等待, 之旅 - 没有你退休?

几个月前,我宣布一个全新的专辑让大家大吃一惊, “上升.” 你不明白这是多么艰难我的标签之前保持安静一下吧,我去公共. 这张专辑曾在工作了一年多, 我迫不及待地告诉大家 - 尤其是那些谁保持的时候我一度下探新的东西问.

响应至今一直深受鼓舞. 我很惊讶,人们继续支持我,即使我已经很安静了过去两年. 你的爱和激情只增加矿.

提前退休

一,我不会感到惊讶的答复是这一个: “等待, 我还以为你退休?“这是遵循我身边像影子一样的问题. 我在讨论它 面试, 鸣叫, 和 博客文章, 但我知道它仍然不清楚一些. 让我继续尝试设置打抱不平: 我从来没有退役.

在 2012, 我宣布,我会“,从音乐踏步而去。”是的, 我知道这听起​​来退休杂交, 但我故意没有使用这个词. 我一直是故意模糊的,因为我不是 100% 相信这将是什么样子.

我知道这是可能的,“好日子”是我的最后一张专辑, 但我不知道. 下面是我知道的: 将有一个巨大的转变优先级,将彻底改变我如何与音乐. 我也不会与我的同胞司仪的道路上尽可能多. 我不能够炮制出一堆新的音乐. 我不会是一个全职的说唱歌手. 我知道我想帮助牧师上帝的教会.

从那之后, 我在我在华盛顿特区的教堂已服务. 在不同的田园角色. 我做行政工作, 说教和教学, 青年事工, 婚姻辅导, 等等. 我去个月没有做任何节目或写一首歌的单杆,因为教会的责任. 我甚至坐了 2013 毫无顾忌之旅. 虽然我错过了创造新的音乐, 我爱我一直在做什么. 健康问题使人们在充满挑战的时代, 但它一直是一个有益的赛季我和我家人.

新专辑

专职牧养事工的第一年后, 我决定慢慢地开始一个新的记录工作. 我的创意果汁已经瓶装了, 我正准备去. 但是,而不是不停的写作和记录的五6个月爆, 这张专辑是缓慢而稳定的,因为音乐是不是我的全职工作. 制定出伟大的,因为我可以慢慢的手艺每首歌曲, 得到它接近完美尽可能.

我决定这个时候一个生产者工作, 而不是从很多不同的球员接受提交的轨道. 当我把想法Gawvi他爱它, 我们相互推搡,使一些令人难以置信. 我到亚特兰大提出的每项行程是至关重要的,因为它是如此难以从家庭和教会的职责脱身. 但在这里我们是在一年后, 这几乎出!

我知道有些人还在困惑什么,从我期待未来. 有我许多的未知数, 但我会告诉你我所知道:

– 我还是想成为一名牧师.
– 我还是想做音乐.
– 我还是想前往说唱并讲话.
– 我还是想写书.

而我试图找出如何,或者如果可以做所有这些事情在荣耀神的方法, 同时仍然忠实于我的家人和上帝的教会.

将 “上升” 是我的最后一张专辑? 它可能是, 但我希望不是. 目前, 我要享受的时刻,并与大家分享我认为是我最好的作品还没有. 因为发生了很多变化 2012, 但有一点是相同的: 耶稣是上帝, 我想用我的音乐来荣耀他.

分享

38 注释

  1. 托尼回复

    良好的一天,我的好兄弟? 它是你的激情和渴望的音乐仍然是流经你的血管,以及你希望通过说教来传播神的话语的东西真棒. 我能想象耗时的事情是如何与家人, 音乐, 部长等职务. 从特区出生于募集堡. 价值, 它是一个伟大的事情看哥哥我的树林颈部做上帝的工作在各个领域.

    谢谢你的音乐兄弟.

    尊敬,
    托尼

  2. MrAveryBrown回复

    旅行一直有意一致,他的教学方法,, 说教, 和音乐, 这鼓励了我,并继续鼓励我, 日常. 当最初的声明是在制造 2012, 我知道这是不是一个正式的 “退休”, 只是战略转移,专注于其他事情. 即使是现在, 他的微妙平衡的说教, 教学, 音乐, 和家人在一个真棒方式. 这就是为什么我会继续支持他的努力, 当他提到 “耶稣是上帝, 我想兑现他…” 我说, 继续去旅行, 你的生命, 音乐和事工意味深长, 超越阶段, 小, 或声音咬, 你的生活和你有意携带自己的方式, 意味深长.

  3. DavidQuinones回复

    李之旅…你的生命和激情为耶稣让我感到吃惊!! 你真的保佑我的心脏. 我是人谁爱可信的人,虽然我没有给你一个密切的关系, 该真实性出来,通过你的音乐和你的讯息. 两年前,我遇见了你在费城凯琳大学,这是一个改变人生的经历… 我的梦想是与你一天工作部和音乐…. 保持信心我的朋友!!!

  4. MattShafer回复

    我很高兴你回来做音乐,但, 比那更多的, 我很高兴,你跟随上帝要你走的路. 你的音乐, 图书, 和消息已经得到了极大的抬升对我来说,在过去的几年. 非常感谢你对那些. 你在我的祈祷.

  5. VICTORKHIZ回复

    是! 感谢您对本博客文章TRIP! 这是令人鼓舞的,你是仍然是开放的做音乐,但在同一时间在忠于部在教堂. 你是个天才的DUDE. 我期待着听到您的LIVE再次. 为你祈祷.

  6. 回复

    旅, 我也很高兴你决定让神再次使用你的音乐. 我很喜欢他的作品, 我很高兴我很快将有更多相关的音乐来赞美上帝. 旅, 你一直这样的鼓励, 不仅年轻, 但对年轻的心脏, 而那些在世界各地. 我希望我的儿子原来是合神自己的心脏男人, 如你自己, 并且,他将让上帝用他在各个方面可能. 重要的是,我们的年轻人面前有一个敬虔的榜样. 继续做上帝的旨意. 我相信,通过保持听话, 上帝会告诉自己,带来医治你. 祝福!
    Ť. 霍姆斯

  7. 罗伯特五月回复

    我很高兴地看到,你是纪律足以慢慢地做音乐,坚定不移地为你的家人和上帝的教会. 不能等待,虽然听你的相册.

  8. 尊重回复

    WOOW这是真棒Trip.I不能等待崛起出来soon.I definetly认为这张专辑是要碰了不少people.Your音乐的启发me.Continue兑现主为你做.
    祝福所有来自新西兰的方式!

  9. 隆美尔阿朗佐回复

    哎旅行,

    我非常崇拜你老兄! 正如有人谁是工程的博士生, 青年牧师和崇拜的领导者除其他事项外, 你努力寻找一种方法来使用上帝给你鼓舞了我的才华不是在寻找良好的生活放弃. 当我听到你的新专辑的标题, 我知道这是上帝在告诉我是时候醒了,并没有放弃对他的寻找良好的生活方式. 即使我失败, 你的音乐让我想起他不会. 感谢您的音乐和你把自己通过简单地得到消息出来的斗争.

    非常喜欢

  10. 莎拉回复

    你很尊重, 李之旅. 你是神人. 你一直是我最喜欢的说唱歌手之一,我不能快乐,你要发布新的音乐,同时履行你的职责,以你的家人和教会.

    我有这么多感谢上帝的这一事实,像你这样的艺术家存在. 您, 通过神, 为我提供了这么多的灵感都在我的斗争和胜利之中, 为此,我想表达我诚挚的谢意. 这是我的一个梦想,看看你在演唱会, 无论是你访问新西兰或由我前往美国为你的节目之一! 上帝保佑和许多爱你和你的美好的家庭.

  11. 布兰登回复

    我总是激起和旅行的艺术鼓励. 我赞美上帝为兄弟. 我希望他移动到亚特兰大,所以我们可以建立.

  12. ErickCorral回复

    我不能等待这张新专辑. 我开始听基督教嘻哈 2013. 我听说首先艺术家是Lecrae. 我就迷上了,因为我第一次听到教堂衣服. 随着时间的流逝,我开始了解安迪·米尼奥, KB, 李之旅, 特希等. 所有这些家伙’ 音乐改变了我的生活. 完全改变了我对音乐的品位,也鼓励我更多地参与与我的信仰. 谢谢跳闸,其余的 116. 我希望我能尽快看到你在演唱会. 上帝保佑.

  13. CB回复

    旅, 因为你不在音乐, 我注意到你的方法极端差你们的信 & 从其他事业 116 艺术家. 我已经能够看到 & 通过你的旅程觉得是在父亲的手中柔韧一直是你的首要任务 (不是说是不为别的艺术家真). 我很佩服你,你已经走了你追求自己的目标的方式. 我很自豪能够成为你的粉丝 & 太激动了,有新的音乐从你. 我祈祷以赛亚 60:1-2 在你 & 你的家人, 因为我觉得上升到神的荣耀的照耀到你的生活, 是你一直在做什么,在过去几年中. 敬礼!
    #问心无愧

  14. JoshuaDenim回复

    我很高兴为你老兄. 我知道你会做什么上帝是问你. 但是,你说这是你最好的作品yet..I'm真的很高兴听到上帝一直通过音乐铺设在你的心脏. 上帝保佑你的人,感谢教我所有你拥有的东西通过你的音乐.

    PS – 20/20 是BOSS!! 大声笑

    -JoshuaDenim

  15. AustinRoberts回复

    旅, 我很高兴知道你已经创建了一个新专辑. 我更高兴,因为你走下音乐一边一会儿事实专注于事情在你的个人生活, 你觉得远远其中更重要. 多年来,我抬头向你以及一些你的同胞司仪的,因为如果我没有开始听, 大多数称之为纯粹的歌词, 我宁愿打电话给你的话, 或歌曲,而, 抒情的证词和临场指挥. 之前听你的音乐, 我是在黑暗的地方. 我从上帝的怀抱远远没有. 你的音乐, 以及其他艺术家, 使我更接近神,并促使我完善自己. 我感谢你以及其他司仪在类别启发我,激励我更接近神. 我支持你,你做什么,因为你不这样做你为自己做的事情. 没有. 你做他们在耶和华的名,我尊重这么多. 继续做你做的事情. 上帝没有这样做与您合作还. 上帝保佑.

  16. DrowningInGrace回复

    我赞美上帝为你的勤奋和奉献精神,以他的话. 花费在您的相册的时间是在迄今已公布的曲目明显. 我爱你的工作和事工,并期待着神通过你在商店为基督的身体.
    格雷斯与和平.

  17. 朱莉娅镀铜回复

    旅–

    我最近 (4 几天前) 刚才看到你的演唱会在盐湖城, OUT. 我绝对喜欢的方式,你在你的歌声如此透明. 你传福音如此明确, 谢谢. 非常感谢您在耶稣的名带来希望世界. 爱你!

    –朱莉娅

  18. tamsyn回复

    嗨特里普·李. 我很喜欢你的歌甜蜜的胜利. 我爱你的歌词的真实性. 它真的帮我觉得还有谁可以和我的斗争作为一个基督徒真诚的人有关. 导致其不容易. 目睹神如何使用您因服从, 即不顾伤痛忠于- 双方鼓励和挑战,我不要敲出, 但硬逼on.Christ洙骄傲的U. 上帝保佑! Tamsyn, 南非

  19. JesiliaLeaupepe回复

    我丈夫和我很高兴为这张新专辑,并听取了已被释放,从而远离崛起每首歌. 你就可以得到兄弟伟大的东西. 我们很高兴通过购买你的新专辑来支持你. (顺便一提, 你是一个巨大的鼓舞我的丈夫. 他是一个大风扇的你,从说唱, 买你的书, 并欣赏你的妻子和孩子,以及如何你的爱,你显示它在采访中所有的时间).

    上帝保佑你老兄. 愿上帝继续给予你力量,你需要处理所有的责任. 支持您从海湾加州一路.

    -该Leaupepe的.

  20. 提到: 耶稣基督帝国 | 基督教说唱歌手李之旅球迷讲述“我从来没有退休’ 从嘻哈游戏

  21. 提到: 特里普·李说,他从来没有从音乐退休 | BCNN1 WP

  22. 比利回复

    兄弟我刚刚下载您的相册和maaaannnn某些歌曲几乎将我热泪盈眶. 感谢您reppin主的人,你都一直在我的生命一个巨大的祝福,给我带来了更接近耶稣与你的音乐. #116

Wait, Trip — Didn’t You Retire?

A couple months ago I surprised everyone by announcing a brand new album, “Rise.” You don’t understand how hard it was to keep quiet about it before my label and I went public. The album had been in the works for over a year, and I couldn’t wait to tell everyone — especially those who kept asking when I was dropping something new.

The response so far has been deeply encouraging. I’m amazed that people have continued to support me even though I’ve been pretty quiet for the last two years. Your love and excitement has only increased mine.

Early Retirement

One of the responses I wasn’t surprise by was this one: “Wait, I thought you retired?” This is the question that follows me around like a shadow. I’ve addressed it in interviews, tweets, and blog posts, but I know it’s still unclear to some. Let me continue to try to set the record straight: I never retired.

In 2012, I announced that I’d be “stepping away from music.” Yes, I know that sounds retirement-ish, but I purposely didn’t use that word. I kept it intentionally vague because I wasn’t 100% sure what it would look like.

I knew it was possible that “The Good Life” was my last album, but I wasn’t sure. Here’s what I did know: there would be a huge priority shift that would drastically change how I related to music. I wouldn’t be out on the road with my fellow emcees as much. I wouldn’t be able to crank out a bunch of new music. I wouldn’t be a full time rapper. I knew I wanted to help pastor God’s church.

Since that time, I’ve been serving at my church in Washington D.C. in various pastoral roles. I’ve done admin work, preaching and teaching, youth ministry, marital counseling, etc. I went months without doing any shows or writing a single bar of a song because of church responsibilities. I even sat out the 2013 Unashamed Tour. And though I missed creating new music, I love what I’ve been doing. Health issues have made it challenging at times, but it’s been a rewarding season for my family and me.

New Album

After that first year of full-time pastoral ministry, I decided to slowly begin working on a new record. My creative juices had been bottled up, and I was ready to go. But instead of a five or six month burst of non-stop writing and recording, this album was slow and steady since music wasn’t my full time job. That worked out great because I could slowly craft each song, and get it as close to perfection as possible.

I decided to work with one producer this time, instead of accepting track submissions from a bunch of different guys. When I brought the idea to Gawvi he loved it, and we pushed each other to make something incredible. Every trip I made to Atlanta was crucial because it was so hard to get away from family and church duties. But here we are over a year later, and it’s almost out!

I know some people are still confused about what to expect from me in the future. There are many unknowns for me, but I’ll tell you what I do know:

– I still want to be a pastor.
– I still want to do music.
– I still want to travel to rap and speak.
– I still want to write books.

And I’m trying to find out how or if I can do all of those things in a way that honors God, while still being faithful to my family and God’s church.

Will “Rise” be my last album? It could be, but I hope not. For now, I want to enjoy the moment and share with you all what I think is my best work yet. A lot has changed since 2012, but one thing remains the same: Jesus is Lord, and I want to honor Him with my music.

SHARES

38 comments

  1. TonyReply

    Good Day my good brother? Its an awesome thing that your passion and desire for music is still flowing through your veins as well as your desire to spread God’s word through sermons. I can imagine how time consuming things are with family, music, ministerial duties etc. Born from D.C and raised in Ft. Worth, its a great thing to see a brother from my neck of the woods doing God’s work in every area.

    Thanks for the music brother.

    Respectfully,
    Tony

  2. MrAveryBrownReply

    Trip has always been intentionally consistent in his approach to teaching, preaching, and music, which has encouraged me and continues to encourage me, daily. When the initial announcement was made in 2012, I knew it wasn’t an official “retirement”, just a strategic shift to focus on other things. Even now, he’s delicately balancing preaching, teaching, music, and family in an awesome way. That’s why I’ll continue to support him in his endeavors, and as he mentioned “Jesus is Lord, and I want to honor Him…” I say, keep going Trip, your life, music and ministry speaks volumes, beyond a stage, a mic, or a sound bite, your life and the way you intentionally carry yourself, speaks volumes.

  3. DavidQuinonesReply

    Trip lee…your life and passion for Jesus amazes me!! You really bless my heart. i am someone who loves authentic people and though i do not have a close relationship to you, that authenticity comes out through your music and your messages. i met you in Philadelphia at Carin University two years ago and it was a life-changing experience… my dream is to one day work with you in ministry and in music…. keep the faith my friend!!!

  4. MattShaferReply

    I’m glad you’re back making music but, more than that, I’m glad that you’re following the way the Lord wants you to go. Your music, books, and messages have been a great uplift to me over the past couple of years. Thank you so much for those. You’re in my prayers.

  5. Michael JimenezReply

    Trip you’re an inspiration to all of us Christian Rappers. We support every and any decisions you make. Keep it

  6. VICTORKHIZReply

    YES! THANK YOU FOR THIS BLOG POST TRIP! IT’S ENCOURAGING TO SEE THAT YOU ARE STILL OPEN TO MAKING MUSIC BUT AT THE SAME TIME ARE STAYING FAITHFUL TO THE MINISTRY IN THE CHURCH. YOU ARE ONE TALENTED DUDE. I LOOK FORWARD TO HEARING YOU LIVE ONCE AGAIN. PRAYING FOR YOU.

  7. TeriaReply

    Trip, I am do glad you decided to allow God to use you in music once again. I love his work, and I am happy that soon I will have more relevant tunes to praise God to. Trip, you have been such an encouragement, not only to the young, but to the young at heart, and those across the world. I hope my son turns out to be a man after God’s own heart, such as yourself, and that he will allow God to use him in everyway possible. It is important that our young men have a Godly example before them. Keep doing the will of God. I believe that by staying obedient, God will show himself and bring healing to you. Be blessed!
    T. Holmes

  8. AndrewReply

    I love how Trip Lee is doing what the Lord has called him to do. He is following the Lord and honoring him with his music. Keep doing what the Lord has called you to do.

  9. Robert MayReply

    I am very excited to see that you are disciplined enough to slowly do music and be fully committed to your family and God’s Church. Can’t wait to hear your album though.

  10. KudzReply

    Woow this is awesome Trip.I cannot wait for Rise to come out soon.I definetly think this album is going to touch a lot of people.Your music inspires me.Continue to honour the Lord as you do.
    Blessings all the way from New Zealand!

  11. RommelAlonzoReply

    hey Trip,

    I really look up to you bro! As someone who is a PhD student in engineering, a youth pastor and a worship leader amongst other things, you’re struggle to find a way to use the talents God has given you has inspired me not to give up in finding the Good life. As soon as I heard the title of your new album, I knew this was God’s way of tellin me it’s time to wake up and to not give up on finding the Good life in him. Even if I fail, your music reminds me that he won’t. Thanks for your music and for the struggle you put yourself through to simply get the message out.

    Much Love

  12. SarahReply

    Much respect for you, Trip Lee. You’re a man of God. You’ve always been one of my favourite rappers and I couldn’t be happier that you’re releasing new music whilst fulfilling your duties to your family and church.

    I have so much gratitude to God for that fact that artists like you exist. You, through God, have provided me so much inspiration in the midst of both my struggles and triumphs, and for that I’d like to show my sincere appreciation. It’s one of my dreams to see you in concert, either by you visiting New Zealand or by me travelling to the US for one of your shows! God bless and much love to you and your beautiful family.

  13. AshleyReply

    Awesome Trip! Keep going where He leads you…and please share all of your amazing experiences with us as you go!

  14. BrandonReply

    I am always stirred up and encouraged by Trip’s artistry. I praise God for that brother. I hope he moves to Atlanta so we can build.

  15. ErickCorralReply

    I can’t wait for this new album. I Started listening to Christian hip hop in 2013. First artist I heard was Lecrae. I was hooked since I first heard Church Clothes. Time went by and I started to find out about Andy Mineo, KB, Trip Lee, Tedashii and so on. All of these guys’ music has changed my life. Totally changed my taste in music and also encouraged me to get more involved with my faith. Thank you Trip and the rest of 116. I hope I get to see you in concert soon. God Bless.

  16. CBReply

    Trip, as you were out of music, I noticed an extreme difference in your approach to your faith & career from other 116 artists. I have been able to see & feel through your journey that being pliable in the hands of the Father has been your number one priority (not saying that isn’t true for the other artists). I admire you for the way that you’ve gone about your pursuit of your goals. I’m proud to be a fan of yours & SO EXCITED that there’s new music from you. I am praying Isaiah 60:1-2 over you & your family, as I feel that RISING to the glory of God that’s shining into your life, is what you’ve been doing over the last years. Salute!
    #Unashamed

  17. JoshuaDenimReply

    I’m happy for you bro. I know you’ll do whatever God is asking of you. But for you to say this is your best work yet..I’m really excited to hear what God has been laying on your heart through the music. God bless you man and thanks for teaching me all the things you have through you music.

    PS – 20/20 was BOSS!! Lol

    -JoshuaDenim

  18. AustinRobertsReply

    Trip, I’m happy to know you have created a new album. I’m more happy as to the fact you stepped side from music for a while to focus on things in your personal life, that you felt were far more important in which the were. For years I have looked up to you as well as a few of your fellow emcees because if I hadn’t began listening to, what most would call mere lyrics, I would much rather call your words, or songs rather, lyrical testimonies and preachings. Before hearing your music, I was in a dark place. I had fallen far from the arms of God. Your music, as well as other artists, brought me closer to God and motivated me to better myself. I thank you as well as other emcees in your category for inspiring me and motivating me to come closer to God. I support you and what you do because you don’t do the things you do for yourself. No. You do them in the name of the Lord and I respect that so much. Keep on doing the things you do. God isn’t done working with you yet. God bless.

  19. LIllianReply

    Took the words right out of my mouth. I’m proud of you, Trip, and excited for everything you’re doin. :) Keep it up!

  20. GabeTavianoReply

    Some just didn’t catch your words of prophecy, that you weren’t just referring to God being on his Brett Favre.

  21. DrowningInGraceReply

    I praise God for your diligence and dedication to His word. The time spent on your album is evident in the tracks that have been released so far. I love your work and ministry and look forward to what God has in store for the Body of Christ through you.
    Grace and Peace.

  22. Julia RiebReply

    Trip–

    I recently (4 days ago) just saw you in concert in Salt Lake City, UT. I absolutely loved the way you were so transparent in your songs. You preached the gospel so clearly, thank you. Thanks so much for bringing hope to the world in the name of Jesus. Love you!

    –Julia

  23. tamsynReply

    Hi Trip Lee. I love your song sweet victory. I love the authenticity of your lyrics. Its really helped me feel like there are people who can sincerely relate with my struggles as a Christian. Cause its not easy. Witnessing how Gods used you due to obedience, ie remaining faithful despite the pain- both encourages and challenges me not to tap out, but to keep pressing on.Christ is soo proud of U. God Bless! Tamsyn, South Africa

  24. JesiliaLeaupepeReply

    My husband and I are excited for this new album and have listened to every song that has been released so far from Rise. You got great stuff on it bro. We’re glad to be supporting you by buying your new album. (By the way, you’re a HUGE inspiration to my husband. He’s a big fan of yours-from rapping, to buying your book, and to admiring your love for your wife and kids and how you display it all the time in interviews).

    God bless you bro. May God continue to grant you the strength you need to deal with all your responsibilities. Supporting you all the way from the Bay in California.

    -the Leaupepe’s.

  25. Mention: Jesus Christ Empire | Christian Rapper Trip Lee Tells Fans ‘I Never Retired’ From the Hip Hop Game

  26. Mention: Trip Lee Says He Never Retired from Music | BCNN1 WP

  27. BillyReply

    Bro I just downloaded your album and maaaannnn certain songs almost brought tears to my eyes. Thank you for reppin the Lord man you all have been a huge blessing in my life and brought me closer to Jesus with your music. #116

  28. AbigailReply

    I LOVE YOUR MUSIC TRIP!!!!! I love how you represent the gospel through your music. Thank you!! God Bless!!!