Coulda wurde Lyrics

Produziert von: Gawvi
Zusätzliche Vocals von: J. Paul
Grafik durch: Alex Medina
Gemixt und gemastert von: Jacob “Biz” Morris

Vers 1:
Nicht niemand will unseren Schmerz hören
Das ist, wie ich mich fühle, wenn ich blätterte durch sie Kommentare twittern, alles, was ich fühle, ist regen
Sie sagen mir, erhalten über es alt ist
Das Zeug nicht existieren nicht mehr
Aber das klingelt nicht wahr, wenn ich in diesen Straßen aussehen
So ist es wirklich, wenn ich das Gefühl, es coulda mich gewesen

Haken:
Der Mensch kann ich Ihnen sagen, wie ich mich fühle gerade jetzt
Ah, sie wollen wissen, wie ich mich fühle gerade jetzt
Ich fühle mich wie es mir coulda gewesen
Ich fühle mich wie es mir coulda gewesen
Wir alle in Gottes Bild gemacht Sie wissen
All unser Leben Materie, Unsere Vision ist pleite
Wir fühlen Schmerz, weil wir hier schon vor
Wer unschuldig ist, weiß ich nicht
Aber es mich coulda gewesen
Ich fühle mich wie es mir coulda gewesen

Vers 2:
Ich wusste nicht, Mike Brown
Ich weiß nicht, ist Trayvon
Ich wusste nicht, Sean Bell-
Aber ich weiß, dass sie gegangen
Ich weiß nicht, ist Oscar Grants oder Tamir Reis
Ich wusste nicht, Eric Garner
Aber ich weiß, dass sie das Leben
Ist mehr wert als sie sagen, auf dem TV-Bildschirm
Ich hasse Ich habe eine lange Liste, Sie sehen mich finna schreien
Weil ich, wie sie fühlen, sehen wir nicht Könige
Hergestellt wie er zu regieren, sie denken, dass wir bedürftigen Unholde
Ich war nicht da, als sie auf den Mann geschossen
Ich kann es nicht Fälle zu lösen, will nicht sagen, dass ich kann,
Aber ich weiß, das Leben als junger schwarzer Mann
Ich glaube, ich kann nicht sauer sein, dass einige nicht verstehen,
Aber vielleicht würden Sie
Wenn Sie an meinem Leben sah und stand ihr, wo ich stand
Verwenden Sie meine Augen auf diesen Straßen zu sehen
Es ist zu real, wenn ich das Gefühl, es coulda mich gewesen

Haken:
Der Mensch kann ich Ihnen sagen, wie ich mich fühle gerade jetzt
Ah, sie wollen wissen, wie ich mich fühle gerade jetzt
Ich fühle mich wie es mir coulda gewesen
Ich fühle mich wie es mir coulda gewesen

Vers 3:
Bild mich als Teenager
Kommissionierung Getränke im Laden, als ich gesehen
Die Kassiererin schaute mich, dann schreit er
Punkte an meiner Hüfte und sagt mir, die ich je gesehen habe
Aber halten, Ich weiß nicht, ist, dass ich das war beängstigend
Und ich weiß nicht, dass ich Sie mit einem Blackberry schießen konnte
Sehr komisch, dass er sah mich als Verbrecher
Als würde ich gefangen nie einen Fall, nie Drogen gestohlen oder gekauft
Oder wie Kampf der Zeit, dass ich zu einer Show flog
Voller Spaß, finna Rap für einen Raum voller Leute
Ich finde, es ist eine Waffe in meinem Gesicht Draußen dann
Handschellen an den Händen, pat an der Taille abwärts
Es ist das gleiche ol, gleiche ol
Ich passe die Beschreibung einer kriminellen, die sie kennen
Sie zeigten mir Bild, komm schon
Machst du Witze? Wir schauen nicht ein wie
Nun, die Polizei dachte, wir haben, wenn Sie auf der Suche rechts
Jeder schwarze Mann, den ich kenne
Haben Sie Geschichten wie jene, ernten, was sie säen nicht ist
Wenn sie annehmen, dass Sie ein Schläger aus dem Sprung
Es ist nicht wichtig, wenn Sie mit einer Pumpe geschnallt
Schau, ich weiß nicht, ob Mike Brown seine Hände hatte bis
Aber ich schreibe sagen Homie Ich bin ein aufstehen
Und ich bin Ihnen sagen, ich glaube, ich in diesen Straßen aussehen
Und sagen, es ist real, wenn ich das Gefühl, es coulda mich gewesen

Haken

Vers 4:
Skies Gefühl grau, Augen rot
Schwarz-Weiß-Zusammenstoß, Wolken über dem Kopf
Wie lange, bis sie hörte, was wir sagten
Wie lange, bis sie hören, was ich sagte?
Shout out an alle guten Cops
Kampf gegen Bösewichte, macht gute Anschläge
Ich hasse es, dass auf der Motorhaube Blöcke
Am Ende könnten sie versuchen, Sie mit allen Gauner zu Klumpen in
Ich möchte allen meinen jungen schwarzen Männer sagen
Ich weiß, es ist das Gefühl, wie wir können einfach nicht gewinnen
Aber in deinem Zorn nicht sündigen
Sie nicht behaupten, was sie denken,
Lassen Sie sich nicht niemand uns sagen, dass wir nicht bekamen wert
Einige werden versuchen, uns zu schließen, es wird nicht funktionieren
Ich weiß, es ist nicht fair,, aber wir wissen, dass er sich interessiert
Und eines Tages wird er Tränen abwischen

andere
Wo ist deine Hoffnung auf? Meins ist in ihm
Wo ist Ihre Hoffnung auf? Meins ist in ihm
Wir haben uns arbeiten zu tun, aber meine Hoffnung ist, in ihm
Sie haben Arbeit zu tun, aber meine Hoffnung ist, in ihm

AKTIEN

33 Bemerkungen

  1. Erwähnen: Coulda wurde Me — TRIP LEE

  2. JordanienAntworten

    Ich sehe einige der in den Texten gemacht Punkte, und ich weiß, das Lied ist persönlich, aber es fühlt sich an wie es ein Lied ist, das zu diesem Chaos gibt in ist.

    Der zweite Abschnitt der dritten Strophe, reden, weil er gefilzt “fits” die Beschreibung des Verbrechers. Ich habe gefilzt vor, auf der Seite der Interstate Nach tailed wobei 3 Meilen, weil ich trug eine Mütze und ein Sweatshirt, die mich wie ich von der raueren Seite der Stadt war aussehen. Nicht nur, dass, aber ich fuhr meinen Großvater Impala mit meinem Vater auf dem Beifahrersitz, und sie überprüften unsere Geschichten über uns zurück aus dem lokalen Apple-Store Überschrift, wo ich mein Macbook abgesetzt zu befestigenden. Nennen Sie es Profilierung, nennen es was auch immer, aber es war alles andere als die Farbe meiner Haut. Ein Offizier war weiß, der andere war schwarz. Das war ich.

    Erste Zeile der ersten Strophe: “Nicht niemand will unseren Schmerz hören”. Ziemlich sicher, dass ich weiß, was es bedeutet,. Das Wort “unser” in diesem Satz, ich fühle mich an wie Entfremdung vom Lied, wie ich nicht verstehen, was der Kampf, oder wie Sie sich fühlen. Ich kann nicht in der Lage sein zu verstehen,, aber Gott hat mir die Mittel zur Unterstützung, durch Gebet.

    Weiter auf diesem Gedanken, “Wir alle in Gottes Bild gemacht Sie wissen”. Es ist der ganze Zähler, um den Song. Gott schuf uns nach seinem Bilde, und keine Farbe, Behinderungen, Geschlecht oder Herkunft der Nation hat Gott jemals Blick auf jede einzelne gemacht schuf er anders, also warum sollten wir? Warum sollte ich mir anders aussehen jeder von Ihnen, und umgekehrt?

    Ich konnte weiter, aber ich glaube, ich gesagt habe genug. Ausflug, als Nachfolger Christi tragen wir unseren Glauben, wir sehen nicht jede Person auf jeder anders oder behandeln sie anders. Wir wegwerfen Selbst, und konzentrieren sich und legte die Aufmerksamkeit auf ihn, und unabhängig davon, wie jeder von uns fühlen, wenn wir sagen, wir sind Christen, die Art, wie wir handeln und die Dinge, die wir reflektieren sagen, wie die Menschen ihn durch uns sehen. Also, wenn es Sie gewesen sein, bei Ihnen sollte ich anders aussehen jedem? Was, wenn es mir?

    Mein Punkt ist, Sein “Farbenblind” in dieser Welt.

    • ToryAntworten

      Bruder Jordan, kann ich ausdrücken, dass nur “Farbenblindheit” ist nicht die Antwort auf diese Fragen? Lassen Sie es mich schalten schnell von Rennen zu Geschlecht. Männer und Frauen sind sehr unterschiedlich, und das ist eine gute Sache! Sein “geschlechterblind” wäre sehr schädlich, weil es natürlich die Bedeutung würde unsere Unterschiede abgeschnitten, und machen uns verpassen Gott. Was ich, dass meine ist, dass als Männer, Barmherzigkeit neigt nicht so natürlich kommen, wie es für Frauen tut (Beachten Sie das Wort neigt!). Wenn wir sahen nur bei Männern, wir würden verpassen die Barmherzigkeit Gottes. Wir würden uns darüber gelesen, aber sehen keine greifbaren, Mensch Beispiel Seiner Barmherzigkeit (Ich bin weiß, ich bin in aggressiven Allgemeinheiten sprechen, aber nur einen Punkt zu machen).

      Rennen ist die gleiche Art und Weise. Wir sind wirklich sehr unterschiedlich, natürlich! Blacks, Asiaten, Whites, Hispanics, wir sind in der Regel sehr unterschiedlich in unserer Weltsicht, Persönlichkeiten, Kultur, etc. Dies ist eine schöne Sache. Mit Blick auf eine Kulturen Leidenschaft über eine andere, können wir sehen, dass Gott ein leidenschaftlicher Gott (leidenschaftlich über die richtigen Dinge). Mit Blick auf eine Kultur “langsam zum Zorn(heit),” können wir sehen, dass Gott die Geduld mit uns, und ist langmütig. Mit Blick auf die verschiedenen Kulturen, wir bekommen tatsächlich viele Bilder von Gott zu sehen.

      Ohne Frage, wir sind alle gleich behandelt werden, weil wir alle geschaffen in der Imago Dei sind. aber, wir sind anders, und das ist in Ordnung! Ich bin halb schwarz, halb weiß, und haben eine Tonne “schwarze Züge,” und “Weiß Züge.” okay. Das ist großartig! Hoffentlich zeigen sie uns etwas über Gott! Ich stimme für Feier und das Lernen von Unterschieden statt Sehschwäche, und ein wahres Fest kann nur im Evangelium passieren.

      • NateAntworten

        Markt,

        Ihre Worte haben mich dazu inspiriert, einen Song zu schreiben eine Variation Ihrer Worte: “Wir sind alle in der Imago Dei erstellt, aber, wir sind anders und das ist mehr als OK”. Vielen Dank für Ihre Initiative zu sprechen und funkt Weisheit. Der Rest des Songs hat sich selbst zu beweisen, als rein ein unverdientes Geschenk der Worte, um unsere Einheit in der Vielfalt zum Ausdruck bringen und in Christus.

        Gnade und Frieden,
        Nate

    • TevnAntworten

      Nun sagte Jordan. Ich werde sagen, diese eine Sache: Statt farbenblind zu sein, könnten wir stattdessen unsere verschiedenen ethnischen Hintergründen als Gottes Kreativität sehen? Wir stehen zusammen mit ihm unter dem Namen Jesus. Er ist unser Banner – ganz gleich, ob wir von Ferguson, Cali, Oregon, Alabama oder New York. Jesus ist unser Brennpunkt. Und in einer Kultur, die uns trennen will in “Minderheiten” und verschiedene Gruppen, wir stehen als Leib Christi, unter ihm.

      Aber ich schätze Ihre Einsicht auf den Song. Vielen Dank für den Aufbau des Reiches bis zu seiner Ehre!

    • JoshAntworten

      Ausflug, Dank für diese Gedanken. Ich schätze Ihre Ihre Erfahrung als Mann der Farbe zu teilen, die seine Identität denkt und der tragischen Zustand unserer Kultur durch die Linse des Evangeliums. Möchte der Herr sein Reich und Ruhm durch Ihre Arbeit bauen. Vielen Dank.

  3. MichaelAntworten

    Es ist traurig, alle Ereignisse zu lesen jetzt in die Welt gehen,. Von NYC nach Kenia. Schmerzhafter Probleme noch lernen wir nicht von ihnen und halten die gleichen Dinge tun. Es ist Zeit, dass wir wirklich unsere Brüder Hüter wurde

  4. MichaelAntworten

    Trip Lee, könnte dies nicht zu einem anderen Zeitpunkt gekommen. Wir brauchen mehr um den Punkt zu betonen und mit allen Mitteln #couldabeenme

  5. RichardAntworten

    wirklich traurig zu hören, kann immer noch nicht wirklich vorstellen, wie y'all fühlen, aber ich sehe, dass viele schwarze ppl nur zu schnell nur wirklich bekommen… traurig sein für u al, Ich fühle mich machtlos überhaupt…

  6. ToddAntworten

    Leistungsstarke Aussage, wunderschön gearbeiteten. Brachte Jahre, um meine Augen, wenn ich es am wenigsten erwartet. Ich entdeckte erst vor kurzem Ihre Musik und es hat eine wunderbar inspirierende Entdeckung zu der Zeit in meinem Leben Gott es als so. Viel Lob für Sie, kleiner Bruder.

  7. Erwähnen: Neue Musik: Trip Lee – “Coulda wurde Me” |

  8. AmandaAntworten

    Zu sagen, dass Gott nicht sehen Farbe ist unbiblisch. (Jordanien) Die Bibel sagt, dass Gott verschiedene Nationen und Sprachen erstellt Seine Majestät präsentieren. Wir sollten nicht so tun, dass es nicht existiert! Wenn Sie sagen, Sie wollen für einen Gläubigen, dort zu sein, die mit diesen Dingen durch das Gebet beschäftigt oder was auch immer Allee warum dann versuchen Sie, sein Lied zu argumentieren? Er teilt seinen Schmerz. Sein Schmerz. Stuff, dass schwarze Menschen, durchgehen. Warum müssen Sie entfremdet fühlen, daß er sagen. Warum Sie ein Beispiel für eine schlechte Erfahrung gemacht hat, um auszuschließen oder den Schmerz und Frustration entkräftet, dass viele schwarze Menschen täglich zu kämpfen haben. Nicht nur, dass man Zeit. Mein Mann hat immer oben und darüber hinaus zu gehen, um sicherzustellen, kommt er als nicht bedrohlich Menschen aus!! Warum? Warum ist es, dass er schwarz ist, damit er gilt als beängstigend und bedrohlich. Warum es ist, dass er zu artikulieren spricht, dass die Menschen das Gefühl, sie brauchen den Kommentar zu machen, wow Sie sind nicht das, was ich erwartet hatte, oder Sie sind nicht wie andere schwarze Menschen. Haben die Leute gehen an Ihnen und werden sie durch die Art und Weise Sie sprechen überrascht? Halten Sie für einen min und nur die Leute hören out, Sie müssen nicht zustimmen oder zu verstehen. zeigen Sie einfach ein wenig Empathie und helfen, ein Teil der Lösung sein! Vielen Dank für Ihre Herzen Trip Lee teilen.

  9. AbigailAntworten

    Ausflug, das ist gut.
    Mein Herz schmerzt, weil es noch einen Grund gibt, Songs wie diese zu schreiben. Es ist noch ein Kampf für schwarzes Leben.
    Vielleicht können wir einen Tag es richtig machen.

    <3

  10. WilleAntworten

    Halten Sie die gute Arbeit Trip up! Ihre Worte und Ihr Zeugnis sind mächtig! Möge der Herr euch segnen, dich halten, lasse sein Angesicht leuchten über dir!

  11. CharlotteAntworten

    Trip Lee Mann,

    Kann ich sagen, nur, dass ich die große Authentizität in Ihrer Stimme zu lieben gewachsen?! Ahh, es ist so roh und Echt! Das ist eine große Leistung. bro. Sehr richtig, Ich bin sehr traurig über all die Korruption zu hören, in der hier auf Sendung gezeigt worden ist, und es ist verrückt, wie Bias und auf dem Kopf dieser Welt sein können – Ich bin sehr enttäuscht in meinem eigenen Rennen, in dem klischee und ausgestrahlt wurde auf. Das Video von Brooklyn NY ist eine der betrüblich Dinge, die ich seit langer Zeit gesehen habe.

  12. VictoriaAntworten

    Ich liebe, was Jordan sagt,. Ich selbst bin ein schwarzes Amerika, eine Frau, aber meiner Meinung nach, Geschlecht spielt keine große Rolle, schwarze Frau kann auch in diskriminierender Weise ausgerichtet werden. Ich habe noch nie persönlich für die Farbe meiner Haut gezielt worden, aber Ich mag ich denken würde nie hassen oder wollen schlechte Dinge an jemanden, der mir zu schaden war oder töten mich in einer Situation wie die, die wir reden. Christ sein, Ich bin ständig auf der Vers erinnert, wo Jesus sagt uns, die andere Wange hinzuhalten. Wenn jemand hasst Sie, Sie lieben sie trotzdem. Rassismus wird nie aufhören passiert, aber wenn jemand Sie angreift, die andere Wange hinhalten. Sie können nicht jemand, den Sie machen akzeptieren, Sachen wie diese wird nicht aufhören. Aber wir müssen aufhören zu denken, dass die Schwarzen das einzige Rennen sind gezielte. Der einzige Unterschied ist,, das weiß auf schwarzem Verbrechen ist das einzige Verbrechen in den Nachrichten gebracht werden. Was ist mit einem weißen Mann ein Hispanic Tötung? Oder eine asiatische Tötung eines schwarzen? Wir sind alle gleich geschaffen. ja, es gab eine Zeit, als die Sklaverei alle schwarzen Menschen wurde kannte, aber heute gibt es Sklaverei und Rassismus unter jedem Rennen geschehen. God does not see the deaths of these black men any differently than he sees the death of anyone else. I think we are forgetting that concept, no person’s life matters more than another. And let’s also not forget that we really don’t know the exact facts of these crimes. Ausflug, I’m not hating on your song at all, it’s great that every person has their own opinion and this is yours. Although, I will say, yes it could’ve been you, but it also could’ve been a white man. Us black people are not the only targets. Let’s try to see each other the way God sees us, 100 percent equal.

  13. DanielleAntworten

    As a biracial, Color blind(ja, because my heritage and culture include too many different races to start focusing on one at a time. I celebrate THEM none the less) woman I can’t imagine anything that a black man is going through. Especially when people jump straight on race and leave God out of it. But I’m glad that you put God in it where he belongs. He belongs in this situation, He belongs as the Justice giver. We belong and trust in Him.

  14. AnthonyAntworten

    I played this song for a room full of people trying to hear their brothers and sisters cries yesterday. There were about 18 of us and 6/8 were white. Your words cemented things.

    Know that your words are reaching people in deep, beautiful ways. Thank you for your honest reflection.

  15. JohnnyAntworten

    If you are making this about yourself or about a specific race then it has nothing to do with God. Your song only shows why the racism issue continues the way it does because no one is willing to change the cycle only cry about how they are treated poorly white, Mexican, asiatisch, people die in the same ways all the time by committing crimes and being stopped by someone we have accepted as a protector. Your either for justice completely or you aren’t there is no fine lines or excuses. You bring up fears and anger, Gods not in those yet you choose to be. You put God in this so g just so Christians keep listening to you rather then making the right stand for God instead your our lyrics say your gonna stand up for racism that your going to make tis song about racism and not God. You can’t sit at 2 tables you either sit at the table if the Father or you sit at the table of the fallen. Either way you’ve lost a fan. I hope you can come to terms with your fear and see how simple respect would change fear into shared respect and working together. If it coulda been you, then maybe you need to rethink your life choices.

  16. Erwähnen: 257 || Lieber Trip Lee, I Hear YouShattered Magazine

  17. KennzeichenAntworten

    Do all my brothers, sisters, disillusioned, and hurting. I am sorry. I am a part of this as an American. But I am listening. I hear your pain.
    I am sorry.
    The word is getting out. No criticism, only love.

  18. Agen SlotAntworten

    Hi! I know this is kind of off-topic but I
    needed to ask. Does building a well-established blog like yours require a massive amount
    work? I am completely new to blogging however I do write in my diary on a daily basis.

    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience
    and feelings online. Please let me know if you have any
    recommendations or tips for new aspiring blog owners.
    Thankyou!

Coulda Been Me Lyrics

Produced by: Gawvi
Additional Vocals by: J. Paul
Artwork by: Alex Medina
Mixed and Mastered by: Jacob “Biz” Morris

Verse 1:
Don’t nobody wanna hear our pain
That’s how I’m feeling when I’m flipping through them twitter comments, all I feel is rain
They telling me get over it’s old
That stuff don’t exist no more
But that don’t ring true when I look in these streets
So it’s real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook:
Man can I tell you how I’m feeling right now
Ah they wanna know how I’m feeling right now
I feel like it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me
We all made in God’s image you know
All our lives matter, our vision is broke
We feel pain cause we been here before
Who’s innocent I don’t know
But it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me

Verse 2:
I didn’t know Mike Brown
I ain’t know Trayvon
I didn’t know Sean Bell
But I know they gone
I ain’t know Oscar Grant or Tamir Rice
I didn’t know Eric Garner
But I know they life
Is worth more than they saying on the tv screen
I hate I got a long list, you finna see me scream
Cause I feel like they don’t see we kings
Made to rule like Him, they think we needy fiends
I wasn’t there when they shot at the man
I can’t solve cases, won’t say that I can
But I do know life as a young black man
Guess I can’t be mad that some don’t understand
But maybe you would
If you looked at my life and you stood where I stood
Use my eyes to look at these streets
It’s too real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook:
Man can I tell you how I’m feeling right now
Ah they wanna know how I’m feeling right now
I feel like it coulda been me
I feel like it coulda been me

Verse 3:
Picture me as a teen
Picking out drinks in the store when I seen
The cashier looking at me, then he screams
Points at my hip and tells me I’m seen
But hold up, I ain’t know that I was that scary
And I ain’t know that I could shoot you with a blackberry
Very odd, that he saw me  as a thug
When I’d never caught a case, never stole or bought drugs
Or how bout the time that I flew to a show
Full of joy, finna rap for a room full of folks
Outside then I find it’s a gun in my face
Handcuffs on my hands, pat down at the waist
It’s the same ol, same ol
I fit the description of a criminal that they know
They showed me picture, come on
Are you kidding? We don’t look a like
Well the cops thought we did if you  looking right
Every black man I know
Got stories like those, reaping what they ain’t sow
When they assume you a thug from the jump
It don’t matter if you strapped with a pump
Look I don’t know if Mike Brown had his hands up
But I’m writing saying homie I’ma stand up
And I’ma tell you I feel I look in these streets
And say it’s real when I feel like it coulda been me

Hook

Verse 4:
Skies feeling grey, eyes red
Black and white clash, clouds over head
How long till they heard what we said
How long till they hear what I said?
Shout out to all the good cops
Fighting bad guys, making good stops
I hate that on the hood blocks
In the end they might try to lump you in with all the crooks
I wanna say to all my young black men
I know it’s feeling like we just can’t win
But in your anger don’t sin
Don’t affirm what they thinking
Don’t let nobody tell us we ain’t got worth
Some will try to shut us down it will not work
I know it ain’t fair, but we know that He cares
And one day he’ll wipe away tears

Outro
Where’s your hope at? Mine is in him
Where is your hope at? Mine is in him
We got work to do, but my hope is in him
They got work to do too, but my hope is in him

SHARES

32 comments

  1. Mention: Coulda Been Me — TRIP LEE

  2. JordanReply

    I see some of the points made in the lyrics, and I know this song is personal, but it feels like it’s a song that’s giving in to this chaos.

    The second section of the 3rd verse, talking about being patted down because he “fits” the description of the criminal. I’ve been patted down before, on the side of the interstate after being tailed for 3 miles, because I wore a beanie and a sweatshirt that made me look like I was from the harsher side of town. Not just that, but I was driving my grandfathers Impala with my dad in the passenger seat, and they checked our stories about us heading back from the local Apple store where I dropped off my Macbook to be fixed. Call it profiling, call it whatever, but it was anything but the color of my skin. One officer was white, the other was black. That was me.

    First line of the first verse: “Don’t nobody wanna hear our pain”. Pretty sure I know what it means. The word “our” in that phrase, to me feels like alienation from the song, like I won’t understand what the struggle is, or how you feel. I may not be able to understand, but God gave me the means to support, through Prayer.

    Continuing on that thought, “We all made in God’s image you know”. There’s the whole counter to the song. God created us in His image, and no color, disabilities, gender or origin of nation has ever made God look at any individual He created any differently, so why should we? Why should I look at myself any differently from you, and vice versa?

    I could get further, but I feel I’ve said enough. Trip, as a follower of Christ we wear our faith, we don’t look at any person any differently or treat them differently. We throw away Self, and focus and put the attention on Him, and regardless of how any one of us feels, when we say we are Christians, the way we act and the things we say reflect how people see Him through us. So if it could have been you, should I look at you any differently? What if it was me?

    My point is, be “Colorblind” in this world.

    • ToryReply

      Brother Jordan, can I just express that “colorblindness” is not the answer to these issues? Let me switch it quickly from race to gender. Men and women are very different, and that is a good thing! To be “gender blind” would be very detrimental, because it would naturally cut off the importance of our differences, and make us miss out on God. What I mean in that is that as men, mercy tends to not come as naturally as it does for women (notice the word tends!). If we only looked at men, we would miss out on the mercy of God. We would read about it, but see no tangible, human example of His mercy (I’m know I’m speaking in aggressive generalities, but only to make a point).

      Race is the same way. We are actually very different, naturally! Blacks, Asians, Whites, Hispanics, we are usually very different in our worldview, personalities, culture, etc. This is a beautiful thing. By looking at one cultures passion over another, we can see that God is a passionate God (passionate about the right things). By looking at one culture’s “slow to anger(ness),” we can see that God is patience with us, and is slow to anger. By looking at different cultures, we actually get to see many pictures of God.

      Without question, we are all to be treated the same, because we are all created in the Imago Dei. However, we are different, and that’s okay! I’m half black, half white, and have a ton of “black traits,” and “white traits.” Okay. That’s great! Hopefully they show us something about God! I vote for celebration and learning of differences rather than colorblindness, and a true celebration can only happen in the gospel.

      • NateReply

        Tori,

        Your words have inspired me to write a song using a variation of your words: “We are all created in the Imago Dei, however, we are different and that’s more than OK”. Thank you for your initiative to speak and spark wisdom. The rest of the song has turned out to prove itself as purely an undeserved gift of words to express our unity in diversity and in Christ.

        Grace and Peace,
        Nate

    • TaevanReply

      Well said Jordan. I will say this one thing: Instead of being colorblind, could we instead see our different ethnic backgrounds as God’s creativity? We stand together with Him under the name of Jesus. He is our banner – no matter if we’re from Ferguson, Cali, Oregon, Alabama or New York. Jesus is our focal point. And in a culture that wants to separate us into “minorities” and different groups, we stand as Christ’s body, underneath Him.

      But I do appreciate your insight on the song. Thank you for building the Kingdom up for His glory!

    • JoshReply

      trip, thanks for these thoughts. I appreciate your sharing your experience as a man of color who thinks of his identity and the tragic state of our culture through the Lens of the Gospel. May the Lord continue to build his Kingdom and fame through your work. Thank you.

  3. GabrielReply

    Thank you Trip, you’re a true role model and inspiration. Keep up the good work and lean on the lord’s guidance.

  4. MichaelReply

    It’s saddening reading all the events going now in the world. Right from NYC to Kenya. Painfull issues yet we don’t learn from them and keep doing the same things. It’s time we truly became our brothers keepers

  5. MichaelReply

    Trip Lee, this could not have come at a different time. We need to stress the point more and by all means #couldabeenme

  6. RichardReply

    really sad to hear, still can’t really imagine how y’all feel but I see that a lot of black ppl just get just really to fast… feel sad for u al, I feel powerless at all…

  7. ToddReply

    Powerful statement, beautifully crafted. Brought years to my eyes when I least expected it. I only recently discovered your music and it has been a wonderfully inspirational discovery at the time in my life God deemed it so. Much praise to you, young brother.

  8. Mention: New Music: Trip Lee – “Coulda Been Me” |

  9. AmandaReply

    To say that God doesn’t see color is unBiblical. (Jordan) The Bible says that God created different nations and tongues to showcase His majesty. We shouldn’t pretend that it doesn’t exist! If you say you want to be there for a believer who deals with these things by prayer or whatever avenue then why are you trying to argue his song? He is sharing his hurt. His pain. Stuff that black people, go through. Why do you have to feel alienated for him saying that. Why does your ONE example of a bad experience have to rule out or invalidate the hurt and frustration that many black people have to face daily. Not just that one time. My husband always has to go above and beyond to make sure he comes off as non threatening to people!! Why? Why is it that he is black so he is considered scary and threatening. Why is it that he talks articulate that people feel they need to make the comment, wow you are not what I expected, or you are not like other black people. Do people go up to you and are they surprised by the way you speak? Stop for a min and just hear people out, you don’t have to agree or understand. Just show some empathy and help be a part of the solution! Thanks for sharing your heart Trip Lee.

  10. AbigailReply

    Trip, this is good.
    My heart is hurting because there is still a reason to write songs like this. There is still a fight for black lives.
    Maybe one day we can make it right.

    <3

  11. WillReply

    Keep up the good work Trip! Your words and your witness are powerful! May the Lord bless you, keep you, make his face shine upon you!

  12. CharlotteReply

    Trip Lee man,

    Can I just state that I have grown to love the major authenticity in your voice?! Ahh it’s so raw and real! This is a great feat. bro. Very true, I am very saddened to hear about all of the corruption in which has been shown here on the air and it is crazy how bias and upside down this world can be – I’m very disappointed in my own race in which has been stereotyped and broadcasted upon. The video from Brooklyn NY is one of the most saddening things I’ve seen in a long time.

  13. VictoriaReply

    I love what Jordan is saying. I myself am a black America, a woman, but in my opinion, gender doesn’t play a huge role, black woman can be targeted in discriminatory ways also. I have never been targeted personally for the color of my skin, but I like to think I’d never hate or wish bad things to someone who was to harm me or kill me in a circumstance like the ones we are talking about. Being a Christian, I’m constantly reminded of the verse where Jesus tells us to turn the other cheek. If someone hates you, you love them despite that. Racism will never stop happening, but if someone attacks you, turn the other cheek. You can’t make anyone accept you, stuff like this isn’t going to stop. But we need to stop thinking that blacks are the only race targeted. The only difference is, the white on black crime is the only crime being brought up in the news. What about a white guy killing a Hispanic? Or an Asian killing a black? We are all created equally. Yes, there was a time when slavery was all black people knew, but today there’s slavery and racism happening among every race. God does not see the deaths of these black men any differently than he sees the death of anyone else. I think we are forgetting that concept, no person’s life matters more than another. And let’s also not forget that we really don’t know the exact facts of these crimes. Trip, I’m not hating on your song at all, it’s great that every person has their own opinion and this is yours. Although, I will say, yes it could’ve been you, but it also could’ve been a white man. Us black people are not the only targets. Let’s try to see each other the way God sees us, 100 percent equal.

  14. DanielleReply

    As a biracial, Color blind(Yes, because my heritage and culture include too many different races to start focusing on one at a time. I celebrate THEM none the less) woman I can’t imagine anything that a black man is going through. Especially when people jump straight on race and leave God out of it. But I’m glad that you put God in it where he belongs. He belongs in this situation, He belongs as the Justice giver. We belong and trust in Him.

  15. AnthonyReply

    I played this song for a room full of people trying to hear their brothers and sisters cries yesterday. There were about 18 of us and 6/8 were white. Your words cemented things.

    Know that your words are reaching people in deep, beautiful ways. Thank you for your honest reflection.

  16. JohnnyReply

    If you are making this about yourself or about a specific race then it has nothing to do with God. Your song only shows why the racism issue continues the way it does because no one is willing to change the cycle only cry about how they are treated poorly white, Mexican, Asian, people die in the same ways all the time by committing crimes and being stopped by someone we have accepted as a protector. Your either for justice completely or you aren’t there is no fine lines or excuses. You bring up fears and anger, Gods not in those yet you choose to be. You put God in this so g just so Christians keep listening to you rather then making the right stand for God instead your our lyrics say your gonna stand up for racism that your going to make tis song about racism and not God. You can’t sit at 2 tables you either sit at the table if the Father or you sit at the table of the fallen. Either way you’ve lost a fan. I hope you can come to terms with your fear and see how simple respect would change fear into shared respect and working together. If it coulda been you, then maybe you need to rethink your life choices.

  17. JonReply

    He isn’t against the cops right? I don’t think. I love trip and can’t wait till his next album, whenever that maybe. Great song.

  18. Mention: 257 || Dear Trip Lee, I Hear You – Shattered Magazine

  19. KiannaReply

    I just listened to this song and the lyrics are powerful. “Where’s your hope at?” -Trip Lee. I loved it!

  20. MarkReply

    Do all my brothers, sisters, disillusioned, and hurting. I am sorry. I am a part of this as an American. But I am listening. I hear your pain.
    I am sorry.
    The word is getting out. No criticism, only love.