我是谁? 铂. 2: 采纳

此视频是从一个贝茨维尔现在弟子会议, 女士. 请原谅的视频和音频质量

简介

上次我们下了一些基础,在我们关于身份的讨论. 我们谈到是什么让身份重要; 主要是,如果我们不知道我们是谁, 我们不知道我们应该如何生活. 然后我们谈到了我们如何制作精美, 但破. 由于我们的破碎的我们从上帝,需要一个救世主的分离.

今天上午,我们要讨论的美丽真理,一个约被保存神, 这是采用. 在这一点上,虽然, 身份的转变讨论一点点. 所有我们谈到最后晚上 - 的事情,我们是神造的, 神所知道, 破碎, 和有需要的,是每个人都在地球上的真实. 我们要谈的事已至此事情是那些真正谁在基督里. 现在我们谈论的是我们的身份如何变化,当我们成为基督徒

最近我读到史蒂夫·乔布斯的传记, 创始人和富有远见的苹果背后, 最大的公司在全球. 这真的很有趣的阅读,因为他是个天才,一个疯狂的人在同一时间. 他的一生是很有趣的,从开始到结束.

他的生活开始了,当一个男人和女人见面, 有一个孩子才结婚, 并给了他收养. 这确实对他产生了强烈的冲击, 因为他总是感到被遗弃, 他后来放弃了自己的一个孩子.

但这个故事的有趣的部分是一个善良爱家来自加州收养了他. 他们真的把他和对待他就像自己的儿子. 他的父亲是一名工程师,并给了他精心设计的东西升值. 和他的父母取得了很大的牺牲给他的每一个机会成功.

现在,他成功的很大一部分曾与谁通过他的人做. 他们字形他. 他们甚至容纳了他的每心血来潮促成了他的态度和信念,他可以做任何事情发生.

收养美丽的事情是,谁没有责任给别人的人决定采取对责任. 他们看到一个孩子无关提供, 他们提供了他自己所拥有的一切. 孩子是有需要的,他们同意满足这些需求. 他们没有义务这样做, 但他们这样做是出于好意.

上帝的收养人喜欢你和我在很多方面是相似的. 上帝没有采纳我们. 上帝没有义务. 我们什么都没有向他提供. 我们拼命贫困, 神答应满足这些需求.

但最大的区别是,上帝没有采用随机的孩子,他会见. 上帝是采用谁冒犯了他的反政府武装. 上帝是采用罪犯. 上帝是采用美丽的,但破碎的罪人. 有没有采取像神一样的,因为没有爱像他.

让我们来看看约翰· 1:10 开始我们在一起的时间.

“他是世界上, 世界也是借着他造的, 但世界上没有不认识他. 他来到自己的, 而他自己的人没有得到他. 但所有谁没有接受他, 谁信他的名, 他给了,成为神的儿女。, 谁出生, 血也不是没有肉体的意志也不是人的意志, 但神“。 (约翰 1:10-13)

一世. 出生在他的家人

在一个像我们这样一个国家最常见的假设是,每个人都是上帝的孩子. 但是,这不是圣经的教导. 圣经教导我们,当我们出生, 我们不是神的儿女, 但神的敌人. 而圣经教导的东西更可怕, 我们刚出生魔鬼的孩子. 这并不意味着我们有角, 但是,我们正在按照魔鬼和我们的行动看起来更像他比神一样的.

现在很多人现在会说,听起来很可笑和不宽容. “当然,我们是上帝的孩子,“他们可能会说. 好, 是, 我们都被上帝在这个意义上做我们他的后代, 但圣经意味着这么多,当谈到神的是儿童. 这是孩子的亲生父亲之间类似的差别, 而不是在他们的生活其实是, 相比于被别人的爸爸, 爱他们, 和他们一起玩, 和照顾他们的需要.

它不象出生到你的家人, 这通常会自动发生. 必须有一个变化, 新生, 转换. 你不是上帝的儿子或女儿,因为你的父母, 或者是因为你的朋友, 或者是因为你想成为.

如果我们要成为神的儿子或女儿, 我们要通过他家庭. 但如何发生的呢?

如果你认为自己是一个基督徒, 我要你问自己,为什么. 时不时地,我会在飞机上, 我会问旁边的人我不管他们是否有与神的关系. 他们通常会说是的, 我会问他们为什么. 我会问他们什么基础上? 难道是走了一个过道, 或重复祷告, 或阅读一首诗?

我们刚才读的诗句说清楚漂亮, “所有谁没有接受他, 谁信他的名, 他给了,成为神的儿女。…“成为神的孩子,当你接受耶稣情况. 你如何接受耶稣? 在他的名字相信.

所以,想象一下上帝这个富有的慈善家谁提供采用每个人在地球上为他的孩子. 他问的唯一的事情是,你凭着信心接受他的儿子. 而你在家庭.

这意味着什么?

现在,我们注意到,他不只是说“相信在他的教学.“ 他说 ”相信在他的名字.” There is a very big difference between believing in someone’s teaching and trusting in an actual individual. 约翰说,接受耶稣在他名字命名的个人,相信信任, 一切他透露自己是.

所以朋友, 我想让你知道,这是不够的,你说, “我相信在一些耶稣的教导, 我认为,我们应该彼此相爱, 我认为我们应该去教堂。“约翰是说收到了他的名字的含义相信! 把你相信耶稣. 所有耶稣.

到底, 有两种人,当谈到耶稣: 这些谁拒绝他,因为他们喜欢黑暗,谁信他的名字.

“我已经进入世界的光, 使信我的人可能不会留在黑暗中。” (约翰 12:46)

什么是真正的信仰?

有时候,我们认为信心是与耶稣有关的一些事实同意. 我知道这是我的想法. 但信心其实是信任他. 它知道的事实有关他是谁,他做了什么, 这些事实同意, 和信任他们,投注在他们的生活.

你有没有赌本你的生活? 你有没有舍得扔一切的认识基督?

新生

你注意到他告诉我们一点关于它的意思是神的孩子, describing them as those “who were born, 血也不是没有肉体的意志也不是人的意志, 但神“。

他说,如果我们要成为神的儿女, 我们必须重生. 这意味着我们取得了新的. 我们的旧死亡. 我们第一次出生的我们是不对的, 所以我们需要重新进行所有的诞生.

约翰希望我们知道这胎比我们的第一个不同. 他给几个预选赛,以确保我们明白,. “的不是血” - 他想让我们知道,这已无关,与自然的血统或祖先. “不是肉” - 他想让我们知道它并不与人类性欲起源. “也不是人的意志” - 他想让我们知道,这个出生不是由男人发起. 这个新诞生的神!

重生的不只是一个短语,人们想出了. 这是一个现实对于那些谁已经在基督里值得信赖. 而且它是改变了一切成为现实. 上帝给你一个新的心脏, 还有眼睛看他, 他的灵住在你. 你是一个全新的生物.

你将永远无法得到过去罪的假设是​​错误的假设. 您是脱胎换骨,成为神的家新造的人.

新的东西出现. 你不喜欢其他人了, 所以停止试图像他们一样. 你已经加入了一个新的团队,新的目标. 我们也必须认识到,与新诞生, 我们已经采取了入家庭. 所以,你有家庭成员, 兄弟姐妹在信仰. 爱他们. 鼓励他们. 我们在这里互相帮助跟随耶稣.

二. 像对待他的儿子

当一个家庭有人采用, 他们竭尽全力,以确保被收养的孩子不觉得自己是被收养儿童. 他们不希望他们感到不同的,尴尬或者喜欢它们不属于. 相反,他们要像对待自己的其他孩子. 以同样的方式, 当神采用我们作为他的儿子和女儿, 他对待我们像他的独生子, 耶稣.

你听说过有人谈论一个信托基金,婴儿? 这是某人的父母有丰富, 和公正的事实,他们出生, 他们现在太丰富. 所以人们反感他们, 因为其他人都不得不努力工作,因为他们拥有的东西. 也许他们享受自己的家庭和自己的舒适, 但他们的工作他们的整个生活. 另一方面, 这个富家子从来没有过一天的工作在他的生活,但他做的比别人好. 他有没有做任何工作的所有优点.

精神上来说, 我们是信托基金的婴儿. 仅仅通过的事实,性质,我们已经得到了重生进入神的家, 我们得到的精神财富. 我们住出乎他的法律, 我们已经违背了他, 但是,当我们把我们的信仰基督,我们得到的所有好处耶稣所领受. 耶稣一切完成的工作被转移到美国.

让我们来谈谈一些那些事.

1. 义

“对于我们的缘故,他使他成为罪谁知道没有罪, 所以,在他,我们可能成为神的义“。 (2 科林蒂安 5:21)

耶稣交换的地方与我们. 他对待我们一样, 我们得到像对待他. 是不是很神奇? 当你被神采纳, 你见过他,没有正义就像一个肮脏, 毫无价值的罪人, 但作为义.

这就像一个人转出测试结果. 我们得到了A +,即使我们失败, 耶稣遭受未能处罚.

有时我知道什么时候我都没有在Word中的方式,我应该是, 或当我还没有与他人分享福音就像我应该是, 我开始觉得自己像上帝是我疯了. 然后,让我从祷告, 因为我觉得他并不想从我这里听到. 在那个时代是有帮助记得,当他收养了我, 他给我耶稣的义.

所以他不生我的气了; 他高兴,我在基督里. 我的罪他痛心, 但我在他家点永远不会改变. 我没做什么需要到那里, 并没有什么我能做到这将删除我. 我只需要保持信任和悔改.

这也释放了我从试图束缚取悦别人所有的时间. 我真的希望大家看得起我的奋斗. 而且大多数帮助我的事情是要记住,我不需要他们的批准, 因为我已经有上帝的. 我已经良好的信誉与他. 我有我需要的所有审批

这是一所监狱根据其他人的想法是什么,以你的生活. 神在基督认为你高, 所以让我们说是足够. 你有你需要的所有审批.

2. 永恒的生命

我们已经获得了永恒的死亡, 但在基督里,我们得到与神永远活着. 我们得到了丰盛的生命,生活,因为它本来是住. 我们得到住在国王的崇拜完美永远.

这样的生活是不是所有的,我们有. 我们为什么要那样生活? 我们忽略了事情经过事永恒和追逐,现在是令人愉快的事情. 但为什么? 这不是我们得到最好的. 这是我们这个地球荣耀神的时间,直到我们与他在天堂.

当我们认为这是所有我们得到我们必须尽我们所能来只是享受自己. 但是,当我们知道这只是预览,我们可以花时间在我们的永恒投资.

3. 父爱 & 关心

我爱我的儿子心疼. 我愿意为他做任何事. 神爱我们,并给我们绝对任何对我们有利. 所以记住,如果有什么东西你没有,现在, 这不是因为神不能给它. 这是因为它是对你不好.

那我们是神的儿女真对待这一事实进一步证明的事实是,我们永远无法从他的爱分开. 我们团结耶稣, 耶稣为我们带来了父. 因为我们在耶稣,我们永远不能与神隔绝.

题: 那么,谁能够离开他神的儿女? 回答: 没有人可以从他的爱隔绝神的儿女.

“因为我深信无论是死,是生, 是天使,也不是统治者, 是现在的东西来, 也没有权力, 也不是高处的, 什么也没有在所有其他创作, 将能够从我们的上帝在我们的主耶稣基督的爱隔绝。“ (罗马书 8:38-39)

有没有在所有的创作可以从神在基督里的爱隔绝. 我们是他的儿子和女儿.

当你是一个孩子, 你有没有想过让别人给你的东西, 然后尝试把它收回? 我姐姐用这样对我. 她将有什么事情,她并不很喜欢, 然后,她会把它给我. 这是垃圾给她. 所以我把它, 写我的名字就可以了, 享受它,它是我的. 现在好了,我有它,我真的很喜欢它, 现在她看着我享受它,她想回来. 呵呵? 好吧而在此之前我没有任何特殊的依恋它, 现在我做的. 这是我的. 我写这我的名字,并想出了有趣的方式发挥它. 这是与神相似. 现在,我们是他的, 他声称美国. 他说, “矿!“没有人可以从他和他的爱抢夺我们而去.

我们必须记住这一点,当我们经历艰难时期. 我们困难的时候没有人能与神的爱隔绝. 其实, 有时那段艰难的日子是事实证明了我们是神的儿女.

关系

神不只是给我们的东西, 但他给了我们自己. 当我们离开他的性满足后,将, 我们要离开真实的东西,寻找假货. 你可以与上帝见面,并从他每天都听到他的话. 他会听你的祷告,并回答他们. 如果你亲近他,他就会亲近你.

III. 符合他的儿子

他没有离开我们在什么地方. 他让我们更喜欢他. 所以他不仅对待我们像耶稣, 但他让我们像耶稣.

我们谈到了上帝的形象被造和被打破. 那么耶稣是上帝的完美形象, 神通过使我们像耶稣符合我们自己的形象. 我们开始像我们在家庭.

我们刚才谈到的那种信心的是愿意离开一切,在耶稣身上的一切赌. 当神采用我们, 他不留我们在什么地方.

我和一些同学谈论其他每天约在信耶稣, 一人说:, “我相信, 但我还是想有乐趣,有时. 这就是为什么我不总是喜欢被周围的基督徒。“可能有一些事情,相信的人, 但是那种信仰圣经呼吁的是在座的各位. 它改变了你看看你的罪的方式. 你从它转.

听听保罗说:

“你不知道,不义的人不能承受神的国? 不要被欺骗; 无论是淫乱, 拜偶像, 奸淫, 也不是男人谁练同性恋, 偷窃, 的,贪婪, 醉酒, 辱骂, 骗子也将继承神的国. 而这样的人你们中的一些. 但是你洗, 你成圣, 你在主耶稣基督的名,并借着我们神的灵是合理的。“ (1 科林蒂安 6:9-11)

这些东西都是 过去式. 我们没有这些事情了定义.

你会怎么做,如果你看到一个孩子告诉她的父母怎么办? 周围的房子爬来爬去订购她的父母? 你可能会认为她疯了! 为什么? 因为它们是父母, 但他们表现得像孩子. 伤心的汇入作业当人们有一定的权力和特权,但拒绝走在他们. 它是更疯狂的基督徒活在罪. 你有过罪恶权力,你已经被赋予了走在自由的特权. 为什么你会忽略了权力和走在奴隶制?

作为基督徒, 神已经使我们圣洁. 现在,我们正努力使我们的生活,以反映我们在基督里,每天谁. 如果你是在基督里你是不是骗子. 你是不是同性恋. 你是不是贼. 你是一个圣人. 那东西没有权力你了.

我不知道是什么人在这里奋斗的今天, 但要明白,一个状态改变已经发生,如果你在基督里是很重要. 我记得在我的基督徒生活的一个赛季,当我在罪恶的可怕循环被抓. 我觉得我是奴役我的罪. 和我的成长很大一部分被抓了这个道理: 我没有犯罪. 我已经从过去的奴役下解放出来

神最在意

上帝在你的生命在做的主要事情是让你的圣. 比他更是关心你的安慰, 他关心你的圣洁. 在希伯来书 12, 笔者谈到在我们的生活纪律. 有时候,人生会伤. 但很显然,当我们经历艰难时期, 这并不意味着神不爱我们. 实际上,他通过给我们艰难的时刻爱我们. 这一点,基本上是用这个词指的纪律训练. 上帝训练我们,使我们更加像耶稣. 他使​​我们圣洁.

这将是没有爱心的上帝不训练我们,使我们更加圣洁. 这将意味着,我们不是他的儿子. 有时候,他甚至抛出管教因为罪的我们的方式. 当你犯罪, 并有可怕的后果, 不要把它看作仅仅是巧合. 您应该考虑到神管教你,. 他向你展示什么孽带来, 他正在塑造你,使你更像基督. 这就像我们是骨瘦如柴, 和试验使我们的buff. 耶稣是完美的精神buffness, 上帝希望让我们像他一样.

归根结底,这是上帝的工作. 他确实是通过我们的努力,, 但如果你在基督里是他可以和会做. 所以,不要过分鼓励自己. 你可能觉得你不能改变自己, 这是真的. 走到哪里神应许他会改变你的地方.

结论

如果你是一个基督徒, 它知道你是谁,什么神的应许是对你很重要. 您已通过. 你是一个儿子或上帝的女儿.

我的儿子得到了许多好处,被我儿子. 我照顾他, 为他提供, 并确保他的喂. 这些相同的权限不提供给周围的随便一个孩子. 但是,这并不意味着你不能被采用.

福音是世界上最独特性和包容性消息. 这些祝福只是去一些, 但可供所有. 相信基督. 上帝会收养你. 他会给你你从来没有挣首先是一个与他的关系的东西.

讨论问题

1. 这有什么区别,如果我们是神的儿女?

2. 应我周围的人看到什么样的区别,如果我在神的家庭很?

3. 什么是你最感激关于是上帝的孩子?

4. 怎么,你已经脱离了罪的事实改变你战斗的方式?

5. 什么样的角色神的话语变得越来越像耶稣玩?

6. 你做什么,如果你不喜欢不断增长,你应该?

Who Am I? Pt. 2: Adopted

This video is from a Disciple Now conference in Batesville, MS. Please forgive the video and audio quality

Intro

Last time we laid some foundations in our discussion about identity. We talked about what makes identity important; mainly that if we don’t know who we are, we won’t know how we’re supposed to live. And then we talked about how we’re beautifully made, but broken. And because of our brokenness we’re separated from God and in need of a Savior.

This morning we’re going to discuss one of the beautiful truths about being saved by God, which is adoption. At this point though, the discussion of identity shifts a little bit. All the things we talked about last night— that we’re made by God, known by God, broken, and needy—are true of everybody on the Earth. The things we’re going to talk about now are things that are true of those who are in Christ. We’re now talking about how our identity changes when we become Christians

Recently I read a biography of Steve Jobs, the founder and visionary behind Apple, the biggest company in the world. It was really interesting to read because he was a genius and a crazy person at the same time. His life was really interesting from beginning to end.

His life began when a man and woman met, had a child before they got married, and gave him up for adoption. This really had a strong impact on him, because he always felt abandoned, and he later abandoned one of his own children.

But the interesting part of the story is that a kind and loving family from California adopted him. And they really took him in and treated him like their own son. His dad was an engineer and gave him an appreciation for well-crafted things. And his parents made great sacrifices to give him every chance to succeed.

Now a huge part of his success had to do with the people who adopted him. They shaped him. Even the way they accommodated his every whim contributed to his attitude and belief that he could make anything happen.

The beautiful thing about adoption is that people who have no responsibility to somebody decide to take on responsibility. They see a child has nothing to offer, and they offer him everything they have. The child is needy and they agree to meet those needs. They’re not obligated to do it, but they do it out of kindness.

God’s adoption of people like you and me is similar in many ways. God does not have to adopt us. God is not obligated. We have nothing to offer him. We are desperately needy, and God has promised to meet those needs.

But the big difference is that God is not adopting random kids he meets. God is adopting rebels who have offended him. God is adopting criminals. God is adopting beautiful but broken sinners. There’s no adoption like God’s because there is no love like His.

Let’s look at John 1:10 to start our time together.

“He was in the world, and the world was made through him, yet the world did not know him. He came to his own, and his own people did not receive him. But to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God, who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.” (John 1:10-13)

I. Born Into His Family

One of the most common assumptions in a country like ours is that everyone is a child of God. But that’s not what the Bible teaches. The Bible teaches that when we’re born, we’re not children of God, but enemies of God. And the Bible teaches something even more frightening, that we’re born children of the devil. This doesn’t mean that we have horns, but that we’re following the devil and that our actions look more like his than like God’s.

Now many people today would say that sounds ridiculous and intolerant. “Of course we’re all children of God,” they might say. Well, yes, we’re all made by God and in that sense we’re his offspring, but the Bible means so much more when it talks about being children of God. It’s similar to the difference between being a child’s biological father, but not actually being in their life, compared to being someone’s dad, loving them, playing with them, and taking care of their needs.

It’s not like being born into your family, which usually happens automatically. There has to be a change, a new birth, a conversion. You’re not a son or daughter of God because your parents are, or because your friends are, or because you want to be.

If we’re going to become a son or daughter of God, we have to be adopted into his family. But how does that happen?

If you consider yourself to be a Christian, I want you to ask yourself why. Every now and then I’ll be on a plane, and I’ll ask the people next to me whether or not they have a relationship with God. And they usually say yes, and I’ll ask them why. I’ll ask them what they base that on? Is it walking up an aisle, or repeating a prayer, or reading a verse?

The verse we just read says pretty clearly, “to all who did receive him, who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God…” Becoming a child of God happens when you receive Jesus. And how do you receive Jesus? By believing in his name.

So imagine God as this wealthy philanthropist who offers to adopt every single human being on the Earth as his child. And the only thing he asks is that you receive his son by faith. And you’re in the family.

What Does That Mean?

Now we notice he doesn’t just say “believing in his teaching.” He says “believing in his name.”  There is a very big difference between believing in someone’s teaching and trusting in an actual individual. John is saying that receiving Jesus is trusting in the individual—believing in his name, and everything he revealed himself to be.

So friends, I want you to know that it is not enough for you to say, “I believe in some of Jesus’ teaching, I believe we should love one another, I believe we should go to church.” John is saying receiving him means believing in his name! Putting your trust in Jesus. All of Jesus.

In the end, there are two kinds of people when it comes to Jesus: Those who reject him because they love darkness and those who believe in his name.

“I have come into the world as light, so that whoever believes in me may not remain in darkness.” (John 12:46)

What Is True Faith?

Sometimes we think that faith is agreeing with some facts about Jesus. I know that’s what I thought. But faith is actually trusting him. It’s knowing the facts about who he is and what he’s done, agreeing with those facts, and trusting them—betting your life on them.

Have you bet your life on this? Have you been willing to throw everything away to know Christ?

New Birth

You notice he tells us a little bit about what it means to be a child of God,  describing them as those “who were born, not of blood nor of the will of the flesh nor of the will of man, but of God.”

He’s saying if we’re going to be God’s children, we have to reborn. That means we’re made new. Our old self dies. The first time we were born we weren’t right, so we need to be born all over again.

John wants us to know that this birth is different than our first. He gives several qualifiers to make sure we understand that. “Not of blood”—he wants us to know that this has nothing to do with natural descent or ancestry. “Not of flesh”—he wants us to know it did not originate with human sexual desire. “Nor of the will of man”—he wants us to know that this birth was not initiated by man. This new birth is of God!

Born again isn’t just a phrase that people came up with. It’s a reality for those who’ve trusted in Christ. And it’s a reality that changes everything. God gives you a new heart, as well as eyes to see him, and his spirit dwells in you. You are a brand new creature.

The assumption that you’ll never be able to get past that sin is a faulty assumption. You are a new creature reborn into the family of God.

Something new has occurred. You’re not like everyone else anymore, so stop trying to be like them. You’ve joined a new team with new goals. We also have to realize that with new birth, we’ve been adopted into a family. So you have family members, brothers and sisters in the faith. Love them. Encourage them. We’re here to help one another follow Jesus.

II. Treated Like His Son

When a family adopts someone, they go to great lengths to make sure the adopted child doesn’t feel like they’re the adopted child. They don’t want them to feel different and awkward or like they don’t belong. Instead they want to treat them like their other children. In the same way, when God adopts us as his sons and daughters, he treats us like his only begotten son, Jesus.

Have you ever heard someone talk about a trust fund baby? This is somebody whose parents are rich, and just by the fact that they were born, they’re now rich too. So people resent them, because everyone else has had to work hard for the things they have. Maybe they enjoy their home and their comforts, but they had to work their whole lives. On the other hand, this rich kid never had to work a day in his life but he’s doing better than everyone else. He has all the benefits without doing any of the work.

Spiritually speaking, we are trust fund babies. Just by nature of the fact that we’ve been reborn into God’s family, we get spiritual riches. We’ve lived contrary to his law, and we’ve disobeyed him, but when we put our faith in Christ we get all the benefits Jesus received. Everything the work of Jesus accomplished is transferred to us.

Let’s talk about a few of those things.

1. Righteousness

“For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God.” (2 Corinthians 5:21)

Jesus switched places with us. He was treated like us, and we get treated like him. Isn’t that amazing? When you’re adopted by God, you’re seen as righteous in him—not just as a dirty, worthless sinner, but as righteous.

It’s like someone switched out the test results. We get the A+ even though we failed, and Jesus suffers the punishment for failing.

I know sometimes when I haven’t been in the Word the way I should be, or when I haven’t been sharing the Gospel with others like I should be, I start to feel like God is mad at me. And then that keeps me from praying, because I feel like he doesn’t want to hear from me. In those times it’s helpful to remember that when he adopted me, he gave me the righteousness of Jesus.

So he’s not mad at me anymore; he’s pleased with me in Christ. My sin grieves him, but my spot in his family never changes. I didn’t do what it takes to get there, and there’s nothing I can do that will remove me. I just need to keep trusting and repenting.

This also frees me from the bondage of trying to please other people all the time. I really struggle with wanting everyone to think highly of me. And the thing that helps me most is to remember that I don’t need their approval, because I already have God’s. I’m already in good standing with him. I have all the approval I’ll ever need

It’s a prison to live your life based on what other people think. God thinks highly of you in Christ, so let that be enough. You have all the approval you’ll ever need.

2. Eternal Life

We’ve earned eternal death, but in Christ we get to live forever with God. We get the abundant life—life as it was meant to be lived. We get to live in perfect worship of the King forever.

This life is not all we have. Why do we live like that? We ignore the things that matter for eternity and chase after things that are enjoyable now. But why? This isn’t the best we get. This is the time we have on this earth to glorify God until we’re with him in heaven.

When we think this is all we get we have to do everything we can to just enjoy ourselves. But when we know this is just the preview we can spend our time investing in our eternity.

3. Fatherly Love & Care

I love my son dearly. And I would do anything for him. God loves us and will give us absolutely anything that’s good for us. So remember if there’s something you don’t have right now, it’s not because God isn’t able to give it. It’s because it’s not good for you.

Further proof of the fact that we are treated as true sons of God is the fact that we can never be separated from His love. We were united to Jesus, and Jesus brought us to the Father. Because we are in Jesus we can never be separated from God.

Question: So who can separate God’s children from Him? Answer: No one can separate God’s children from His love.

“For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Romans 8:38-39)

There is nothing in all of Creation that can separate us from God’s love in Christ. We are his sons and daughters.

When you were a kid, did you ever have someone give you something, then try to take it back? My sister used to do this to me. She would have something that she didn’t really like, and then she would give it to me. It was trash to her. So I’d get it, write my name on it, enjoy it—it’s mine. Well now that I have it I’m really enjoying it, and now she looks at me enjoying it and she wants it back. Huh? Well whereas before I didn’t have any special attachment to it, now I do. It’s mine. I wrote my name on it and figured out fun ways to play with it. It’s similar with God. Now that we’re his, he claims us. He says, “Mine!” No one can snatch us away from him and his love.

We have to remember this when we go through hard times. None of our hard times can separate us from God’s love. Actually, sometimes those hard times are evidence of the fact that we are children of God.

Relationship

God doesn’t just give us stuff, but he gives us himself. When we leave him going after sexual fulfillment, we’re leaving the real thing in search of a fake. You can meet with God and hear from him every day in his word. He will listen to your prayers and answer them. If you draw near to him he will draw near to you.

III. Conforming To His Son

He doesn’t leave us where we are. He makes us more like Him. So not only does he treat us like Jesus, but he makes us like Jesus.

We talked about being made in the image of God and being broken. Well Jesus is the perfect image of God, and God conforms us to his own image by making us like Jesus. We start to look like we’re in the family.

We talked about the kind of faith that’s willing to leave all and bet everything on Jesus. When God adopts us, he doesn’t leave us where we are.

I was talking to some students the other day about believing in Jesus, and one person said, “I believe, but I still want to have fun sometimes. That’s why I don’t always like being around Christians.” There may be some things that person believes, but the kind of faith the Bible is calling for is all of you. It changes the way you look at your sin. You turn from it.

Listen to what Paul says:

“Do you not know that the unrighteous will not inherit the kingdom of God? Do not be deceived; neither the sexually immoral, nor idolaters, nor adulterers, nor men who practice homosexuality, nor thieves, nor the greedy, nor drunkards, nor revilers, nor swindlers will inherit the kingdom of God. And such were some of you. But you were washed, you were sanctified, you were justified in the name of the Lord Jesus Christ and by the Spirit of our God.” (1 Corinthians 6:9-11)

Those things are past tense. We’re not defined by those things anymore.

What would you do if you saw a baby telling her parent what to do? Crawling around a house ordering her parents around? You would think she was crazy! Why? Because they are the parents, but they are acting like the child. Itʼs sad when people have certain power and privileges but refuse to walk in them. It is even crazier for a Christian to live in sin. You have power over sin and you’ve been given the privilege to walk in freedom. Why would you ignore that power and walk in slavery?

As Christians, God has already made us holy. Now we are trying to make our lives to reflect who we are in Christ every day. If you are in Christ you are not a liar. You are not a homosexual. You are not a thief. You are a saint. That stuff has no power over you anymore.

I don’t know what people are struggling with in here today, but it’s important to understand that a status change has happened if you’re in Christ. I remember a season in my Christian life when I was caught in a horrible cycle of sin. And I felt like I was enslaved to my sin. And a big part of my growth was grasping this truth: that I don’t have to sin. I’ve been freed from past slavery

What God Cares Most About

The main thing God is doing in your life is making you holy. More than he’s concerned about your comfort, he’s concerned about your holiness. In Hebrews 12, the writer talks about discipline in our lives. Sometimes life will hurt. But it’s clear that when we go through tough times, it doesn’t mean God doesn’t love us. Actually he loves us by giving us tough times. This word discipline that’s used basically means training. God is training us and making us more like Jesus. He is making us holy.

It would be unloving of God to not train us and make us more holy. It would mean that we’re not his sons. Sometimes he even throws discipline our way because of sin. When you sin, and there are horrible consequences, don’t take that as mere coincidence. You should consider that God is disciplining you. He is showing you what sin brings, and he is shaping you to make you more like Christ. It’s like we are scrawny, and trials make us buff. Jesus is perfect spiritual buffness, and God wants to make us like him.

Ultimately this is God’s work. He does it through our effort, but if you’re in Christ he can and will do it. So don’t overly discourage yourself. You may feel like you can’t change yourself, and that’s true. Go to the places where God has promised he will change you.

Conclusion

If you are a Christian, it’s important to know who you are and what God’s promises are for you. You have been adopted. You are a son or daughter of God.

My son gets a lot of benefits from being my son. I take care of him, provide for him, and make sure he’s fed. Those same privileges aren’t offered to just any child around. But that doesn’t mean you can’t be adopted.

The Gospel is the most exclusive and inclusive message in the world. These blessings only go to some, but are available to all. Trust in Christ. God will adopt you. He will give you things you’ve never earned—first and foremost a relationship with him.

Discussion Questions

1. What difference does it make if we’re children of God?

2. What kinds of differences should the people around me notice if I’m in God’s family?

3. What are you most grateful for about being a child of God?

4. How does the fact that you’ve been freed from sin change the way you fight it?

5. What role does God’s Word play in becoming more like Jesus?

6. What do you do if you’re not growing like you should be?