy Judge of the entire universe. And when we do our words will stand in as witnesses – either testifying for us or against us. The evidence will be presented.

God will look at the way we spoke to our parents as a child and the way we speak to our spouses or bosses as adults. God will examine the way we spoke to strangers on the street. God will investigate the jokes we told to our co-workers. God will comb through our angry rants in traffic on the drive to work. He’ll even scroll through what we typed on Facebook and Twitter. Even the words we send in text messages or emails. Every single word.

You notice Jesus doesn’t say we will have to give an account for the important words we speak. He says, “every careless word.” The word used for careless is also translated as idle or useless. Every word, no matter how insignificant you think it is. The all-knowing God we talked about this morning, knows every word we’ve ever spoken.

And here’s the thing. Just one ungodly word is enough to condemn us. Which of course means, all of us should be condemned for our words.

Well there are three words, uttered by the Lord Jesus Christ, that supersede every careless word I’ve ever spoken. Those three words are “It. Is. Finished.” After having lived the perfect life, after having only used his words in a way that glorified God, Jesus went to the cross. And when he hung on that cross, he died even for the sins of our speech. And He rose three days later.

And for those of us who put our faith in Christ, yes, there are edifying words we’ve spoken that are fruit of our relationship with Christ. And those words will testify in our favor. But we would still be condemned by all the other words. And praise God that the blood of the Lord Jesus covers those words. If you don’t know Jesus, turn away from your sins and trust in the only one who can forgive you for all of your sins, including the sins of your speech.

So as believers, though we won’t be condemned for our words, we’ll still be held accountable for them. We’ll still have to answer to God for them and we can lose rewards in Heaven.

Stewardship

Some of us are very careful with our money. We make budgets, we balance our checkbooks, we keep our receipts, and we look at our online billing statements. Because we know a lot is at stake. We know we have to steward our money well.

Well that same kind of carefulness, and calculation should be applied to the way we use our words. Because a lot is at stake. And we will answer to God for every one of our words. We should be good stewards of the words we use.

Our words are like hammers. We can recklessly swing them around and break stuff. Or we can use them carefully build stuff. How will you use your words this week? How we used our words this past week will probably show us how we might use them this coming week, unless something changes.

So I want to give three ways that we can use our words well.

I. Talk to God

Of the 16,000 words we use every day, we would be wise to use many of those in conversation with God. Jesus has given us access to the Father, and we should come boldly before His throne often. Our spouses may have problems with being good listeners, but God doesn’t. He always hears our prayers. In fact, He listens very closely.

Often when we’re going through something difficult, the first thing we do is just vent to friends of family. Or maybe we just rant about it out loud to ourselves. What a waste of words. Just last week, I was complaining to my wife about something that was just really bothering me and I was concerned about. And before agreeing or offering any counsel, she just asked me simply, “Have you been praying about it?” And the answer was no. I should have been talking to God about it. That would have been a far better use of my words.

Often venting does nothing more than make us madder. It’s a waste of words sometimes. But talking to God is never a waste of words. There’s no better use of your words. We’re not in control, but He is. So when we need help, instead of just being mad, we should just talk to the One who’s in charge. And if it’s good for us and for His glory, He will grant us our request.

Some of us may be confrontational. And when we have issues with someone, we go right to the person to take care of it. We should remember that talking to God about the situation is more important and effective than talking to the other person. Talk to God about your relational issues before you talk to the other person. Ask Him for help and grace and wisdom. Allow the weight of talking to your Creator to sober you and help you think more clearly.

And we shouldn’t only use our words to ask God for stuff. This is why we have a prayer of praise every Sunday morning. We should just praise Him some times. We should be coming up with unique ways to sing His praises. More than just, “He is good. Thank you God.” The heart that is saturated with love for God finds new ways and new reasons to praise God every day. He is worthy of our praise.

II. Tell the Good News

I can’t think of anything better to tell another person, than the Good News. God has spoken in these last days through His Son Jesus Christ. And we should tell others about Him and what He’s done.

Romans 10 tells us that, “Faith comes through hearing and hearing through the Word of Christ.” This is how God saves men and women. When they hear the Gospel and receive it by faith.

I want you to think for a moment about what person in your life needs to hear the Gospel. Is it a family member, a colleague, a neighbor, a barber, a doctor? What person in your life needs to hear the Gospel?

It’s good for us to use our words to build relationships and common ground with our non-Christian friends. It’s good for them to know you care about them. But it’s devastating if we never actually get around to sharing the Gospel with them. It would be devastating if we had 10 conversations about politics, but not one about the Gospel. It would be devastating if we had weekly conversations about sports, but never had any conversations about Jesus. And I’m talking about myself.

Recently, I had family members die. And whenever that happens, it reminds me, that some times it’s good to wait, but sometimes I need to tell folks about Jesus right now. I know my disobedience can’t thwart God’s plans, but that doesn’t mean I should be disobedient. And by all means, follow the leading of the Spirit, but know that He never leads us to put off stuff that needs to be said now. Tell the Good News.

This doesn’t mean that should be our only interaction with non-Christians. But it does mean that it needs to happen. Maybe we should bring them to church and use the sermon as a launching to pad to talk about it. Maybe we point them to a good book or cd that talks about the Gospel (ahem, mine). Find a way to tell the Gospel.

III. Build Up Others (G- Grace)

Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. (Ephesians 4:29)

That should be the overall guiding principle for our words to other people. Only what is helpful for building others up. Like I said earlier, our words are like hammers. We can break stuff or build stuff. And there are tons of ways to build others up.

Jesus tells us that man does not live off bread alone, but every word that proceeds from the mouth of God. God has spoken precious words. And we should be echoing those precious words to each other every chance we get.

One way is encouragement. I think this is something CHBC does exceptionally well. It actually caught me and my wife off guard when we first came. “Did they just encourage me about the question I asked?” Up under this encouragement is affirmation. Affirm others. Tell them when you see evidences of God’s grace in their lives. Affirm your love for them. Affirm God’s love for them.

Another way is challenging one another. We shouldn’t think “build up” means the same as cute, inspirational sounding words. Sometimes build up looks like rebuke, or correction. Sometimes it looks like challenging a brother or sister and calling them to repent of a sin. This is one of the things we have made a commitment to each other to do – to walk with each other through good times and rough times.

And we happen to be going through a tumultuous time as a church right now. And we need both encouragement and challenging words. Encourage your brothers and sisters in the Gospel. Remind them of God’s sovereignty and His goodness and His promises. And also challenge your brothers and sisters to fight the good fight of faith, to persevere in trusting Jesus. We need that.

Another way you can build others up is by giving good counsel. The most mature decision makers are those who don’t make decisions in isolation. Be available to hear about what’s going on in your brother or sister’s life. And help them think through how God would have them respond. And give biblical counsel.

On the one hand, as a church, we do a great job of having good spiritual conversations. On the other hand, we shouldn’t be afraid to talk about things other than Jesus. We can talk about life, and we can talk about sports, just do it in a way that glorifies God.

Some of you need to stop talking so much and others need to start talking more. Some of us need to be quicker to hear. Some of us never use any words. And we need to do more. Speak up. God is working in your life and we want to hear about it. Let all your words be characterized by love. My prayer is that CHBC would be a church characterized by loving words.

Conclusion

As you seek to apply what you’ve heard tonight, don’t make the mistake of just trying to keep track of what you say and just trying to do better. Don’t just tackle this only on the outside.

As we see earlier in the text, what’s stored up in our hearts comes out. We should not think there is a disconnect between the heart and the tongue. So store up good things in your heart and watch them overflow. And when we do that, here is how we should be striving to use our words.

The real way to watch your words is to watch your hearts because they are so closely connected. There is a direct line from the heart to the tongue. Watch your heart, and by doing that, watch your Words. And do all of this by watching the Word.

SHARES

7 comments

  1. manicleReply

    this is extremely awesome. if only everyone would read, understand and follow the rules, the world would be a better place to live in.

  2. RitaReply

    This was an on time lesson for me. Were talking about this very subject tonight at bible study. Thank God for drawing me to your website and Thank God for using you to explain His word in a way that was clear and easily understood.

    God Bless your Service!

  3. BarbaraReply

    Words are indeed important. Good info. Please take time to visit my website for God has also given me a ministry to teach others about the importance of words.

  4. Mention: Words are at least half the human reality if not the most

  5. Mention: 2016 In Review – My Job Hunting Experience | The SharePoint Effect