本應該我歌詞

由。。。生產: Gawvi
通過另外的vocals: Ĵ. 保羅
通過作品: 亞歷克斯·梅迪納
混合和掌握: 傑克 “商務” 莫里斯

詩 1:
沒人想聽到我們的痛苦
這就是我的感受,當我翻閱他們嘰嘰喳喳的評論, 所有我的感覺是雨
他們告訴我得到了它的老
那東西不存在沒有更多
但是,當我看到在這些街道不不順
所以它是真實的,當我覺得它本應該我

鉤:
我的男人可以告訴你我的感受,現在
啊,他們想知道我的感受,現在
我覺得它本應該我
我覺得它本應該我
我們都在上帝的形象造你知道
我們的生活關係, 我們的願景是打破
我們能感到疼痛的事業,我們來過這裡
誰是無辜的,我不知道
但它本應該我
我覺得它本應該我

詩 2:
我不知道麥克 - 布朗
我是不知道塔拉萬
我不知道肖恩·貝爾
但我知道他們走了
我是不知道奧​​斯卡格蘭特或塔米爾水稻
我不知道埃里克·加納
但我知道,他們的生活
價值超過他們說在電視屏幕上
我恨我得到了一個長長的清單, 你看FINNA我尖叫
因為我覺得他們沒有看到我們的國王
作出裁決像他, 他們認為我們需要的惡魔
我不在場時,他們開槍的人
我解決不了的情況下, 不會說我可以
但我知道生活一個年輕的黑人
猜猜我不能生氣,有些不明白
但也許你會
如果你看了我的生活,你站的地方我站在
用我的眼睛來看待這些街道
這是太真實時,我覺得它本應該我

:
我的男人可以告訴你我的感受,現在
啊,他們想知道我的感受,現在
我覺得它本應該我
我覺得它本應該我

詩 3:
想像著我作為一個十幾歲
挑選出在店裡的飲料當我看到
看著我收銀員, 然後他尖叫
點,我的臀部,並告訴我,我見過
但抱起來, 我不知道我是那麼可怕
我是不是知道我可以拍你用黑莓
很奇怪, 他看到我作為一個暴徒
當我從來沒有抓到一個案例, 從來沒有偷了還是買毒品
或如何回合,我飛到表演時間
滿心歡喜, FINNA說唱為滿​​屋子的人
外面後來我發現它在我的臉上槍
在我的手上戴著手銬, 拍下來腰
這是同樣的醇, 同醇
我適合他們知道犯罪的描述
他們給我看了照片, 來吧
你在開玩笑嗎? 我們不看一個樣
好警察以為我們做了,如果你在尋找合適的
每一個黑人,我知道
有故事像那些, 收穫什麼,他們不播
當他們假設你從跳轉暴徒
如果你用泵綁這並不重要
看我不知道,如果麥克 - 布朗有他的手
但是,我在寫說我是一個親密的站起來
並且我告訴你,我覺得我期待在這些街道
並說這是真的,當我覺得它本應該我

詩 4:
天空灰的感覺, 眼睛紅了
黑與白的衝突, 雲在頭上
多久,直到他們聽到我們說什麼
多久,直到他們聽到我說的話?
喊出所有的好警察
戰鬥壞人, 製作好止損
我恨引擎蓋上的塊
最後,他們可能會嘗試混為一談你所有的騙子
我想說我所有的年輕的黑人男子
我知道這感覺就像我們剛剛贏不了
但是,在你的憤怒不罪
不肯定他們想什麼
不要讓任何人告訴我們,我們是不是有值得
有些人會嘗試關閉我們失望,它不會工作
我知道這是不公平的, 但我們知道他很關心
有一天,他會擦乾眼淚

其他
哪裡是你希望在? 我的是在他身上
哪裡是你的希望在? 我的是在他身上
我們有工作要做, 但我的希望是他
他們有工作要做太, 但我的希望是他

分享

32 註釋

  1. 提到: 本應該我 — TRIP LEE

  2. 約旦回复

    我看到一些在歌詞中提出的要點, 我知道這首歌是個人, 但感覺它是讓公司在這混亂的一首歌.

    第3節的第二部分, 談到拍著了,因為他 “適合” 犯罪的說明. 我已經拍下來之前, 在跨境被盯梢的後側面 3 英里, 因為我戴著無簷小便帽,這讓我看起來像我是從城市的嚴厲側運動衫. 不僅如此, 但我開著我的祖父黑斑羚與我在乘客座位的爸爸, 他們檢查了我們的故事,關於我們在當地的蘋果商店,我下車我的MacBook是固定的回籠. 說它分析, 叫它什麼, 但它是什麼,但我的皮膚的顏色. 一位軍官是白人, 另一個是黑色的. 那是我.

    第一首詩歌的第一線: “沒人想聽到我們的痛苦”. 肯定我知道這意味著什麼. 這個單詞 “我們的” 在這句話, 給我的感覺就像異化離歌, 就像我不會明白的鬥爭是什麼, 或者你的感受如何. 我未必能理解, 但上帝給了我支持的手段, 通過祈禱.

    繼續對這個想法, “我們都在上帝的形象造你知道”. 還有整櫃的歌. 上帝創造了我們,他的形象, 和無彩色, 殘疾人, 性別或民族起源於他創建的任何不同任何人曾經創造了上帝的樣子, 所以我們為什麼要? 我為什麼要在自己的期待不同於您, 反之亦然?

    我能得到進一步的, 但我覺得我已經說得夠多了. 旅, 作為基督的跟隨者,我們穿我們的信仰, 我們不看任何人的任何不同或區別對待. 我們扔掉自我, 和重點,並把注意力集中在他, 並且無論我們的任一項的感受, 當我們說我們是基督徒, 我們採取行動,我們說反映了人們怎麼看他通過我們的方式和事物. 所以,如果它可能是你, 我要看看你有什麼不同? 如果是我?

    我的觀點是, 是 “色盲的” 在這世上.

    • 保守黨回复

      兄弟喬丹, 我只能說表現 “色盲” 不解決這些問題,? 讓我從比賽中快速切換它的性別. 男人和女人有很大的不同, 那是個好東西! 成為 “性別上的盲點” 將是非常不利的, 因為這自然會切斷我們的差異的重要性, ,使我們錯過了神. 我的意思在那就是男人, 憐憫往往不如自然因為它為婦女要來 (請注意這個詞往往!). 如果我們只是看著男人, 我們錯過了上帝的憐憫. 我們會讀到它, 但看不到有形, 他的憐憫人類的例子 (我知道我在積極的泛泛講, 但只使一個點).

      比賽是相同的方式. 我們其實很不同, 自然! 黑人, 亞洲人, 白人, 西班牙人, 我們通常在我們的世界觀非常不同, 個性, 文化, 等等. 這是一個美麗的東西. 通過在一個文化的熱情超過換過, 我們可以看到,神是一個充滿激情的神 (熱衷於正確的事). 通過觀察一種文化的 “不輕易發怒(內斯),” 我們可以看到,上帝是耐心與我們, 並且不輕易發怒. 通過查看不同文化, 我們真的能看到神的許多照片.

      毫無疑問, 我們都被處理相同的, 因為我們都在意象棣創建. 然而, 我們是不同的, 那沒關係! 我是半個黑, 半白, 並有一噸的 “黑色的特質,” 和 “白色的特質。” 好的. 那很棒! 希望他們告訴我們一些關於上帝! 我投了慶祝和分歧學習,而不是色盲, 和真正的慶祝活動只能發生在福音.

      • 內特回复

        市場,

        你的話啟發了我寫使用你的話變化的一首歌: “我們在意象棣所有已創建, 然而, 我們是不同的,這比還行”. 感謝您主動說話,智慧的火花. 這首歌的其餘部分卻變成了證明自己的話純粹是不當的禮物來表達我們的多樣性和統一性基督.

        格雷斯與和平,
        內特

    • 天價回复

      說得好喬丹. 我會說這樣一件事: 而不是被色盲, 我們可以看到,而不是我們的不同種族背景作為神的創造力? 我們與他站在一起耶穌的名義. 他是我們的旗幟 – 不管我們是從弗格森, 卡利, 俄勒岡, 阿拉巴馬州或紐約. 耶穌是我們的焦點. 並且在想要向我們分離成培養 “少數民族” 和不同群體, 我們站在基督的身體, 他的下面.

      但我感激您對歌曲的洞察力. 謝謝你了建設王國的榮耀!

    • 喬希回复

      旅, 感謝這些想法. 我很欣賞你分享你的經驗顏色的人誰通過了福音的鏡頭認為他的身份和我們的文化的悲慘狀態. 願主繼續通過工作建立自己的王國和名氣. 謝謝.

  3. 邁克爾·回复

    它是可悲的閱讀完所有的世界現在要發生的事件. 權從紐約到肯尼亞. 不好受問題,但我們不會向他們學習,繼續做同樣的事情. 這時候我們才能真正成為我們的兄弟守護者

  4. 理查德回复

    真的很傷心聽到, 仍然無法真正想像你們的感受,但我看到,很多黑色的脂肪酶的先手只是真的快… 感到悲哀的ü人, 我都感到力不從心…

  5. 托德回复

    強有力的聲明, 製作精美. 把多年來對我的眼睛,當我最想不到的時候. 我最近才發現你的音樂,它一直在我生命中的時間被視為神這麼一個奇妙的發現勵志. 倍受好評給你, 弟弟.

  6. 提到: 新的音樂: 李之旅 – “本應該我” |

  7. 阿曼達回复

    如果說神不看顏色是不符合聖經. (約旦) 聖經說,上帝創造了不同的民族和方言來展示陛下. 我們不應該假裝它不存在! 如果你說你想成為那裡的信徒誰與這些東西祈禱或其他交易渠道那麼為什麼你想爭辯他的歌? 他分享他的傷. 他的痛苦. 東西,黑衣人, 經過. 為什麼你要覺得疏遠他說,. 為什麼你的不愉快的經歷的一個例子已經排除或無效的傷害和挫折,許多黑人都有,每天要面對. 不只是一次. 我的丈夫總是要和超越,以確保他脫落的非威脅性的人!! 為什麼? 為什麼說他是黑人,所以他被認為是可怕的,並威脅. 為什麼說他說話口齒伶俐,人們覺得他們需要做出評論, 哇你是不是我所期待, 或者你是不是像其他黑人. 做人流去到你和他們是由你說話的方式感到驚訝? 停下來分鐘,只聽到有人出來, 你不必同意或理解. 只是表現出一定的同情和幫助是解決方案的一部分! 感謝您分享您心臟李之旅.

  8. 阿比蓋爾回复

    旅, 這是件好事.
    我的心臟是傷害,因為還有就是寫這樣的歌的理由. 還有黑人生活的鬥爭.
    也許有一天,我們能作出正確的.

    <3

  9. 夏洛特回复

    旅行李人,

    我可以聲明,我已成長為愛的主要真實性你的聲音?! 啊它是如此的原始和真實! 這是一個偉大的壯舉. 兄弟. 很真實, 我非常痛心地聽到所有在這裡已經顯示在空氣中的腐敗,這是瘋狂的偏見,顛倒了這個世界怎麼會這樣 – 我在我自己的比賽非常失望,在已經定型並在廣播. 從布魯克林紐約視頻是最令人痛心的事情我已經在很長一段時間見過.

  10. 維多利亞回复

    我熱愛喬丹說. 我自己是一個黑人的美國, 一個女人, 但在我看來, 性別沒有發揮出巨大的作用, 黑人婦女在歧視性的方式也可以有針對性. 我從來沒有親自針對我的皮膚的顏色, 但我喜歡把我從來沒有恨,或希望壞事的人誰是害我還是殺了我像我們正在談論的那些一種情況. 作為一個基督徒, 我不斷提醒耶穌告訴我們要置之不理的詩句. 如果有人恨你, 你愛他們儘管. 種族主義永遠不會停止發生, 但如果有人攻擊你, 置之不理. 你不能讓任何人接受你, 像這樣的東西是不會停止. 但是,我們需要停下來思考,黑人在針對性唯一的種族. 唯一的區別是, 黑色犯罪白了就是在新聞被帶到了唯一的罪行. 大約一個白人殺害一名西班牙裔什麼? 或亞洲殺黑? 我們都創造平等. 是, 曾經有一段時間,當奴隸制被全黑的人都知道, 但今天有奴隸制和種族歧視發生的每場比賽中. 神沒有看到這些黑人男子死亡有任何不同,他認為任何人死亡. 我認為,我們忘記了,概念, 任何人的生命更重要比另一個. 而且,我們也不要忘記,我們真的不知道這些罪行的確切事實. 旅, 我不恨上你的歌在所有, 它的偉大,每個人都有自己的看法,這是你的. 雖然, 我會說, 是的,它可以一直您, 但它也可能已經是一個白種男人. 美黑的人是不是唯一的目標,. 讓我們來試試,看對方神看我們的方式, 100 等於百分之.

  11. 丹妮爾回复

    作為一個混血兒, 色盲(是, 因為我的遺產和文化有太多不同的種族,開始專注於一次. 我慶祝這些節日沒有少) 女人,我無法想像任何一個黑人是通過將. 特別是當人們直接跳到種族和留點神了吧. 但我很高興你把神在裡面,他所屬的地方. 他屬於在這種情況, 他屬於作為正義送禮. 我們都屬於和他的信任.

  12. 安東尼回复

    我打這首歌曲一屋子的人試圖聽到自己的兄弟姐妹昨天哭. 大約有 18 我們和 6/8 是白人. 你的話凝成的事情.

    要知道,你的話已經達到人深, 美麗的方式. 謝謝你的誠實的反思.

  13. 約翰尼回复

    如果使這種對自己或對特定種族那麼它無關,與神. 你的歌只顯示了為什麼種族主義問題繼續它,因為沒有人願意改變週期只哭一下他們是如何處理白色糟糕的方式, 墨西哥人, 亞洲, 由人犯罪和人,我們已經接受為保護被停止在相同的方式死去的所有時間. 您無論是對正義全部或你是不是有沒有細紋或藉口. 你帶了恐懼和憤怒, 神不是在那些沒有你選擇成為. 你把神在這個讓摹只是讓基督徒繼續聽你的而不是讓神權的立場,而不是你的歌詞我們說你要站起來為你要做出關於種族主義和不是神TIS種族主義歌曲. 你不能坐在 2 表,你既可以在桌子坐在如果父親或你坐在倒下的表. 你已經失去了一個風扇無論哪種方式. 我希望你能來與你的恐懼方面,看看如何尊重簡單將改變恐成共享的尊重和合作. 如果本應該你, 那麼也許你需要重新思考你的人生選擇.

  14. 提到: 257 || 尊敬的李之旅, 我聽說你 – 破碎雜誌

  15. 標記回复

    Do all my brothers, sisters, disillusioned, and hurting. I am sorry. I am a part of this as an American. But I am listening. I hear your pain.
    I am sorry.
    The word is getting out. No criticism, only love.

Coulda Been Me Lyrics

Produced by: Gawvi
Additional Vocals by: J. Paul
Artwork by: Alex Medina
Mixed and Mastered by: Jacob “Biz” Morris

Verse 1:
Don’t nobody wanna hear our pain
That’s how I’m feeling when I’m flipping through them twitter comments, all I feel is rain
They telling me get over it’s old
That stuff don’t exist no more
But that don’t ring true when I look in these streets
So it’s real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook:
Man can I tell you how I’m feeling right now
Ah they wanna know how I’m feeling right now
I feel like it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me
We all made in God’s image you know
All our lives matter, our vision is broke
We feel pain cause we been here before
Who’s innocent I don’t know
But it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me

Verse 2:
I didn’t know Mike Brown
I ain’t know Trayvon
I didn’t know Sean Bell
But I know they gone
I ain’t know Oscar Grant or Tamir Rice
I didn’t know Eric Garner
But I know they life
Is worth more than they saying on the tv screen
I hate I got a long list, you finna see me scream
Cause I feel like they don’t see we kings
Made to rule like Him, they think we needy fiends
I wasn’t there when they shot at the man
I can’t solve cases, won’t say that I can
But I do know life as a young black man
Guess I can’t be mad that some don’t understand
But maybe you would
If you looked at my life and you stood where I stood
Use my eyes to look at these streets
It’s too real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook:
Man can I tell you how I’m feeling right now
Ah they wanna know how I’m feeling right now
I feel like it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me

Verse 3:
Picture me as a teen
Picking out drinks in the store when I seen
The cashier looking at me, then he screams
Points at my hip and tells me I’m seen
But hold up, I ain’t know that I was that scary
And I ain’t know that I could shoot you with a blackberry
Very odd, that he saw me  as a thug
When I’d never caught a case, never stole or bought drugs
Or how bout the time that I flew to a show
Full of joy, finna rap for a room full of folks
Outside then I find it’s a gun in my face
Handcuffs on my hands, pat down at the waist
It’s the same ol, same ol
I fit the description of a criminal that they know
They showed me picture, come on
Are you kidding? We don’t look a like
Well the cops thought we did if you  looking right
Every black man I know
Got stories like those, reaping what they ain’t sow
When they assume you a thug from the jump
It don’t matter if you strapped with a pump
Look I don’t know if Mike Brown had his hands up
But I’m writing saying homie I’ma stand up
And I’ma tell you I feel I look in these streets
And say it’s real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook

Verse 4:
Skies feeling grey, eyes red
Black and white clash, clouds over head
How long till they heard what we said
How long till they hear what I said?
Shout out to all the good cops
Fighting bad guys, making good stops
I hate that on the hood blocks
In the end they might try to lump you in with all the crooks
I wanna say to all my young black men
I know it’s feeling like we just can’t win
But in your anger don’t sin
Don’t affirm what they thinking
Don’t let nobody tell us we ain’t got worth
Some will try to shut us down it will not work
I know it ain’t fair, but we know that He cares
And one day he’ll wipe away tears

Outro
Where’s your hope at? Mine is in him
Where is your hope at? Mine is in him
We got work to do, but my hope is in him
They got work to do too, but my hope is in him

SHARES

32 comments

  1. Mention: Coulda Been Me — TRIP LEE

  2. JordanReply

    I see some of the points made in the lyrics, and I know this song is personal, but it feels like it’s a song that’s giving in to this chaos.

    The second section of the 3rd verse, talking about being patted down because he “fits” the description of the criminal. I’ve been patted down before, on the side of the interstate after being tailed for 3 miles, because I wore a beanie and a sweatshirt that made me look like I was from the harsher side of town. Not just that, but I was driving my grandfathers Impala with my dad in the passenger seat, and they checked our stories about us heading back from the local Apple store where I dropped off my Macbook to be fixed. Call it profiling, call it whatever, but it was anything but the color of my skin. One officer was white, the other was black. That was me.

    First line of the first verse: “Don’t nobody wanna hear our pain”. Pretty sure I know what it means. The word “our” in that phrase, to me feels like alienation from the song, like I won’t understand what the struggle is, or how you feel. I may not be able to understand, but God gave me the means to support, through Prayer.

    Continuing on that thought, “We all made in God’s image you know”. There’s the whole counter to the song. God created us in His image, and no color, disabilities, gender or origin of nation has ever made God look at any individual He created any differently, so why should we? Why should I look at myself any differently from you, and vice versa?

    I could get further, but I feel I’ve said enough. Trip, as a follower of Christ we wear our faith, we don’t look at any person any differently or treat them differently. We throw away Self, and focus and put the attention on Him, and regardless of how any one of us feels, when we say we are Christians, the way we act and the things we say reflect how people see Him through us. So if it could have been you, should I look at you any differently? What if it was me?

    My point is, be “Colorblind” in this world.

    • ToryReply

      Brother Jordan, can I just express that “colorblindness” is not the answer to these issues? Let me switch it quickly from race to gender. Men and women are very different, and that is a good thing! To be “gender blind” would be very detrimental, because it would naturally cut off the importance of our differences, and make us miss out on God. What I mean in that is that as men, mercy tends to not come as naturally as it does for women (notice the word tends!). If we only looked at men, we would miss out on the mercy of God. We would read about it, but see no tangible, human example of His mercy (I’m know I’m speaking in aggressive generalities, but only to make a point).

      Race is the same way. We are actually very different, naturally! Blacks, Asians, Whites, Hispanics, we are usually very different in our worldview, personalities, culture, etc. This is a beautiful thing. By looking at one cultures passion over another, we can see that God is a passionate God (passionate about the right things). By looking at one culture’s “slow to anger(ness),” we can see that God is patience with us, and is slow to anger. By looking at different cultures, we actually get to see many pictures of God.

      Without question, we are all to be treated the same, because we are all created in the Imago Dei. However, we are different, and that’s okay! I’m half black, half white, and have a ton of “black traits,” and “white traits.” Okay. That’s great! Hopefully they show us something about God! I vote for celebration and learning of differences rather than colorblindness, and a true celebration can only happen in the gospel.

      • NateReply

        Tori,

        Your words have inspired me to write a song using a variation of your words: “We are all created in the Imago Dei, however, we are different and that’s more than OK”. Thank you for your initiative to speak and spark wisdom. The rest of the song has turned out to prove itself as purely an undeserved gift of words to express our unity in diversity and in Christ.

        Grace and Peace,
        Nate

    • TaevanReply

      Well said Jordan. I will say this one thing: Instead of being colorblind, could we instead see our different ethnic backgrounds as God’s creativity? We stand together with Him under the name of Jesus. He is our banner – no matter if we’re from Ferguson, Cali, Oregon, Alabama or New York. Jesus is our focal point. And in a culture that wants to separate us into “minorities” and different groups, we stand as Christ’s body, underneath Him.

      But I do appreciate your insight on the song. Thank you for building the Kingdom up for His glory!

    • JoshReply

      trip, thanks for these thoughts. I appreciate your sharing your experience as a man of color who thinks of his identity and the tragic state of our culture through the Lens of the Gospel. May the Lord continue to build his Kingdom and fame through your work. Thank you.

  3. GabrielReply

    Thank you Trip, you’re a true role model and inspiration. Keep up the good work and lean on the lord’s guidance.

  4. MichaelReply

    It’s saddening reading all the events going now in the world. Right from NYC to Kenya. Painfull issues yet we don’t learn from them and keep doing the same things. It’s time we truly became our brothers keepers

  5. MichaelReply

    Trip Lee, this could not have come at a different time. We need to stress the point more and by all means #couldabeenme

  6. RichardReply

    really sad to hear, still can’t really imagine how y’all feel but I see that a lot of black ppl just get just really to fast… feel sad for u al, I feel powerless at all…

  7. ToddReply

    Powerful statement, beautifully crafted. Brought years to my eyes when I least expected it. I only recently discovered your music and it has been a wonderfully inspirational discovery at the time in my life God deemed it so. Much praise to you, young brother.

  8. Mention: New Music: Trip Lee – “Coulda Been Me” |

  9. AmandaReply

    To say that God doesn’t see color is unBiblical. (Jordan) The Bible says that God created different nations and tongues to showcase His majesty. We shouldn’t pretend that it doesn’t exist! If you say you want to be there for a believer who deals with these things by prayer or whatever avenue then why are you trying to argue his song? He is sharing his hurt. His pain. Stuff that black people, go through. Why do you have to feel alienated for him saying that. Why does your ONE example of a bad experience have to rule out or invalidate the hurt and frustration that many black people have to face daily. Not just that one time. My husband always has to go above and beyond to make sure he comes off as non threatening to people!! Why? Why is it that he is black so he is considered scary and threatening. Why is it that he talks articulate that people feel they need to make the comment, wow you are not what I expected, or you are not like other black people. Do people go up to you and are they surprised by the way you speak? Stop for a min and just hear people out, you don’t have to agree or understand. Just show some empathy and help be a part of the solution! Thanks for sharing your heart Trip Lee.

  10. AbigailReply

    Trip, this is good.
    My heart is hurting because there is still a reason to write songs like this. There is still a fight for black lives.
    Maybe one day we can make it right.

    <3

  11. WillReply

    Keep up the good work Trip! Your words and your witness are powerful! May the Lord bless you, keep you, make his face shine upon you!

  12. CharlotteReply

    Trip Lee man,

    Can I just state that I have grown to love the major authenticity in your voice?! Ahh it’s so raw and real! This is a great feat. bro. Very true, I am very saddened to hear about all of the corruption in which has been shown here on the air and it is crazy how bias and upside down this world can be – I’m very disappointed in my own race in which has been stereotyped and broadcasted upon. The video from Brooklyn NY is one of the most saddening things I’ve seen in a long time.

  13. VictoriaReply

    I love what Jordan is saying. I myself am a black America, a woman, but in my opinion, gender doesn’t play a huge role, black woman can be targeted in discriminatory ways also. I have never been targeted personally for the color of my skin, but I like to think I’d never hate or wish bad things to someone who was to harm me or kill me in a circumstance like the ones we are talking about. Being a Christian, I’m constantly reminded of the verse where Jesus tells us to turn the other cheek. If someone hates you, you love them despite that. Racism will never stop happening, but if someone attacks you, turn the other cheek. You can’t make anyone accept you, stuff like this isn’t going to stop. But we need to stop thinking that blacks are the only race targeted. The only difference is, the white on black crime is the only crime being brought up in the news. What about a white guy killing a Hispanic? Or an Asian killing a black? We are all created equally. Yes, there was a time when slavery was all black people knew, but today there’s slavery and racism happening among every race. God does not see the deaths of these black men any differently than he sees the death of anyone else. I think we are forgetting that concept, no person’s life matters more than another. And let’s also not forget that we really don’t know the exact facts of these crimes. Trip, I’m not hating on your song at all, it’s great that every person has their own opinion and this is yours. Although, I will say, yes it could’ve been you, but it also could’ve been a white man. Us black people are not the only targets. Let’s try to see each other the way God sees us, 100 percent equal.

  14. DanielleReply

    As a biracial, Color blind(Yes, because my heritage and culture include too many different races to start focusing on one at a time. I celebrate THEM none the less) woman I can’t imagine anything that a black man is going through. Especially when people jump straight on race and leave God out of it. But I’m glad that you put God in it where he belongs. He belongs in this situation, He belongs as the Justice giver. We belong and trust in Him.

  15. AnthonyReply

    I played this song for a room full of people trying to hear their brothers and sisters cries yesterday. There were about 18 of us and 6/8 were white. Your words cemented things.

    Know that your words are reaching people in deep, beautiful ways. Thank you for your honest reflection.

  16. JohnnyReply

    If you are making this about yourself or about a specific race then it has nothing to do with God. Your song only shows why the racism issue continues the way it does because no one is willing to change the cycle only cry about how they are treated poorly white, Mexican, Asian, people die in the same ways all the time by committing crimes and being stopped by someone we have accepted as a protector. Your either for justice completely or you aren’t there is no fine lines or excuses. You bring up fears and anger, Gods not in those yet you choose to be. You put God in this so g just so Christians keep listening to you rather then making the right stand for God instead your our lyrics say your gonna stand up for racism that your going to make tis song about racism and not God. You can’t sit at 2 tables you either sit at the table if the Father or you sit at the table of the fallen. Either way you’ve lost a fan. I hope you can come to terms with your fear and see how simple respect would change fear into shared respect and working together. If it coulda been you, then maybe you need to rethink your life choices.

  17. JonReply

    He isn’t against the cops right? I don’t think. I love trip and can’t wait till his next album, whenever that maybe. Great song.

  18. Mention: 257 || Dear Trip Lee, I Hear You – Shattered Magazine

  19. KiannaReply

    I just listened to this song and the lyrics are powerful. “Where’s your hope at?” -Trip Lee. I loved it!

  20. MarkReply

    Do all my brothers, sisters, disillusioned, and hurting. I am sorry. I am a part of this as an American. But I am listening. I hear your pain.
    I am sorry.
    The word is getting out. No criticism, only love.